We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Sistersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our 8th trip to Barbados and 4th stay at Cononut Court. Since our first stay here 4 years ago we have no desire to stay anywhere else. We go for the beach and relaxation and here you will find it. The beach is just steps away from your room and the view is great. The hotel is small and unpretentious which is what we are looking for. The people are great and you don't have to dress a certain way or put on airs. The rooms are clean and service is great. We had trouble with our air conditioner the 1st day but it was taken care of right away.
Breakfast was included and was very adequate. Antonio at the beach bar is amazing. Vida was so helpful with securing excursions and making reservations for dinner. Each year we try to do something new and this time it was Huntes Garden. Beautiful! Very worthwhile!
Lots of places to eat within walking distance or a short bus ride. We love Mama Mias, Tapas, Blakeys, Just Grillin, 39 Steps. We tried Bistro Monet this year and the pasta was great. Always go to Champers our last night. We did the barbeque night at Coconut Court and it was also good. Didn't always do lunch but the few times we did, it was at Coconut Court and the food was plentiful.
Take snorkles. Very easy to do right there.
Can't say enough about the wonderful people of Barbados and can't wait till next Nov. so we can stay at Coconut Court again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    818
    296
    94
    78
See reviews for
381
1,070
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just got back from our 2 week stay at Barbados, and we stayed at Coconut Court. The room was roomy - big enough for two adults and a child. The only major 'minus' with the room was the shower witch was very small and in need of a refurb. The room had an old tube tv with 7 or so working channels (and a non working remote), a micro, and other kitchen utilities which were ok.. The wifi was sort of slow but most of the time it did its job (checking e-mails worked ok - but do not try to watch youtube..) it worked ok with my tablet not good enough signal for my smartphone. Rooms (as usual in hotels) have no intelligent place to dry your towels or swimwear (yes there is a 2foot? metal bar at the bathroom - bathroom which has no ventilation so nothing dries up there) - so not because they are dirty but wet you have to change your towels every day (which isn't exactly environmentally friendly). Pool and jacuzzi were ok - old fashioned and sort of small, but otherwise ok.

Restaurant was for me propably the biggest dissapointment. The breakfast had no vegetables at all ever! and I saw several people bringing their own food for breakfast many times (my wife had to do it it too). Two weeks starting your day with nothing but eggs (boiled, scrambled or fried), 3 different cerials, and toast, is not exactly my idea of a hearty diet (breakfast is the most important meal of your day they say?). There was one! daily fruit to offer at breakfast (banana, apple, orange etc.) pretty much nothing else remotely 'healthy' at all. Even the fruit juices were so sugary that you propably get a diabetes out of those - which brings to mind that they are building a new diabetes hospital at the island though - so maybe it's ok then? There was never any cold cuts, bacon or cheeses - there was two types of sugary jams for your toast - diabetes here we come again!.. The same unhealthyness was pretty much the story with everything we got from the restaurant there was never any descent sallads or 'anything green' with the portions - chicken and fries - chicken and rice - fish and fries - you get the drift... not ideal when travelling with kids, and if you are even a little health conscious.The staff at the restaurant was friendly but they were mostly concentrating on collecting your dishes etc. instead of actually serving the customers that were at the table (no offers of an other cup of coffee etc. just minding their own business and picking up empty plates and cups..) - made me feel like they are already concentrating on the next customer while we were still there. Tens of birds were feeding at the restaurant tables all the time and cereals and those sugary juices at the breakfast were immediately under a bird attack if You turned your back at them.

The location of the hotel is ok. It is actually on the beach (I do not understand why the small stairwaypath to the beach from the hotel was done so unattractively and stupidly narrow though). There is a 15-30 minute drive to airport and 30 min walking distance (5-10min drive) to Bridgetown. The beach is ok for sunbathing and for little bit of swimming - the sea on the beach has mostly a rocky (coral) bottom and there were some sea urchins - so using some sort of shoes in the water is recomended (definately not the best beach on the island - we went to few others). Snorkelling was not that thrilling - ok there was some fishes at the breakwater but nothing that extravagant.

Price vs. quality - sort of ok, but if you are staying longer than a few days be prepared to buy most of your food elsewhere. For a budget conscious this hotel is a descent hub to exploring the island and it has a few benefits to itself.

Room Tip: all rooms are facing the sea - I think all rooms have a seaview of some sort. There are rooms that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPIIPPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location, but they do not accept AMEX, offer laundry services and the wifi is painfully slow.

Overall, the hotel is a concrete block that is tired and badly in need of a total refurb.

Service is also not a strength.

I would recommend the Courtyard by Marriott, which is approx 100 yards away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hugo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location so they say.few minutes bus ride to Bridgetown for shopping or St.Lawrence Gap for a hearty dinner or Oistins for a friday night island experience.At Coconut court resort you get for what you pay nothing fancy.Room was big & comfortable.When we arrived_our Check-in process was no hassle although Shirley from the front desk can definitely use a good Customer Service training_even a simple friendly smile would have been appreciated.The rest of the staff were very courteous.Special mention is the Service Mgr Peter who escorted us personally to our rm upon check in and followed through our maintenance concern on our first night the next day.Teds Tour is a must.The hotel can use some beachside activities for the guests to avail.But overall we had a fun Barbados experience plenty of things to do in the island and gorgeous beaches.

Room Tip: no elevators for those less fit patrons.all rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me & My wife needed a break so we decided to go Barbados, which turned out to be the best holiday of our life, Coconut court beach hotel is located on the main road and easy to trave to Oisitings where you could enjoy lovely bbq fish at famous uncle goerges,also its easy to go to Brigetown for shopping, also close to rockery beach as well, dont forget to take teds Wonderful tour that you will never forget, the people of barbados are very wonderful human being,

If anyone need a break i would strongly advise to check into coconut court beach hotel.
It has a beautiful beach sarounds by palms along the beach stretch, thats why its called coconut court.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahmed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location on Hastings Beach with a 15min walk up to Needham's Point one way and 20mins to The Gap along the Boardwalk. Opposite Mama Mia's for great Italian food and an artificial reef for family friendly snorkelling. All this at an entry (price) level property - where's the catch? Well, service really. They promote themselves as a family owned hotel, so you expect service to be better than their larger neighbours (who enjoy better facilities). We stayed once before and this time booked a higher grade of room, only to get a room next to the one we had last time. Apparently they have just reclassified the rooms so that if you are on the top two floors they call it a 'Superior Room' because of the view. When we explained our disappointment, nothing was done to recognise or address the issue, which would have been easy as the hotel was only about 50% full as low season.

Service throughout is patchy, although it is worth visiting the beach bar just to see Antonio in action. A great example for others to follow. Breakfast selection is poor, even at this level, but if you just regard it as a base then it still offers good value. Could be great if the attitude changed.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Beachfront room, and avoid the mistake we made!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this trip on 13th October and arrived in Barbados on the 17th, so it was very last minute. On arrival at the hotel we were exhausted, my first impressions weren't amazing but probably just due to being hot and tired. Initially the staff were quite friendly but they were very busy. We were taken to our room, at which point I became extremely anxious about where we were staying. We walked down a dark dingy corridor, down lots of stairs to our room..... It was a shame they had not taken us round past the pool to our room, as it was far more attractive and gave me a negative initial impression to our room.......... However in the end it turned out the room was GREAT for our family. Yes it did need an update, especially the bathroom, but it was cleaned everyday by room service. It was great to have a kettle and a microwave as we prepared our own lunch most days.

The beach was great for the children (and beautlful) as there were only gentle waves and we could watch them from the sunloungers. The beach was kept clean and there were always plenty of sunloungers.

The pool area is ok although one of my most negative points with the hotel was the strength of the chemicals they must use in the pool, I went to Barbados with a cough and this really really aggravated it and made me wheezy.

Unfortunately the thing that I felt was the worst was the breakfast. It was awful, but we ate it everyday because it was the only meal included in the price.


The staff were friendly most of the time and the family who owned it were great and very down to earth. The staff at reception were great and helped me out when my daughter need medication at 5pm on a Sunday afternoon, they calmed me and reassured me.

We went on Ted tours which was great to give you an insight into the island, but I would not necessarily recommend it with young children. It would be fab if it was only half a day. Saying this my children were fine just got a little fed up after lunch. Ted was lots of fun and informative.


There were lots of great little places to eat, although became careful with food for the children as a lot of food is spiced up. Our favourite place to eat was the 'Tapas'on the boardwalk and on our first visit we walked along the beach and were even lucky enough to see and hold baby sea turtles who had been stranded on the wrong side of the board walk. The food was great and they catered for the children perfectly.

We used the local minibuses lots.... The kids loved them and rated them on speed and noise!

THIS WAS A GREAT LAST MINUTE HOLIDAY ON A BUDGET and we always say we don't like to go back to the same place twice as there are so many places in the world we would like to go to..... But BARBADOS is an exception!

Room Tip: We were a family of four with 2 children (aged 3 and 5) we had a great ground floor room, with (supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#22 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Property: Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned hotel located directly on a lovely beach, adjacent to the Boardwalk in the UNESCO district. Renovated in 2015 with 112 spacious ocean-facing studios equipped with efficient kitchenettes and free WIFI. Happy service and outstanding value with Free roundtrip airport transfers, Free bottle of Pirate Punch and Free shopping shuttle service to Bridgetown included. Book directly with the hotel and Free Continental breakfast buffet is included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing