We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savannah Beach Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sugar Bay Barbados(Hastings)
$654
$424
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Court Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$414
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$379
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$285
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$234
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)
$419
$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,725)
Filter reviews
1,725 results
Traveler rating
829
613
194
43
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
613
194
43
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrifters barpool access roomvirgin repchop stixclub decka la cartenoodle barrachels restaurantclub upgradeplantation roommeandering poolvirgin holidayskids clubdecked areaevery other dayfree drinksshuttle bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,396 - 1,401 of 1,725 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Savannah hotel in 16 months.It has got better and better .How many hotel managers cook the barbaque for guests .Mr Fred Smith does. Tracia and her food and beverage team do an excellent job Nothing is to much trouble for them .From Omar at the pools to Elsid on the beach ,They are all a great Savannah family. Michael and I cannot wait to return. Pat and Michael Button

Room Tip: room162 is great for getting straight into the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank spiderstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Pat & Michael,

Thank you for choosing our property once again and for sharing your experience with us. It is always our pleasure to welcome you home again and we certainly look forward to several return visits in the future, Your compliments will definitely be passed on to all those mentioned and to our entire staff. We always like to take special care of our family and with you there is no exception. We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future and to welcoming you back to you 'home away from home'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed 3rd june for 7 nights, this was our 2nd time here. great room, wonderful staff and lovely food.best position for the races or nights out at the gap. we especially enjoy the beach bar of an evening which is open till 1am, we,ll be returning next year x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeachandRum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Once we arrived at SAVANNAH BEACH we where ready to eat! We just got off a 6hour flight...It was tea time.. CAKES, COOKIES, CHEESE!!! NO MEAT AND BREAD! LOL... We where use to just going to get something to eat somewhere in the resort...Savannah Beach was different that all the other resorts we have been too..So we talked to management we told them how we felt..That this wasn't what we thought it would be..WE told them we wanted to go to another hotel..NOOOOOO! They didn't want to hear that..They asked us what is it that we want we need ..They will make it happen,and if where still not happy in 3day's they will take us somewhere else and refund our money...After the first day ,we got use to the way things where around there..WE where fine!!!! the kids LOVED it there..They became friends with all the kids around there! We love it and the kids too!!! the food was wonderful! The rooms was wonderful! Everything was wonderful..Can't wait to visit again!!!!! IT WAS VERY DIFFERENT!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasetta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We regret that your holiday started off on a less than favorable note. However, we truly appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to provide the service that resulted in a memorable holiday for you and the family. Special thanks also for rating us 5 stars for overall experience. We are very passionate and dedicated about ensuring all our guests leave with positive memories and unforgettable experiences. Now that you and your family have become part of our extended family, we definitely look forward to seeing you in the near future and to welcoming you back home again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent small & intimate hotel - perfect for couples.

Pros:
- one minute walk to the beach
- staff (particularly at Rachels and Reception) a credit to the hotel
- bedroom immaculately cleaned daily
- Rachel's A La Carte meals were outstanding
- Cocktails at Drifters excellent!

Cons:
- The noise of the frogs and crickets at night!! (not the hotel's fault though!)

Room Tip: We were in room 261 - a pool access room. Bath could do with being updated but the room itself is very good - great location and best bed I've ever slept in!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

OK . . . where to start . . . We booked the Savannah by accident. We were looking to get married in Barbados and this package from Virgin offered direct flights from Manchester. Not the most romantic of considerations, but Hey Ho. The previous reviews on Trip Advisor were good, the price was right, and it only cost 1300 quid to tag the wedding on - cheaper than a pastie and peas reception for everyone at Horwich RMI.
FLIGHTS: Thanks to Virgin for a fantastic flight. We upgraded to Premium and weren't disappointed. Word of advice: You are given landing forms to fill out on the plane and told that the head of the family can fill out one form for everyone. This isn't the case. All passengers must have a form to hand in, so ask for one each to prevent frantic scribbling in the arrivals hall. Also, you aren't told that there is no tobacco allowance in Barbados. There is a potential charge of $65BD per 200 cigs you take in with you. I hid mine in various orrifices but needn't have bothered because they didn't check . . .but be warned.
TRANSFER: A return private taxi transfer cost £50, booked through Virgin. We were at the hotel within 40 mins of landing.
HOTEL: A 15 minute journey in the taxi. The hotel is an old plantation house built next to the road, and the property is terraced from the road to the beach at the bottom. It is small - only about 90 rooms, so there is a more intimate feel to it from the moment you arrive.
The welcome at Reception was lovely. We were greeted by Susan Hall - our Wedding Co-Ordinator - and check-in was quick and easy. Your luggage is taken straight to your room (Tip the bellman $1BD per case). We were in room 264 - a pool access Club Room on the 2nd floor, and found the room spotlessly clean (and it was kept that way by the housekeeping staff for the entire fortnight). It was spacious with plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space. We had 2 really comfy double beds and a balcony overlooking the mid-section of the pool.
Yes . . there are steps . . . lots of them, and Yes . . .they get slippy in the wet, but common sense tells you to take your time and leave your 6" heels in your case. The staff work hard to make the steps safe when it rains (and it does rain) - just be careful.
POOLS & BEACH: The hotel has a pool that meanders through the cental part of the courtyard in a loop, and another pool at the side of 'Drifters' bar. The pools are all 3'6" deep, so no diving, and they are all kept very clean by a guy who sings as he vacuums the bottom. We were there during half term, and it was busy during our first week, but there were no shortage of sun loungers by the main pool or on the beach.
One slight niggle . . .we had a pool access room which has stairs from the balcony to the pool deck. You can lock the door on exit, but you can't get back in - the key card only works on the main door to the room, so you get out the pool and drip your way the long route back.
The beach is raked clean daily. It is rocky with strong currents, but a short walk either way and you find breakwaters that calm the current down enough for you to swim. Wet shoes are a must, and don't leave the kids unattended in the sea. The hotel lays on a shuttle bus service to nearby beaches (book through reception), so you have the option of calmer waters if you wish. Remember that all beaches in Barbados are public and people wander up and down them all the time. You may well be approached by 'vendors' who will try to sell you their 'wares' . . .Aloe vera, jewellry, massages and other stuff you won't find in Chorley (if you catch my drift), but a polite 'No Thanks' will suffice. They are all friendly and there is never any intimidation. There are staff on the beach that keep their eye on everything and will help you if required.
The Club upgrade allows you to lay on a decked area on the beach. Comfy sunloungers, umbrellas and tables all set up for you by Michael and Martin. Special thanks to Jacqui for keeping us supplied with Rum Sours for 2 weeks - the poor woman must have walked miles to and from the bar!!
RESTAURANTS & FOOD: The food is good wherever you choose to eat. Great choice, good quality and attentive staff. 'Rachels' provides the breakfast buffet and Al a Carte dining in the evening (book a table when you're there for breakfast) and 'Drifters' provides a lunch and dinner buffet, themed throughout the week.( 'Chopstix' was shut for the 2 weeks we were there - but no matter - raw fish doesn't float my boat.)
You may be joined for dinner by the resident bird population. Opportunistic blighters out to steal your bun. They were a nuisance for the first couple of days, but you get used to them ( just like you get used to the noise the tree frogs make at night . . . .)
All the staff are lovely and hardworking, but special thanks to Edwin, Tyrone and Richard in the bars and restaurant.
If you do get bored with dining at the hotel, there are plenty of places to eat all within walking distance, and remember it's only $2BD to hop on the bus and go further afield and prices are comparible with the UK.
We found the entertainment laid on in the evenings very good indeed - if anything, they aren't on for long enough. 10.30pm and they're off!
DAYS OUT: We booked everything through 'Donna' - the Virgin rep. She was brilliant. Helpful and knowledgable without the hard sell. We did the 'Virgins Ahoy' catamaran trip (brilliant), Island Jeep Safari (excellent), the Atlantis submarine dive and the 'Gardens and Gullies' and 'Historic Houses' excursions - all of which were fantastic.
'Oistins' is a must on Friday night - food and craft stalls and a music stage - but it is packed and you may be hassled to buy food or take a taxi . . . . remember the polite 'No Thanks'!
WEDDING: What a day! Perfect weather, beautiful location and a vicar that looked like Cee Lo Green!
Practically everything was sorted out by Susan - legals, hair, flowers, cake, photographer and a bloke playing Bob Marley on the steel drums . . .all I had to do was turn up in a frock.
It was all brilliantly laid back - there aren't many Brides and Grooms who can hitch up their attire and paddle in the sea after the ceremony and not many weddings have a chap in budgie smugglers carrying a surf board wander past during the 'I Do's'!!
Cracking day - special thanks to Susan for orchestrating it so competently - unforgettable!!
USEFUL TIPS: When we were there it rained most days - usually just a quick shower, but the clouds stayed for most of the day. Cloudy or not, you will burn so don't forget the sun screen.
Mosquitoes - Most active at dawn and dusk, these little buggers will have you at anytime, so take plenty of repellent and cover yourself in it before you leave the room (they have a particular preference for ankles). We took plug-in repellents for the room, but the hotel will spray your room if they sneak in through an open door. Take antihistamine creams/sprays, and decongestant meds (you may get bunged up with the air conditioning) with you - they are available to buy at the chemist but they're not cheap.
Currency - Make sure you are clear on the currency that prices are quoted in. $2BD = $1US. US$ are accepted everywhere, but you will get BD$ back as change.
Laundry - There are no laundry facilities at the Savannah Beach so take enough clothes for your entire stay - unless you don't mind rinsing your smalls in the sink.
IN CONCLUSION . . . . Absolute cracker of a hotel. Sincere thanks to all the staff who work so hard to make your stay memorable. We'd return tomorrow if we could - but we can't - so time to save up and do it all again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank JIL5940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews