We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Shame About The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

In terms of Barbados, this is a budget Hotel BUT it certainly punches above its weight.

My partner and myself along with our 19yr old daughter paid under £4K for a two-week stay and it is unlikely you will find better value on the island.

The food and drink are excellent but it is the Staff who take it the extra mile and with their hard-work, friendliness and service ensure that it seemingly has so many returning guests, the majority of which are Brits.

Special mention to Richard the bartender at Rachels and Tony the eggman at breakfast, along with others they are Sandy Lane veterans and Savannah/We are lucky to have their expertise and professionalism.

One is given the impression, however, that the aim to please from staff is partly born of management's knowledge that the venue has inherent disadvantages.

Chief of which is the lack of a suitable beach.

For us, one of the joys of a relaxing break in Barbados is the Beach and it is our previous experience of daily walks along the powdery sand and playing in the sea.
This is not possible here. The Beach area with loungers is small, shingle and painfully rocky.

Reviewers who have suggested wearing footwear to swim here are either being foolish or mischievous.The sea is in my opinion impossible to safely access in front of the Hotel. Although the water is shallow enough to wade in to, even with suitable footwear you risk serious broken bones if you try to access this part of the sea. And I did not see a single Guest do so during our two-week stay.

True, you can turn right towards the Hilton, and we did so three or four times only, as the long walk along the shingle beach is steep and difficult. When you reach the Hilton the sea area is small but you can finally take a dip. Remember though, you now have no facility.
The Hilton will offer you a lounger with a towell ($20 US each).

Savannah do however offer transport and tickets for two-free drinks to nearby Coco beach (loungers provided free) twice a week (departing at 10am and returning at 1pm and 3pm). This is a beautiful beach with bars, facilities, boat hires and a party atmosphere. We enjoyed it very much.

The previous caveats about the many steps and stairs in the Hotel are correct. They are unsuitable for the elderly and infirm, and after two-weeks they became tiresome for me too.

There are two lifts but they are both at the higher-end of the complex and the remaining many steps to the lower beach side still need to be negotiated and they are very very slippy when wet. Please ensure you wear footwear at all times as bare feet are likely to be punished by slips and skids especially around the bridging area near the main pool and Drifters bar.

Glad to say the Hotel is better than first impressions when after a tiring flight you are met by an underwhelming, small & dim lobby/reception area. But we were very quickly into our rooms (room 367) and it was of a good standard with excellent AC and the usual facilities for the Island's Hotels. The Pillows however were hard and unusually we all had disturbed sleep as a result.

The small "swim up" water is the main pool and was always used as the kids' pool whilst we were there. Generally you can always find a sun longer around this pool, perhaps because it seems some of the parents were able to supervise their children while having a drink in the nearby bar at Drifters (ouch!)

The bonus Free Wifi is variable in the Rooms ,We could get a limited signal on our balcony but of course the best signal is in the public areas.

There is a well equipped Gym, it is surprisingly large and I used it often, never seeing another Guest there.

Other points of interest are that it is $40 Bajan each way by taxi to Oistens (20 mins) or you could get the bus for $2. Just 10 mins to Bridgetown same to The Gap, and 5 mins walk to the racecourse at garrison. Walk out the Hotel, turn right and its 100 mtrs to local shop and a Chemist (crisps, chocolate, shampoo, water etc) Tip = for bottles of water for $2 try the vending machine by the gym and stick a few of them in your 'fridge.

So then all in a very good hotel at a fair price. As one Guest said, if it had a beach it would be ££s more expensive.
Question = Would we join the bargain hunters returning? Answer = that is up to you. You decide what you want and then it is right for you.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd Floor, Diamond wing and it was fine. Have to think that the rooms in Plantation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sxg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,583 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sheffield, United Kingdom
12
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Staff at the hotel were truly amazing and nothing seemed too much trouble. They seemed to be able to keep smiling and even joined in the dancing and were very pro-active serving food and drinks,even along the beach. They really wanted you to have a good time.We had a lovely room with great views ,much nicer than we expected. The hotel is unlike many others in the area as the rooms are facing the pools in plantation style ,with lots of trees and planting instead of a large block.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have just come home after staying here for 2 weeks, the biggest asset to this hotel is their wonderful staff, they are always cheery helpful and smiling. The food is good and varied, cocktails delicious, many say the beach is a problem we managed to build sandcastles for our 2 year old grandson on it so it's not really that bad. The pools are clean and safe and room 127 was ideally located for Drifters and the pools. The waitresses and waiters were all very hard working and always did their best to ensure my grandson (Alfie) was comfy and well fed. Shontelle, virgins concierge was ace, she ensured Alfie's bed and our hire car and trips were all sorted. Thank you Savannah Beach for a lovely holiday, our first job when we got home was to buy apple juice, ice and straws for Alfie, we have a lot to live up to in his eyes to keep up with your staff.

Room Tip: 127 is near the pool, Drifters and the beach, and it's easy to have a sun bed outside your patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had a blissful week here via Virgin Holidays. Superb value for money. Thought that for the cost of the holiday, everything was excellent: the food, quality of wine/drinks, our room, the entertainment and the service. Even better than last year. We also got a ‘welcome back’ note and a basket of treats in our room – a nice touch. For those who moan about the food – remember that you’re not paying Sandal’s prices or anywhere near!

All the staff were smiling and friendly and many were still there from last year which says a lot about the hotel. Would like to mention in particular: Richard @ Rachel’s bar, Lucy @ Rachel’s, Jackie @ Drifter’s, Tyrone @ both and Danielle on the desk who all made us feel particularly welcome. Compliments also to Cecil the new head chef who has transformed Chopstix from an under subscribed sushi bar into a very popular noodle restaurant, packed every night it’s open. All the food we ate at all three restaurants was well prepared. Must also mention Zachery who as well as being a good chef is also an amazing dancer – we actually thought he was a professional entertainer at first!

Don’t be put off about the gripes about the beach – admittedly, access to the sea is difficult directly next to the hotel because of the coral reef but a short walk either way gives easy access and good bathing. The location of the Savannah is generally great and in an area of historical interest. (Also close to the race track).

Our only issue is nothing to do with the hotel but with some of the guests who blatantly flouted the suggested dress code at Rachel’s restaurant in the evening. (This and Chopstix are the more formal of the three restaurants, Drifter’s being more relaxed, situated down near the beach). OK, a bit of flexibility is fine and most folk wouldn’t have an issue with guys wearing tailored shorts instead of long trousers in that sort of heat but some were turning up like they were straight off the beach – baggy cargo shorts, flip flops, vests et al. And women in ‘short shorts’ and bikini tops. Shame on you – if you can’t be bothered to look like you even showered before arriving for dinner, why not go to the beach bar/restaurant where you wouldn’t look so out of place?????

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank the_bags_are_packed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We spent a week at Savannah in February and also got married there on the beach. We couldn't have picked anywhere better for our wedding! We booked everything through Virgin & everything for the wedding was arranged by the hotel... Stefi, Susan & the rest of the staff were fantastic and really friendly, our wedding was perfect and hassle free, and the whole atmosphere all week was fantastic! My picky 6 year old son even loved the food, as well as the games room and the kids club
We had a lot of fun at the various events organised at the hotel, including the managers cocktail hour, an egg & spoon race & a couples quiz
A big thank you to everyone at Savannah, we loved it there so much and definitely hope to come back some day!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (3rd level I think) which seemed more private as the balcony was full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BethCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in early March & very much enjoyed our stay, yes the bathrooms need updating & the immediate beach front is not idyllic BUT the service is absolutely outstanding & I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. Its quite compact but extremely friendly & has a very laid back feeling which is just what we like when we are away. Its brilliantly located for getting out & about & the local bus service is better than in the U.K! We found all the staff to be exceptionally polite & have particular thanks to Martin on the beach & Jackie & Darius who served up lovely drinks & nibbles on the decking, nothing was too much trouble. For a small hotel we thought the entertainment was of an exceptionally high standard & the food wasn't bad either!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EZEE999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Had a great relaxing holiday in Barbados booked through Virgin. The hotel was really good and the food was of a high standard and plenty of variation. Three dining areas, Rachaels, Drifters and Chop Styx Noodle Bar and we tried them all. Only moan about the food was the modern way of cooking vegetables in Rachaels restaurant so that they are just about raw, being an old git I like my vegetables cooked through (and my meat). Drifters, situated alongside the beach, is an informal buffet style restaurant which never failed to please. If you like Noodles then Chop Styx will make them to your specification and that combined with an excellent location and faultless service make a great evening meal.

We had two celebrations during this holiday a birthday and a wedding anniversary, particular thanks to Tyrone for making these meals special by providing a birthday and anniversary plate on the day.

All the staff that we encountered were helpful and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble and there was a high standard of cleanliness and service.

Room Tip: We had a double room with pool access which suited our needs as the wife has trouble with stairs, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tugwilson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,743 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,096 reviews
12.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $138 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing