We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savannah Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Coconut Court Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$207
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Bay Barbados(Hastings)
$510
$489
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The SoCo Hotel(Hastings)
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$243
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$190
$178
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$234
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveler rating
838
618
194
43
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
618
194
43
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrifters barpool access roomvirgin repchop stixclub decka la cartenoodle barrachels restaurantclub upgradeplantation roommeandering poolvirgin holidayskids clubdecked areaevery other dayfree drinksshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
1,499 - 1,504 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from The Savannah Beach. Had a lovely holiday.

Flight out with Virgin was excellent.Transfer was 30 mins. Check in 5 mins. Taken direct to room by reception staff. We had a Pool View Deluxe Double , and bought Club direct from the Hotel. The room was spot on. Massive comfortable bed, large room and balcony, adequate bathroom. Very quiet except for the birds to wake you up, and the tree frogs to send you to sleep.
Two main restaurants Drifters ( on Beach) for lunch and buffet dinners. Rachels for breakfast and Waiter Dinner. Service is what you would expect in barbados, laid back and with a smile but not quick. You just go with the flow.
Food. Bearing in mind that this is a 3 Star Hotel the quality is good...however there is no excuse for the food being cold , which more often than not it was. The Head Chef is responsible and I would replace him because it drags the repute down. That is my only grouse.
If you are interested in Bajan history this is the prefect base, within easy walking distance are The Garrison/ Racecourse/Parliament/Presidents House etc. Racing is every fortnight and was great fun ( 800 yards away). If you walk to the other side of The Hilton, early in the morning, you will see the boys exercising the horses in the sea.
Club upgrades give you a Club room with fully stocked bar/fridge. Club decking on the beach, with deluxe beds served with drinks by the very hard working Dexter and Jacqueline, every 30 mins and other treats. Please tip them!
The Beach:- had I believed some reviews I would have worried. All beaches in Barbados are Public. The "Savannah" beach is protected as it is a Turtle area ( in season) . Forty feet to the left is a warm beautiful swimming area ( just outside The Amaryllis Hotel) There are tides of over 8 feet in Barbados, so you can see rocks!
The Hotel swimming pool is adequate, but the lazy river pool is perfect. Cool and clear.
We booked a Catamaran/swimming with Turtles trip from the Uk with Silver Moon. Fantastic. Only twelve passengers. All Inc.

Overall if you want a 1,000 bed Resort, with all day entertainment this hotel is not for you. It is 80 beds with good evening entertainment, good facilities and rooms. It just needs improve its food husbandry.

Room Tip: The House rooms are basic, but very cool and not so quite. The new building rooms are excellent and its then down to your budget.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Savannah Beach Resort in January 2013 for 1 week on our Honeymoon and had an excellent time.

The Resort is a half hour drive from the Airport, 10 mins drive from St Lawrence Gap (Restaurants & Beaches) & 5 minute Drive from the centre of Bridgetown (Boat Tours & Diving).

We stayed in a Delux Garden view Room at the top of the complex, overlooking the Gardens and fountains and it was perfect. As you can see in the photo's, the rooms are very spacious, well decorated and have a LARGE four poster bed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the friendly housekeeping guys came in everyday.

It's a nice quiet are of the resort at night and the view from the balcony overlooking the fountains and gardens is beautiful. It's also a good distance from the Beach Club at the bottom of the resort so you if you want to get an early night, you wont be able to hear the Live Bands playing down there. (although I would recommend going to watch the live music as it's a great night and the guys at the bar make great cocktails).

There's also free WIFI throughout the Resort, and although I didn't get good signal in the room, It was perfect out on the Balcony. There is also a computer with free Web Access in the Main Reception area of the Hotel.

The beach at the bottom of the complex is a little small and the sea can be hard to navigate due to the large amount of Coral in that area. It's not great for swimming, but it's still a very nice place to be. We hired a Mini-Moke for the week, so we spent a lot of our time exploring the hundreds of other beaches on the island.

I cant really comment on the food a the Hotel as we ate out everyday in the local restaurants which are excellent and well worth a visit.



Overall, The Savannah Beach is a fantastic, quiet little resort which is in a great location if you like to spend your days out and about. We had an excellent time there, due in no small part to the friendliness of the Staff who are always happy to help. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay in Barbados and We will definitely make our way back there soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for ten nights in January. Being a three star hotel, we didn't have unrealistic expectations and so were able to enjoy the hotel very much. On most levels it exceeded our expectations. Rooms are very spacious, big half tester beds, nicely furnished large balconies and spacious, if dated, bathrooms. Hotel is kept really clean. Food was much better than we expected, the A La Carte at Rachel's was normally delicious. Portions are on the small side, but with the overall volume of food consumed during the day, that is quite welcome by the evening!
Drifters beach cafe was fine for lunch a good buffet selection of hot and cold dishes, but I don't understand why people would choose to eat there again at night, when Rachel's offers a much nicer evening experience, it feels like going out for a proper dinner, rather than the canteen like atmosphere at Drifters. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Although there is the egg station, which is fine, it's baffling that a Carribean hotel should rely so heavily on tinned fruit and carton juices, when there must surely be an abundance of fresh fruit available? We have stayed at similar quality hotels on other Carribean islands and been delighted with the fresh fruit on offer.
Staff are generally excellent, friendly, professional and very hard working. The only exception were some of the reception staff, who seem to have forgotten how to smile. The hotel,is well positioned, it's lovely to be able to stroll along the beach in both directions, to the right you can walk to the Hilton Hotel, cut through the lane just before it, skirt round onto Carlisle Beach, and walk all the way into Bridgetown if you want (about 45 mins). This walk will take you past the other beach that the hotel shuttle runs to, by the Cococabana Bar. Many reviewers have preferred this wider beach to the one outside our hotel, but we like the more intimate feel,of the Savannah beach area. It's handy though to be able to use your all inclusive tag to get a drink at Cococabana whilst on a beach walk, but remember, they will,only honour this on the days the Savannah shuttle runs (Tues, Thurs, Sat & Sun). Walk to the left on the Savannah beach and you are soon on the Boardwalk, we enjoyed the stroll right along to Accra Beach ( about 30 mins), and rewarded our efforts with a nice cocktail at Champers, high up,over the beach with wonderful views.
There are a few little niggles about this hotel that stop it from getting the full 5 points. They seem to have a problem with their bathroom linen, getting hand towels in your room was a bit of a lottery, no one knew from one day to the next if they'd get any, and housekeeping would just say they'd run out, surely an easy thing to fix? The one adjective we used repeatedly was 'happhazard', the weekly entertainment and dining list was always wrong, something that was scheduled to happen never did, but then a completely unscheduled act would turn up elsewhere ! It kept us guessing, so no chance to get bored!
On the whole through, this is an excellent little hotel, the charm and friendliness of the staff seem to rub off on the guests, we have never had such a nice time on holiday chatting to so many other couples.
A final word about trips out, as its so easy to stroll from the hotel we only did two proper trips, a one day car hire ( beware at peak times it's quite a struggle to organise car hire) to tour the island, a great day out and really nice to see the very different character of each coast. We did a catamaran trip (Cool Runnings) which was amazing - see separate Trip Adviser review. And - being just across the road, we sauntered over to the Race Track for a Saturday afternoon meet, at about £3 a head for a seat in the stand, fantastic value and great fun.
It's a great little hotel and a lovely island with very friendly people, a perfect holiday destination!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Like most I read but don't review. Having read some of the negative reviews I felt I had to put fingers to keys.

We had a deluxe courtyard view room, these are nearest to Rachel's restaurant but aren't noisy. As an upper room they get either morning or afternoon sun on the balcony, something you don't really get with the poolside rooms.

We found the staff at the hotel brilliant, speaking to people that had been before, over the last year or so since Virgin took them on they've come on leaps and bounds. They were all well informed, friendly and reasonably efficient.

The food - breakfasts, a good mix of traditional english cooked, cold meats, and the star being the 'eggs to order' bar where great omlettes were made.

Drifters - For lunch there was plenty of choice and variety each day, if you stay more than a week you'll get repetition but always 3 or 4 good dishes to choose from which incorporate Bajan as well as world favourites like Lasagne.

Rachels - we ate from both the a la carte and set menus and thought the dishes were great, perhaps a better rotation of dessert would be my only criticism. Less Coldplay though please!

The entertainment in Drifterswas better than the dodgy club singers you usually encounter too. If you want a lazy beach holiday with really needing to leave the hotel you'll be well set. If you want boring corporate, stay at the big name hotel down the road, if you want a little quirkly but clean stay here. We will definitely be back.

Criticisms - The pool could be open a little more than it was. Drifters at night was occasionally not as well staffed as it could be leading to a bit of a wait for a drink (this was the exception though). Also, towels especially face cloths in the room was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: Deluxe Courtyard view on the Garrison side have afternoon sun on their balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MmmMudhuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We only stayed here for 3 nights as part of a cruise and stay holiday and were sorry to be moving on so quickly as were enjoying it so much ! The room was lovely it was really big with a big comfy bed we had a patio with a rattan sofa outside which was nice and could be used if there were showers to sit and read in peace and quiet (we had no rain so were lucky except on the day we arrived back to Barbados)
The beach area is lovely you can walk either way from the hotel and its so peaceful , there are turtles in the sea and they lay their eggs in the sand not far from the hotel. There were lots of beautiful birds flying round and no hawkers on the beach which was good ! The hotel food is quite good . We went to the managers BBQ on our return to Barbados we went back the day of our flight, this was a really lovely way to spend our last afternoon before the coach came to take us to the airport.(note we did have to pay extra for the last day but was worth it rather than sitting 5 hours in the airport)
The night time entertainers were good we had 3 girl singers the one night who were really good and 2 other acts the other nights but all were far better than you would expect in such a small hotel. We also had quizzes which were fun.
I did not use the pool as I was quite happy sitting on the beach looking at the waves crashing in and trying to spot the turtles ! All the staff were friendly and helpful , they are all laid back and what you would expect in such a lovely place why rush round ? we have enough rushing round here in England ! The hotel was like being in an old colonial club and was great ! I would love to go back next time I go to Barbados . A great place for rest and relaxation with enough going on at night to keep you happy.

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor which was great for access to the beach and the beach bar/restaurant. Rooms higher up may also be good if you don't mind the stairs. Not the best place for anyone who struggles with steps ! but they do have a lift
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sylvWtonWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews