We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savannah Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Coconut Court Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Bay Barbados(Hastings)
$539
$448
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$288
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$307
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$234
$162
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,725)
Filter reviews
1,725 results
Traveler rating
829
613
194
43
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
613
194
43
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrifters barpool access roomvirgin repchop stixclub decka la cartenoodle barrachels restaurantclub upgradeplantation roommeandering poolvirgin holidayskids clubdecked areaevery other dayfree drinksshuttle bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 1,725 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned from this resort (me, husband, daughter & son in law) & it was fabulous. Agree with all the comments in the wilsonwelling review (who we had the pleasure of meeting & spending time with @ this resort). We had a week @ the savannah then embarked the carnival valor ship (virgin organised) for a week cruise around Caribbean islands (also fab)! We were asked by virgin rep Donna before we left for cruise if we wanted to opt for the savannah's 'check out & chill' for our last day. This is to leave the ship @ 11am, picked up & transported back to the savannah, use all the all inclusive facilities, room to shower in before departure, cases taken before us & not seen again till landing in UK! Boarding cards given to us before leaving savannah (so no queuing for check in)! We took this fab option as flight @ 7pm (well worth the equivalent of £22). Thoroughly recommend the Savannah.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

None of this information is intended as a criticism, because I don't have any criticisms. None.

The rooms were spacious and airy, and extremely clean. The food was magnificent, and varied. The night time entertainment at the beach bar was very good, live music, dancing, karaoke etc, 5 nights a a week.

The service is phenomenal , the response to EVERYTHING is "You're Welcome".

Even if you're on the beach, and can't be bothered to go to the bar, the pool bar staff will visit you and see if you want anything.

Technical stuff:
If, for some reason, watching TV in Barbados is a priority to you, then grainy cable TV is on offer in the rooms, a max of 18 US channels, not all of which work.

If you are talking your tablet or laptop, then your UK Netflix works fine, with USA content.

If you're taking a laptop TAKE AN ETHERNET CABLE as there is a socket in the rooms and Wi Fi, although present, is patchy indoors.

The kids club is well and professionally run, and great fun, and our daughter enjoyed her visits immensely. It is NOT 7 days a week though, it was closed on Sunday and Thursday when we were there.

There is also a "teenage hangout", which has an xbox 360 and a PS3, but if your teen takes their console, controllers, and cables, you could probably hook up in your room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek_Eynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Savannah Beach for the Easter holidays and cannot fault it. The staff are some of the friendliest we have met. Love the breakfast buffet especially the egg station, never had to queue which is big plus point. The food was fantastic, booked the a la carte at Rachel's a few times and the menu had so much choice, we never ate the same thing twice and loved every meal. The bar staff at Drifters were always smiling and made the best cocktails, especially the BBC (Best Barbadian Cocktail - try it !) my daughters loved the (alcohol free) mango smoothies.
There was always plenty of sunbeds available either on the beach or round the pool, the beach does get rocky but as previously said a few minutes walk either way and its less rocky. We took the shuttle to Copacabana beach a few times and the beach there was picture perfect !
We booked a few trips with Donna the Virgin rep, jeep safari was a fun way of seeing the whole island and the 'Virgins Ahoy' catamaran trip was excellent. 1st stop was to swim with turtles, 2nd stop was to snorkel on the coral reef and we were served lunch with lovely view of Sandy Lane and neighbouring beaches - food was good and full bar serving any drink you wanted - definitely one of the best trips I've been on.
We hired a mini moke for the day and saw the Barbados we may have missed on an organised tour, very easy island to navigate and the Bajans are very laid back drivers so really enjoyed the freedom of getting out & about.
We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our holiday in Barbados, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Savannah Beach to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WilsonWellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at the Savannah Beach hotel with my wife and 8 year old daughter for 14 nights over Easter. We had a Beach view room, which was enormous and well furnished. The hotel has just 95 rooms
Eating
Breakfast is served every morning in Rachel’s. There is a buffet and eggs are cooked to your specification – omelettes, fried or poached. A range of Twinning’s’ teas are available but the coffee is instant freeze dried stuff (there is a coffee house next door where two regular Americanos cost about £3).
Lunch is served a Drifter’s, burgers, hotdogs and daily specials are cooked to order and a buffet is also available. I recommend the grilled fish and Mac-pie with Bajan Hot Pepper Sauce.
Dinner is available buffet style at Drifter’s and A-La-Carte at Rachel’s, you can order of the menu and it won’t be charged, the prices are for people who are not All Inclusive at the hotel. Two nights per week Rachel’s is a buffet for dinner. You need to make table reservations at breakfast, don’t do it via reception as they don’t seem to tell the restaurant. There is also a third restaurant for over 16s only called Chopstix at a supplement but we didn’t eat there.
Entertainment
There is some evening entertainment. Some nights a singer or group come in and play at Drifter’s and some nights there is live piano music at Rachel’s. We also saw a Bajan floor show with limbo and belly dancing at Drifter’s. Once a week there is lunchtime BBQ and the managers come down and cook. There is a Kid’s club with lots of things for children to do and a games room with table tennis, pool, air hockey, table football and basketball.
The Gym is in the basement and pretty well equipped with two treadmills, two bikes and a stepper. There is also a set of dumbbells and a range of cable weights machines. It does get very hot though so it is better first thing in the morning.
Drinks
The cocktails are fantastic and local beer, Banks, is very nice. Soft drinks are available from the bar or from a self-service machine at Drifter’s. There is also a Nescafe Coffee machine and a range of teas at the same place. Both Richard and Azan mixed fantastic cocktails for us. Ask Azan for a special cocktail, he will happily tailor a drink to your tastes.
Beach
The Beach is rocky when the tide is out. All beaches in Barbados are public so you can walk a little way to the left or right and find sandier beaches. Three times a week you can get a free bus to Carlisle Bay, which is a beautiful beach. The bus takes you to the Copacabana Beach Bar where you can exchange tickets for two free drinks per person per day. Buses leave the hotel at 10 and 11 am and return at 1 and 3 pm. We walked back most days though. If you want more drinks on the beach a beer or a coke/sprite/ginger ale were Bajan $4, hotdogs and fries was Bajan $10 and Grilled Fish Bajan $25.
Out and about
Walking along the beach to the left for about 15 minutes will take you to the boardwalk, you can follow this to another nice Beach (about 29 minutes) and if you then carry on the road for 15 minutes more you will get to a Supermarket, we bought Mount Gay Extra Old, Bajan Hot Sauce and a few snacks here. Opposite the Supermarket is public access to Worthing Beach – another beautiful beach.
At Carlisle Bay we went on a boat for Bajan $40 per adult to swim with turtles and snorkel around a ship wreck. This took between an hour and an hour and a half (much cheaper than the Virgin trip). This is much busier if large Cruise ships are in so try and pick a quieter day.
Opposite the hotel is the Garrison race course. Races are alternate Saturday afternoons. You can go right up close for free.
We booked a horse riding trip independently (this cost the same as Virgin for an hour and a half but we paid a bit extra for two hours)
Friday night is a good night to go to Oisten’s Fish Fry, good food and music, dancing and stalls selling souvenirs. Really worth the visit – go further in to find Banks beer at 4 bottles for Bajan $10, and Fish and Macpie, chips or rice for around Bajan $25.
Buses are either Blue (Government run) Yellow (privately run) or white minibuses called ZRs or Reggae buses. All trips are Bajan $2 per person, reggae buses are great fun with music and lights inside but can be a bit packed.
We also had a few drinks in one of the local rum shops (basically a pub that looks like a shed!) they look a bit intimidating from the outside but the one we used, Bird’s Bar, on the walk back from Carlisle Bay was very welcoming.
If you choose the Savannah Beach Hotel I hope you have as much fun as we did.

Room Tip: Avoid Plantation House rooms as they are on a busy road
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Librarian39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My partner and I got married at the Savannah beach hotel on the 21st February and had the most amazing time, the wedding was more than we dreamt of, and was very well organised by the lovely Tamorra.
We were a party of 14 and were all made to feel very welcome by ALL the staff, Jackie and Earl at Drifters deserve a special mention for being welcoming and friendly from the start of the holiday until the end.
The beach was small and a little rocky ( invest in some aqua shoes )but just a small walk left or right there are beautiful beaches and the hotel puts on a courtesy bus to a beautiful beach at least 3 times a week!
when booking request a sea or pool view the rooms in the plantation room are beautiful but can be noisy and limited Internet.
We would most defiantly go back to Barbados it's an amazing island and most certainly stay at the savannah Beach.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Matilda2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property and the beautiful island of Barbados for your wedding. We are so happy that we made your wedding day memorable and exceptionally special for you. Nothing is more rewarding to read such great reviews that highlight the hard work of our dedicated team. We have shared your regards with all our staff and they are all delighted about your feedback. . We look forward to being your 'home away from home' on all future visits and will still be here to deliver outstanding service for your vow renewals, 50th wedding anniversary and beyond! Congratulations and best wishes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews