We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coconut Court from 10 Sept for 7 nights. It was our first trip to Barbados. We were looking for a relaxing holiday and that was exactly what we got. We were welcomed warmly on arrival following 2 flights to get there. We were shown to our room #31 by a very friendly member of staff who showed us our room facilities and gave us some information about the area. I think his name was Rado.
Our room was bright and spotlessly clean. I have previously worked in the hotel industry and could not fault the cleanliness of this hotel. Our room had a small kitchenette area with microwave,kettle, fridge and grill. The ac was bliss as we were very hot after our transfer from the airport. The bed was really comfortable.Our room had a view of the sea and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the sunrise every morning and listening to the whistling frogs at night.
We found all the staff to be kind,helpful and welcoming especially Deighton in the mornings at breakfast. He always had a smile and chatted with me every day. He is a ray of sunshine and a credit to the hotel. I found the breakfast to be good and healthy and especially enjoyed the coconut cakes.
We got up early each morning as the traffic starts to get busy from 6am and enjoyed long walks on the beach. The beach at the hotel is stunning, white sand and crystal water. We both enjoyed snorkelling the reef and seeing the tropical fish. We spent hours out there but a word of warning that you will get sunburnt very easily on your back even with plenty of suncream.
We also enjoyed the pool for a cooling dip and the hot jacuzzi.We ate lunch most days at the seagrape beach bar. The fishcakes are delicious! Antonio in the beach bar is exactly how we imagined from previous reviews. A really happy and fun bartender who makes an effort to chat to everyone.
I would definately consider going all inclusive next time as we found eating in restaurants outside the hotel quite expensive but saying that we did not get a bad meal anywhere.
Coconut Court is not a luxury hotel but has a great atmosphere. Its clean,welcoming, in a great location and on the most beautiful beach. If your looking for a relaxing holiday in a laid back atmosphere then this the hotel for you.I would definately stay here again and cant wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adelle235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days in Sept 2012 with a group of guys. To be honest we were a bit apprehensive as we'd read some mixed reviews on tripadvisor, however we didn't have any issues and were very happy with our stay.

The rooms themselves are spacious and clean, mine had an excellent view of the palm trees and beach, for the price we paid I don't think you can expect sea views and a private beach. The air-con was a bit temperamental, and the shower ran hot/cold a lot but these were manageable so I didn't bother raising it with the hotel.

For the most part the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the barman on the beach-bar and the security guard who gave us a crash course in ZR Vans (intimidating at first but a hectic, fun way to get around the place). The girl who served eggs on the morning seemed rather grumpy but that's life.

The main appeal of the hotel is the large, clean, white sand beach and shallow Carribean sea with a semi man-made reef for snorkelling. If you want a hotel where you can drop off onto the beach and beach-bar 30 seconds from your room this is good, also there were plenty of almost deserted beaches up and down the coast if you want more privacy.

The breakfast seems to have come in for some criticism on here, however we all thought it was perfectly adequate for a continental breakfast. Not the widest selection in the world (I would have liked more fresh fruit and a second toaster would help) but there was cereal, toast, fruit, juices, pastries and the cooked dish of the day was always different (always fried and boiled eggs with a third 'mystery' choice of something local).

The evening entertainment is fairly sedate and aimed at an older crowd, but we were happy to leave the beach, get changed and catch a ZR van into St Lawrence Gap or Oistens.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms facing the beach (but not the ground floor which leads onto the pool as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary07734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Enjoyed our time here, not a resort hotel a traditional family run hotel but very welcoming and friendly staff especially Antonio at the beach bar the ultimate multi tasker. the view when you look out from the balcony says it all. We were able to book all our activities on the island from the activity desk & recommend the catermaran trip to snorkel with turtles. Lucky enough to see two turtle hatchings and the turtle patrols work to give the best chance. Also enjoyed feeding the fish on the reef(they like banana)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

not at all what we expected, although it is right on the beach ,however we paid extra for beach front and all the rooms were beachfront. breakfast is limited . advertised as breakfast but it is a very limited continental

Room Tip: dont pay for an upgrade.all the rooms are ocean front. also wi fi is very expensive . my cousin stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tintyisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Friend, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Everyone is entitled to their opinion so thanks for sharing yours. We have named our room categories as accurately and honestly as possible. For a better idea (those of you who are reading this and might be deciding whether to stay with us or not) then please visit our hotel website and take a virtual tour of each of our room categories. Yes, all of our guest rooms face the ocean but some have a better view than others. I think it is a matter of personal preference so make your own decision - I disagree with this guest and I think that the view makes a big difference with a guest room. If I am in the Caribbean I want to see as much of the ocean and the beach as possible. Other folks prefer to save a few dollars. Have a look at our virtual tours and make up your own mind please.
Now, breakfast - we clearly advertise that a complimentary Continental breakfast is included. If you were expecting a Full breakfast then you would have been disappointed and misinformed. I am sorry if this was the case.
We are currently re-vamping our WIFI system and it will be free of charge to all guests by December 2012. In the meantime, we offer free WIFi in the Blue Room every evening from 5pm.
Thanks again for your review. I appreciated the three out of five stars that you gave us despite the title of you review and hope that you will come back to visit Barbados again in the future. If not with us then with one of the other fun resorts on the island.
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and the great team at Coconut Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On the positive side:
Pretty beach front location with sheltered swiming area, friendly stafff, clean rooms
points for imrpovement:
Arrived at 21.10hr, went to the restaurant at 21.35 and was told that the restaurant was already closed, given that it was a monday and several other restaurants in the vicinity were also closed, had to insist several times before the chef agreed to prepare a caesar's salad. There was no bottled water in the room, only a jug with some dubious tasting tap water. In the room there was a soap dispenser but no shampoo or any other toiletry, Breakfast was poor with either boiled or fried eggs, only bananas or apples, cheap juice squashes and no yoghurt... (it is very cheap and easy to prepare youghurt in house!). The low consuption lights were of the colder light version blanketing the room in a cold bluish tint....the warmer and more welcoming version cost the same....the swimming pool closes at 18hr limiting the sunset swim options...overall a bit cheaper than some of the other options my colleagues were staying in but probably not a worthwhile saving...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Friend, thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Sorry that you were disappointed with several areas of your stay. Most folks love our little spot on the beach. i am sorry that you didi not feel the same. Monday nights we host our Manager's Cocktail Party with live music and poolside BBQ. Caesar salad should have been prepared for you with no fuss if you did not want to partake of the barbeque menu on offer that evening. I apologise for this. We provide a jug of ice cold tap water in each guest room refrigerator. Barbados is a coral stone island which acts as a natural ungerground water purifier so the water was perfectly safe to drink. If it wasnt, we would not have placed it in your room. Bottled water also contributes to the global plastic waste problem. The same environmental principle governed our decision to remove wrapped soap from our guest rooms. The liquid provided in the dispensers is suitable for shampoo and body wash. Once again, no packaging waste! The complimentary breakfast included is a Continental breakfast only with additional items available for purchase at a reasonable price. We provide eggs and other protein items at no additional cost so that guests will have a varied offering that includes protein each morning. I know that folks think that as a tropical island we should be able to supply a wide variety of locally grown fruits but this is not the case. Most fruits and vegetables (along with just about everything else) is imported to our island. Barbados is the ninth most densely populated countriy in the world with very little arable land available for growing crops. What little we do have is used to grow sugar cane which in turn is used to produce our fine local Barbados rums. Please feel free to send us your yoghurt recipe, we would be happy to try it. I noted your comment about the energy saving lights. I personally prefer the yellow lights too but I know that these are sometimes difficult to find on the island. I will speak to my brother Mark though and ask him to try to use these instead if he can. Good suggestion. The swimming pool closes at 6pm every evening so that we can check the PH levels and add any chemicals that need to be added to keep the pool clean and safe for everyone to use. I know that some folks would like to swim in the evenings but this is one rule that we cannot budge on. Please remember that the big swimming pool (the sea) is open all hours! Take care and thanks again for your comments. We will do our best to implement your suggestions where we can. Please enjoy Barbados on your next visit.
Best Regards, Linda, Jason, Mark and the gang at the Coconut.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Not a five star hotel by any means but was very convenient for us, rooms were very clean, housekeeping was done daily, the hotel is right by the beach if you are looking to wake up and go straight to the beach this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fatima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a great hotel and beach. Stayed there for my dads wedding and had such a great time. 99% of that was because of the incredibly service that the entire wedding service received from Antonio at the Beach Bar... That bajan just does not stay still. Snorking at the beach is great I saw various fish including a sea snake and a blow fish. Food was excellent with big portions and the saltfish and bake at breakfast is one to try. The owners are also very friendly you can stop and chat to them and I never saw them without a smile on there face. House keeping go up and above what is expected and the rooms are very comfortable. Only thing that let it down was that the WiFi was really expensive but hopefully soon it will be FREE!!! Best drink is Antonio's Rum Cooler. If you stay here you WILL have a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for Poolside!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasSampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.9 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $80 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Court Beach Hotel is a family affair. Owned and operated by the Blades family for over four decades, Coconut Court is unpretentious and full of local character and charm. Situated directly on a beautiful beach, adjacent to the South Coast boardwalk in the World Heritage UNESCO district within easy walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants. Enjoy happy service and outstanding value with free added value for all guests including roundtrip airport transfers, a bottle of Pirate Punch on arrival, shopping shuttle service from the hotel to Bridgetown and free WIFI. Recently renovated, with 112 spacious hotel rooms that face the ocean, Coconut Court offers great value and a gorgeous beachfront location! All hotel rooms are comfortably furnished with air conditioning, partial kitchenette facilities, cable TV and private balcony. Full self-catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors in the Annex. (Located off-site). The beautiful beach is shaded with coconut trees with plenty of room for sunbathing. The large protected lagoon is safe for swimming and snorkelling for all ages. The pool deck features a freshwater pool and outdoor Jacuzzi as well as a separate children’s paddling pool. There are 2 restaurants and a beach bar serving lazy lunches and tasty home cooked meals. Weekly entertainment includes live music, Managers Rum Punch Party, Beach BBQ’s and moonlight movies on the beach. Guests can also enjoy daily cocktail specials and happy hours. Book directly with the hotel and Free breakfast buffet is included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing