We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all travellers to Barbados read my review about this hotel. Don't miss it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We are here now in room 328 but departing on Thursday. This hotel is small, sweet and simply divine. All the staff are professional, kind and helpful and if you need anything you only have to ask. The hotel is a short bus ride from Bridgetown. We are here with my 81 year old disabled mum and the staff and even the man who works the jewellery stand on the beach help her onto the beach daily. Its our third time in Barbados but first time at this hotel and we will definitely return to this hotel again next year. We have travelled all over the world and stayed in some grand places that look so good to the eye but are 'cold' in terms of service and care, but this hotel far out shines those other big bold hotels so don't waste your time and money booking elsewhere. Mr B is the Owner of this hotel and he takes his time to welcome his guests and really makes you feel welcome. Wonderful. The bar and reception staff are just fab and you have to check out the T-shirt Man who designs unique T-shirts and is soooo professional in terms of choices. If you want a nice located holiday and to be treated with dignity and respect book here. Trust me. Happy holidays :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Younkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and myself stayed here for our honeymoon in March 2014. The staff upon arrival were fantastic, they had rum punch waiting for you and a manager to show you to your room. The hotel is very pretty both in the day and evening. It is set on a gorgeous beach which you can wander along in either direction. There are two pools, although only one has lounges around it and there aren't many, so you need to be out there early if you wish to sit by the pool. It has three restaurants, two of which you are required to book for each day for evening meals, and both have dress codes- no shorts, flip flops etc in evenings. The food was a bit hit and miss tbh, both breakfast and lunch were always lovely, dinner in the beach bar was a buffet and was ok, Rachels restaurant is a la carte and was inconsistent, some nights great some very poor, however the newly reopened chopsticks was amazing, by far the best food we ate all holiday and def worth a try. The pool bar is open from 10am till 1am with different evening entertainment each night, breakfast is buffet style in Rachels restaurant.
We had a deluxe pool access room, which was lovely with a big king size bed, the rooms were kept clean and tidy, although the fan could of done with dusting!!! Although pretty basic the room was nice and included a safe. Upon arrival to our room we also had balloons on the door, roses petals leading from door to a huge heart on the bed and a free hamper to congratulate us on our marriage which was a very lovely and unexpected surprise.
The staff here can not do enough for you, they are all very polite and extremley friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located almost opposite the race track, you can walk to St Lawerence gap, we did, but take roughly 45mins, but the buses are only 2 dollars anywhere on the Island.
Overall this hotel was lovely and I would recommend it, only pointers are to remember to book and watch what you wear for dinner, its really geared towards wanting people to be on the beach, so if you do want to be by the pool get there early and be warned there is only one bar open for drinks in the evening and it can get full very quickly (and also very loud depending on the evenings entertainment!)

Room Tip: Def upgrade to a deluxe pool access room, they are on ground floor, obviously, and literally have po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lyns052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

First visit to Barbados for us and it didn't disappoint. Excellent value for money, this small hotel is situated on the beach in Hastings, a few miles from Bridgetown. We paid extra for a pool access room and this was worth the money as this gave us a pleasant balcony and allowed us to keep an eye on our sons without having to be at poolside. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us very welcome.
Food was of a very good standard for a hotel in this price range with many local dishes being offered. Although of a buffet style, which some may find repetitive, we didn't find this to be the case as there were different dishes daily with all of us finding plenty of choice. Desserts were particularly enjoyable!
The beach is sandy with more than enough sunbeds available as it never seemed busy. but as others have stated, the reef makes walking and swimming a bit tricky unless you wear surf shoes. Waves could get quite rough and so we always stayed inside the breakwater where it was calmer, allowing us to snorkel comfortably seeing a good variety of fish. Care must be taken when swimming further out as there is no lifeguard or flag system in place.
Care also needs to be taken around the pool as there are often pools of water lying on the tiled floor which could be dangerous (we saw more than one child slip),
Bathrooms are dated but clean and the rooms are comfortable and quite well furnished with CNBCSports available on the room TV showing Premier League football.
We went expecting a good value for money hotel with no frills and for less than £4K for a week for a family of four its hard to fault - we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
8  Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear J E,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and, are delighted to read we can look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for commenting on the tasty food and its variety and, on our courteous and friendly staff. With regards to the beach, we play the game of 'give and take' with mother nature as she allows our beach to be the nesting home for thousands of turtles annually. It is always heartwarming to see nature at its best when the hatchlings scurry back to the ocean to start their lives, from where their mother laid her eggs.

We are pleased that you had an excellent holiday and we look forward to exceeding your expectations once again on your return home with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent two weeks at this hotel from April 5th. The brochure is very accurate and the hotel is quite small,clean with friendly efficient staff. The beach is as everyone says but ok for sunbathing just not so great for swimming. This did not bother us as we often walked to Carlisle Bay which is stunning and only 10 minutes away. This is also where we swam with the turtles as they were quite close to the shore.
The choice of food and drinks was excellent.
The only reason I did not give five stars is the room was not ideal for us. As a family of four ,two double beds in one room meant disturbed sleep and no privacy. It would even be better if it was a double and two singles. Getting children of 13 and 11 to share a bed and have a good nights sleep is not easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank familyfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a way how to spend our anniversary, 4 days at the Savannah then 7 days cruising then back to the hotel for a further 3 days. For the 1st part of our stay in Barbados we had a room in the main house, great & traditional but a little noisy with the dustmen in the morning. When we returned we upgraded & stay in the Diamond block of the complex...5 Star!!! The Staff were really nice people & made our stay with you just that little more special. When we arrived home my wife Sharon went straight onto the web & started planning our return!! Thank you for such a wonderful experience Savannah...
Kev & Sharon Sanders.

Room Tip: Upgrade into the Emerald or Diamond block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a perfect setting. The hotel was clean, tidy and well-organised, and the friendly staff couldn't do enough for me and my family. We visited Barbados for a family wedding with our 22-month old son. He was adored and fussed over by the staff and every member of staff we met knew him by name by our third day. The swimming pools were perfect for a family swim and the easily accessible beach and bar were convenient for regular visits. The buffet food was also delicious! Thanks for a memorable holiday to all at Savannah Beach!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scottimison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I flew with Virgin out of Manchester on 31st March last to The Savannah Beach Hotel for just a week, (my normal of 2 was not viable for me, as i had just lost my dad). and what a wonderful week I had, this place has everything, from the first smile and greetings from the great staff, they truly cannot do enough for you. My room 321 with Tracey Housekeeping, again always a smile and friendly greetings was just superb. The food was delicious and varied, along with great presentation. The reception staff, (especially the lovely Nicolas) again smiling and extremely helpful. Chontelle the bubbly and helpful Virgin Excursions Rep was a true pleasure to encounter - Thankyou Chontelle for introducing me to the wonderful Erskin, the suntours driver who took me everywhere around your beautiful island, he was so informative (will definately be re-booking him). The entertainment at the Drifters Bar, (what a vista) was both entertaining and fun, staff here too: excellent. In fact I loved this hotel so much, I am going back again, for 2/3 weeks within the next couple of months. Thank you SAVANNAH & VIRGIN - "BRILLIANT MEMORIES"

Room Tip: I stayed in the 2 floor Pool View Suite 321 Emerald - Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,735 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,093 reviews
12.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $136 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing