We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for business travellers. Overall, the hotel is a concrete block that is badly in need of a total refurb.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location, but they do not accept AMEX, offer laundry services and the wifi is painfully slow.

Overall, the hotel is a concrete block that is tired and badly in need of a total refurb.

Service is also not a strength.

I would recommend the Courtyard by Marriott, which is approx 100 yards away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hugo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Court Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location so they say.few minutes bus ride to Bridgetown for shopping or St.Lawrence Gap for a hearty dinner or Oistins for a friday night island experience.At Coconut court resort you get for what you pay nothing fancy.Room was big & comfortable.When we arrived_our Check-in process was no hassle although Shirley from the front desk can definitely use a good Customer Service training_even a simple friendly smile would have been appreciated.The rest of the staff were very courteous.Special mention is the Service Mgr Peter who escorted us personally to our rm upon check in and followed through our maintenance concern on our first night the next day.Teds Tour is a must.The hotel can use some beachside activities for the guests to avail.But overall we had a fun Barbados experience plenty of things to do in the island and gorgeous beaches.

Room Tip: no elevators for those less fit patrons.all rooms are ocean front.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me & My wife needed a break so we decided to go Barbados, which turned out to be the best holiday of our life, Coconut court beach hotel is located on the main road and easy to trave to Oisitings where you could enjoy lovely bbq fish at famous uncle goerges,also its easy to go to Brigetown for shopping, also close to rockery beach as well, dont forget to take teds Wonderful tour that you will never forget, the people of barbados are very wonderful human being,

If anyone need a break i would strongly advise to check into coconut court beach hotel.
It has a beautiful beach sarounds by palms along the beach stretch, thats why its called coconut court.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahmed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location on Hastings Beach with a 15min walk up to Needham's Point one way and 20mins to The Gap along the Boardwalk. Opposite Mama Mia's for great Italian food and an artificial reef for family friendly snorkelling. All this at an entry (price) level property - where's the catch? Well, service really. They promote themselves as a family owned hotel, so you expect service to be better than their larger neighbours (who enjoy better facilities). We stayed once before and this time booked a higher grade of room, only to get a room next to the one we had last time. Apparently they have just reclassified the rooms so that if you are on the top two floors they call it a 'Superior Room' because of the view. When we explained our disappointment, nothing was done to recognise or address the issue, which would have been easy as the hotel was only about 50% full as low season.

Service throughout is patchy, although it is worth visiting the beach bar just to see Antonio in action. A great example for others to follow. Breakfast selection is poor, even at this level, but if you just regard it as a base then it still offers good value. Could be great if the attitude changed.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Beachfront room, and avoid the mistake we made!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this trip on 13th October and arrived in Barbados on the 17th, so it was very last minute. On arrival at the hotel we were exhausted, my first impressions weren't amazing but probably just due to being hot and tired. Initially the staff were quite friendly but they were very busy. We were taken to our room, at which point I became extremely anxious about where we were staying. We walked down a dark dingy corridor, down lots of stairs to our room..... It was a shame they had not taken us round past the pool to our room, as it was far more attractive and gave me a negative initial impression to our room.......... However in the end it turned out the room was GREAT for our family. Yes it did need an update, especially the bathroom, but it was cleaned everyday by room service. It was great to have a kettle and a microwave as we prepared our own lunch most days.

The beach was great for the children (and beautlful) as there were only gentle waves and we could watch them from the sunloungers. The beach was kept clean and there were always plenty of sunloungers.

The pool area is ok although one of my most negative points with the hotel was the strength of the chemicals they must use in the pool, I went to Barbados with a cough and this really really aggravated it and made me wheezy.

Unfortunately the thing that I felt was the worst was the breakfast. It was awful, but we ate it everyday because it was the only meal included in the price.


The staff were friendly most of the time and the family who owned it were great and very down to earth. The staff at reception were great and helped me out when my daughter need medication at 5pm on a Sunday afternoon, they calmed me and reassured me.

We went on Ted tours which was great to give you an insight into the island, but I would not necessarily recommend it with young children. It would be fab if it was only half a day. Saying this my children were fine just got a little fed up after lunch. Ted was lots of fun and informative.


There were lots of great little places to eat, although became careful with food for the children as a lot of food is spiced up. Our favourite place to eat was the 'Tapas'on the boardwalk and on our first visit we walked along the beach and were even lucky enough to see and hold baby sea turtles who had been stranded on the wrong side of the board walk. The food was great and they catered for the children perfectly.

We used the local minibuses lots.... The kids loved them and rated them on speed and noise!

THIS WAS A GREAT LAST MINUTE HOLIDAY ON A BUDGET and we always say we don't like to go back to the same place twice as there are so many places in the world we would like to go to..... But BARBADOS is an exception!

Room Tip: We were a family of four with 2 children (aged 3 and 5) we had a great ground floor room, with (supp...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I just came back from a week stay at Coconut Court in Oct/Nov 2012.

The good:

The hotel is centrally located and is a short bus ride to tourist destinations like St Lawrence Gap, Oistins, Bridgetown etc. Also is walking distance from the Lantern mall and the boardwalk.

True beach front property. We stayed in an oceanfront room and the view is absolutely spectacular! We were just a few hundred feet from the water and can clearly hear the waves from our balcony.

The beach, though public like all beaches in Barbados, is like a private beach with plenty of palm trees for shade and tanning chairs.

The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the a/c in the rooms works well.

Staff are mostly courteous and very helpful with a few exceptions.

Rooms are quiet. We did not hear any of our neighbours throughout our stay.

Happy hour at the beach bar from 12-1 and 5-6pm. The rum is delicious and the drinks are real drinks, not watered down. The prices are very good for drinks even at regular hours.

Free Wi-Fi, though slow and choppy, is a great feature to have throughout the property and on the beach.

Our room had an electric kettle, microwave, toaster and fridge. Very convenient! It also had a hair dryer and iron.

The bad:

The food at the hotel, though reasonably priced, is sub-par, even for a 3 star hotel. You're better off eating at St Lawrence Gap or any other location. The burger at the beach bar had nothing to do with a burger, it was some mushy piece of meat that was falling apart (though I ordered it well done). Dinners were also below average quality.

The breakfast is very limited even for a 3 star hotel. They should add some cheeses and fruits (other than just bananas). Also a selection of fresh breads other than just toast would be nice.

The beach, though nice, is a bit rocky once you get in the water. It's a little annoying trying to walk on pointy rocks when you want to go for a relaxing swim. One positive point though is that they have wave breaker rocks that make the area immidiately in front of the hotel quite calm for swimming.

The king mattress in the room was extremely hard, it was sleeping on a wooden plank! Too bad, becasue otherwise the room was great.

No room service.

Other comments:

If you're looking to party, this hotel (and Barbados in general) is not for you. The town is dead by 11pm. I didn't mind because my gf and I were looking for a relaxing vacation and the hotel and Barbados was perfect for that!

Conclusion:

I certainly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a clean, fun and relaxing stay without luxury or breaking the bank. I would hope they would improve the hotel as per my comments. Then it would be paradise!

Room Tip: Paying a bit extra for an oceonfront room was definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Samer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yet another excellent return to this idyllic beach hotel on Barbados. The rooms were excellent, and the upgrades being undertaken will really make it even more worthwhile trying to get back there again sooner rather than later! I could not find any fault with any of the staff, from cleaning to restaurant, reception to bar, they really are as you wish all hotel staff were, just friendly, approachable and nothing too much trouble. Great food, good entertainment and make sure you check out the stalls at their managers party for some real bargins on local art and jewellery. It's an ideal base to explore from and be sure to use their trip booking desk for good advise on where to go and value you'll find hard to match. Breakfast is more than enough to set you up for the day, and the early start and late finish times a welcome change which give you so much freedom to relax and enjoy without having to rush each morning. Never feel so relaxed as when here, and that all down to how well this hotel functions and values it's guests.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give slightly better views, those to the far right are slightly restricted due to the a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllrounderEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.9 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $88 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Court Beach Hotel is a family affair. Owned and operated by the Blades family for over four decades, Coconut Court is unpretentious and full of local character and charm. Situated directly on a beautiful beach, adjacent to the South Coast boardwalk in the World Heritage UNESCO district within easy walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants. Enjoy happy service and outstanding value with free added value for all guests including roundtrip airport transfers, a bottle of Pirate Punch on arrival, shopping shuttle service from the hotel to Bridgetown and free WIFI. Recently renovated, with 112 spacious hotel rooms that face the ocean, Coconut Court offers great value and a gorgeous beachfront location! All hotel rooms are comfortably furnished with air conditioning, partial kitchenette facilities, cable TV and private balcony. Full self-catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors in the Annex. (Located off-site). The beautiful beach is shaded with coconut trees with plenty of room for sunbathing. The large protected lagoon is safe for swimming and snorkelling for all ages. The pool deck features a freshwater pool and outdoor Jacuzzi as well as a separate children’s paddling pool. There are 2 restaurants and a beach bar serving lazy lunches and tasty home cooked meals. Weekly entertainment includes live music, Managers Rum Punch Party, Beach BBQ’s and moonlight movies on the beach. Guests can also enjoy daily cocktail specials and happy hours. Book directly with the hotel and Free breakfast buffet is included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, West Indies, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing