We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday. .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I would certainly stay at savannah again.... I had some issues when I booked because it took 2 weeks for anyone to respond to my emails.. I was very diaturbed by that service...however when I got to Barbados there was taxi waiting on me and the guy was courteous so my vacation was off to a great start.

Everything was waiting for me at checkin. And trevor escorted us to our room and stopped at Rachels for a drink as it was raining as we left the lobby area. Treveor was really agreat start to our stay at sav.

I had a pool access room on the first floor. The room was clean and had all the amenties we needed. Not many tv stations but hey your in barbados and your in an all inclusive hotel who has time for tv..

I must compliment the staff because I called front desk for 3 things and their response was timely and very pleasant

1 room to be sprayed
2 help to program safe
3 arranging taxis

I loved the food at la carte in Rachels and I loved the fact that they allowed my bf to have his chop stixs in rachels while I could have my la carte.

However please dont have the sushi. It was not good at all. It was barely sushi to be honest. I liked drifters bar food however I have some complaints about the tea time. The bread and cheesepaste served was bread and butter with a dash of cheese. Please adjust that. But everything else gets a thumbs up.

I didnt bathe at the beach at the hotel but I walked to pebbles beach and the water was great. Like bathing in a pool in the ocean.

The bar staff was great always eager to assist and and mix you up a special..

My bf loved the egg station at breakfast. Their breafast was great everyday except for the day that a bird stole my food I was quite angry when this happened.

My only 2suggeations are to fix tea time and to have a better way of asking guest their room number. I would go for a meal and be asked the same question numerous times.

Overall I would be back and thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is always beneficial to the operation when guests share their feedback with us. We regret that you did not enjoy the sushi at Chopstixx; our Chef will look into what may have occurred here to result in your dissatisfaction. Our food and beverage team always thrive to ensure each dining experience is unique, enjoyable and positively memorable. We sincerely apologize that this was not the case with your experience. However, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience at Rachel's, your pool access room, the cleanliness of the property and the service delivery of our team. Trevor and the entire team will be happy to learn that you were happy with the service they provided. The egg station at breakfast is definitely one of our popular amenities; it allows guests to choose their own style eggs and ingredients, whilst our staff provides that personalized touch ~ it's a favorite with many guests. We are delighted that you are now an addition to the Savannah Beach family and look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday to celebrate our silver anniversary. Susan, the head receptionist arranged a romantic dinner for 2 on the beach, and babysitting for our children. We were very pleased with this, and it seemed nothing was too much trouble.
This is a very relaxed, informal resort, making it ideal for families.
We liked the fact that it was a small resort, and that the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There is a small beach but it never became crowded - there were always plenty of sunbeds.
Our only criticism relates to Rachel's restaurant. On a couple of occasions, you had to eat there in the evenings, and reservations are required, Breakfast is also at Rachel's so it would be helpful if the staff checking us into breakfast, asked us to make a reservation for the evening to avoid confusion later. We did also eat from the Table d'Hote menu one evening but were not aware that children's food (pizzas, chicken nuggets, etc.) were available until we saw other families had them - this menu is a bit grown-up for most children. When we asked we were told there was no children's menu but they could offer these. Curlene was most apologetic and suggested that they should produce a children's menu to overcome this problem. We sorted it out and felt that she genuinely wanted to resolve this issue for the future.
This was only one minor issue, and overall we had a fantastic time, and are seriously considering another visit. The choice and quality of the food was very good, and there was something for everyone at the buffet, which our children (12 and 7) also enjoyed.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one-bedroom pool-view suite with our 2 children. Ideal as there is a 4-poster upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Savannah between 20th May - 3rd June with our two children and chose the hotel for our wedding. Thanks to all the staff and in particular, Susan we had an amazing time and would definitely recommend/return.
This was our first trip to Barbados and we weren't disappointed at all. After a short transfer from the airport (we took a taxi for $30 BBD -about £10 instead of the coach) we arrived and were instantly greeted by Susan and the reception staff, who were warm and friendly. Our suite was large, clean and the bed comfortable, (although the sofa bed had seen better days) and had a great view of the pool and ocean.
The food is mainly served in drifters which is by the beach and I can honestly say, having stayed in other all inclusive hotels, was the best in terms of variety and quality we've had - plenty of choice for the kids with Caribbean options also. Breakfast was also of a high standard and the food was replenished regularly, meaning no soggy bacon etc! We ate at Rachel's (al a carte) and this was also of high standard. All the staff in both restaurants were fab, they remembered you and created a great atmosphere - in particular Keetha who was brilliant with our baby, Lucy. The entertainment can be a bit hit and miss but our 9 year old daughter loved getting up to dance.
The beach is small, however there are plenty of sunbeds and for an extra fee you can upgrade to club which allows you to use a decking area also. Most days we took a stroll to the various gorgeous beaches that neighboured the Savannah - all are public so you can just arrive with your beach towels and enjoy! I would also recommend the free shuttle to copacobanna beach, the only reservation is that you are allocated just 2 drinks and the barman there was very particular in making sure that's all you had! (No food is served there either)
There have been some comments in other reviews about the pool area being too small, I would disagree - we stayed in a 'busy' period (half term) and didn't struggle for sunbeds at all.
Around the hotel there isn't an awful lot to do, but if you take a stroll down the 'boardwalk' or hop on a reggae bus for $2 there are plenty of shops, restaurants etc. there are also plenty of excursions run by Virgin and hire cars are very reasonably priced. We took a trip to the new lime grove centre at Holetown too, which is a free trip run by the hotel.
During our stay the turtles were nesting on the beach which gave us a great opportunity to see them up close and swimming in the sea - we also spotted the monkeys who are in the trees around the hotel too! As this is the Caribbean, I would definitely recommend taking loads of mosquito spray- we used lots but still got bitten.
As the hotel is fairly small you quickly get to know other guests/staff and I think that what makes the Savannah so special, there's a great feeling around the hotel and we met some lovely people. The management team are visible and listen and take feedback from guests - a great way of showing that they care.
We had our wedding at the Savannah and thanks to Susan and Gordon the photographer, we had a perfect day - nothing was too much trouble. We wouldn't normally go to the same place twice, but we are already planning to return to the Savannah Beach.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
9  Thank Juliap1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I will try to keep this review simple. Myself and party of 10 have returned home today after having a fantastic two weeks at Savannah for our wedding! Our wedding was Friday 24th May and it was perfect....all thanks to Susan who was fantastic in making our day perfect.
This is my 11th visit to Barbados and my first time at Savannah but it will definitely not be my last! The hotel was great, the staff are all extremely friendly and the food was fab in both Drifters and Rachels. There were plenty of choice for food at both restaurants and they never ran out of anything. Our drinks were continuously topped up when our glasses were running low, the staff couldn't do enough for you.
After reading previous reviews about this hotel, I cannot believe people can be so 'picky'....complaining about 'too many steps' and 'the beds were too high/big'. We had a deluxe king court yard view room, which was great. Great, clean and tidy room with plenty of lighting and lovely view. The beds are huge and comfy. We had house keeping service everyday with fresh bath towels and beach towels left for us.
As soon as we stepped onto the beach on a morning, the sunbed guy was straight up to get us 10 sunbeds put out. He was closely followed by Jackie who was on hand for drinks throughout the day.
With regards to previous guests mentioning that the pool area and steps were slippy when wet...yes they were when we had the odd showers but there were ample of 'wet floor' signs out for people to take note of if they didn't already notice they were wet! Also, when any rain did fall, staff were out straight away to mop up the bar area in Drifters. However, whatever country abroad your in, they too have slippy floors when wet.
Our only complaint would be that the entertainment on an evening didn't last long enough. As a previous guest mentioned, some of the singers were fantastic and they got everybody up dancing and having a great night.
All in all Savannah is a great hotel, with friendly staff, clean rooms, great food and a lovely secluded beach (with plenty of turtles swimming by) we couldn't have asked for anything more. We are so happy we chose Savannah for our wedding and we too will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here 8th-15th May...The place & people are brilliant.Rooms are very clean and spacious.We had a Beach Facing Delux King Size room,so nice to wake up to the sound of the sea and stand out on the balcony..
Jacqueline the lady in the bar was great,she got me my fave cocktail even though it was,nt on their list...
Food was also excellent.
On the morning of our Safari trip we had to be up early and the water went off at 6am.Within 10 minutes it was sorted and maintenance chap came up & checked to make sure all was working..So many people to thank with names forgotten,even chap selling stuff by the gate to beach was nice & chatty without trying to get us to buy things.
Miss you all,maybe one day we,ll be back...
Take care all of you at Savannah...:).xxx

Room Tip: we had 271,beach facing delux king size.Excellant for view of beach & weddings..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading the last 2 reviews I feel I have to put the record straight! The Savannah and it's staff made our wedding and holiday an amazing experience. It does not claim to be 5 star and if you want 5 star ( or your from the 'NY' area???) I'm sure there are plenty on the island , so choose one of those instead. But what we got at the Savannah was a perfect beach side setting, well proportioned rooms in a colonial style, huge comfy beds, fab outside terrace with comfy seating, ok bathrooms are not state of the art but adequate and clean. The food in Rachel's was plentiful and yummy for breakfast, apart from the coffee:( lunch at Drifters was fab, the most amazing lamb curry! We mostly ate at Drifters in the evening and apart from one evening the choice was great. The drinks were superb, any cocktail I asked for was available and the BBC ( banana , baileys and counter milk)was a particular favourite! Wine was ok. Beer great although it could get a bit flat. The beach is lovely and feels really secluded, you can swim to waist height but either side of Savannah beach you will find clear sea to swim if that's your bag. Plenty of shade from trees but also some umbrellas if you need. Really helpful staff on beach and we had great drink service care of Jackie on beach. Pool is lovely for a leisurely swim around the winding set up. Pool side area is small but we preferred the beach anyway as it had a really refreshing breeze. Our wedding on the beach was really special, thanks to Susan who was the most amazing member of staff. She organised everything and made us feel really special on our big day. We would not have changed a thing and can highly recommend the Savannah as a chilled out venue for a simple relaxed chilled out wedding. The entertainment was good and there One of the girl singers in particular could have given Rihanna a run for her money! There is agreat atmosphere at night at Drifters and we met dome lovely people and had many great nights listening to the music and people watching! We went to Oistins fish fry which is great and the Virgin boat trip was a great day out. We also had a memorable day out at the races just opposite the hotel.The Virgin chill and check out service completed our holiday perfectly. If you want a true taste of Barbados and great food, unlimited quality drinks, friendly service and a perfect setting you can't beat the Savannah. We have never been back to The same place twice but for the Savannah we are going to make an exception! Please Virgin do not put the prices up as we want to book for next year and prices seem a lot higher!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank juboWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Perfection isn't easy to achieve and whilst the savannah beach hotel doesn't have it, what it does have is a well appointed, well looked after and extremely friendly resort. I'll deal with the shortcomings first to get them out of the way, and after all they are not terrible things and for me they'd not put me off the place.

The hotel has 92 rooms and the resort attracts a fair few families, and a lot of these tend to congregate by the pool to relax on sun beds whilst the children swim and play in the water. The layout of the hotel is such that the main pool (at the beach end of the hotel by drifters bar and restaurant) is reasonably small and there is space for about 20 sun beds. This isn't really enough for the number of people likely to want to use them and they do get "booked" by the accursed beach towel on three sun bed from about 6am, with most of them taken (although not physically occupied) until about 8am; not ideal. In fairness to the hotel, there is plenty of space on the beach outside the hotel for sunbeds if that's your thing, but there is a grassy area to the eastern side of the beach bar that could be used for more sunbeds which would be easier then to keep an eye on your kids in the pool.

The layout of the hotel does mean that you need to exercise care when moving about. Pretty much all of the outside floor surfaces get very slippery when wet, and the main walkway from the top of the hotel down to the beach (which is the only way to get there I think) runs alongside a narrow swimming pool from which splashed watere inevitably finds its way onto the floor tiles. Caution is advised when moving around as it's very easy to slip and on the day we left a lady slipped and broke her ankle near the pool. Be warned.

Anyway, onto more positive stuff which is far more representative of what the hotel has to offer. Our room was large and well looked after. The beds were a little on the small side but the mattress was comfortable and the bedding adequate. The room was kept spotlessly clean on a daily basis with the towels and changed daily. The air conditioning in the room was essential and effective, but make sure to turn it off in the night or else you'll wake up freezing cold in the small hours of the morning.

Food is served in one of three restaurants, Rachel's for breakfast, Drifters for lunch and Rachel's, Drifters and Chopstix for evening meal. Rachel's offers a buffet breakfast which was basic but plentiful and of good quality. In the evening it offers an a la carte service which we didn't use, simply because we preferred to eat elsewhere. Drifters offers buffet lunch and buffet evening meal. The food is again quite basic, but it's good food which we enjoyed, and as there is usually lively entertainment down there (and much better people watching) we tended to eat down there both at lunch and in the evening. We didn't use Chopstix (for which there is an extra charge) and as far as I can tell no one else did whilst we were there.

There is a kids club which we found invaluable. CarolAnn is a lively and enthusiastic host who was very popular with our kids and the entertainment she put on offer was diverse. The games rooms were well looked after and had some really expensive kit in them (basketball games, pool able, air hockey, Xbox, wii etc) which was ideal of keeping the kids occupied and out of the sun during the hottest part of the day when sensitive skin is best kept safey under cover. Thanks CarolAnn!!

Which is partway to describing the best feature of this hotel which is its staff. From friendly and helpful staff on reception, to friendly and effective housekeeping staff, to friendly and generous bar staff they are the jewel of this palace. A real treat to spend time with them, and the most authentically Bajan part of this hotels experience.

Not perfect maybe, but pretty bloody special and a great place to holiday, whether it be a special celebration or just a celebration of sun and relaxation.

Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near drifters, it can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank bodgejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. This is a very important tool that allows us to improve our services and amenities. We are saddened to learn that several aspects of your vacation were less than favorable. We have reviewed your concerns and will make every attempt to improve and rectify any deficiencies in service. It is always our intention to thrive for excellence and to ensure that all our guests have satisfactory experiences. In this instance it appears as if we have fallen short of this and, for these shortfalls we sincerely apologize. Be assured that we have addressed your concerns with our management team in an effort to minimize future inconveniences. All your concerns were discussed including the housekeeping challenges, the quality of your drinks and your dining experiences. It is our intention prevent any repetition of these concerns. We sincerely hope that in the near future we may welcome you back, and that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with unsurpassed service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,741 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,096 reviews
12.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $138 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing