We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty.disgusting food.don't believe the brochure” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Savannah Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dirty.disgusting food.don't believe the brochure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

dirty floors everywhere.food terrible.poor entertainment.seems like staff just been recruited.bars dirty.staff couldn't make even a rum punch.asked for a Irish coffee ?? received a glass of Baileys with coffee on top.my advice to anyone thinking of savannah beach for a holiday is don't.you would be better of in benidorm.and save 5k sir Richard Branson should check out his hotels.in one word this one disgusting.even the beach is filthy

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pashpash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are disheartened to learn that you were not satisfied with certain aspects of your holiday and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. As discussed prior to your departure, we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to identify and correct any deficiencies in our service delivery. We truly regret that our management team were not sucessful in their efforts to make you comfortable or to satisfy your requests while you were with us. It is always our intention to exceed our guest expectations and to ensure their overall comfort and contentment. We hope that in the future, you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence and to make our property your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    413
    128
    33
    28
See reviews for
343
619
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have just returned today from a week at the savannah, rooms 355/355. Read all reviews and can honestly say that there are positive and negatives. Found the staff on the whole very friendly but there where some in Rachel's that could be very off at times.
Sharon was absolutely lovely and always smiled. Also Antony was great he always made my son feel special. Linda was always so accommodating.
Tracia was excellent in organising a night for my family after a bad experience. She is a credit to your staff!
There are some issues with the beach but I do believe that's being addressed.
All in all a very enjoyable week. Having been to Barbados 4 times I do feel that the all inclusive is hitting the rest of the market hard with regards to people eating and drinking out.
Thanks to you all!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Savannah from 16th to 28th December and thoroughly enjoyed it! The hotel staff are nice, the food is good, especially the a la carte in Rachel's. breakfast was great, and afternoon tea served in drifters each day at 4pm is a lovely time to sit and watch the sun go down with a glass of wine or a cocktail. The beach is small but no a problem at all as stretches for miles either side of the Savannah. You can walk along the boardwalk, we stopped off for lovely cocktails at Tapas bar. There is quite a lot o see in Barbados and I can recommend the following:-
Limegrove cinema which is a short bus ride is fab, on a Monday and Tuesday evening its 15 dollars (£5) and there are beds and huge armchairs with leg rests. You get served food and drinks through the film, it's so posh......we saw Skyfall! Go to Holetown and Speights town, you'll see how the other half live as this is where Sandy Lane etc is. The island jeep safari is amazing, you get to see the whole island and do some fun off reading too, along with a lovely lunch at a hotel included.

In summary it's a great hotel for value for money, rooms are large, beds are massive and very comfy, bathrooms are clean but need updating very soon! Food and drinks are fine, beach bar is very cosy and quite good entertainment....but everyone goes to bed here by 11pm! The only thing to report on not such a good note was that quite a lot of children got ear infections from the pool. The main pool area by drifters bar kept going green and murky and it was closed a lot. They would seem to add chemicals and filter it, but it would return to murky again within a couple of days. You need to sort this savannah staff.......it lets the hotel down and costs people a lot in doctors bills!!

All in all, I'd recommend this as a couples, single person or family hotel and encourage you to go and have a great time.

One last tip.....the weather wasn't that good in December, apparently it's much better from when the cricket season starts, which is mid Jan. but be warned, you'll still burn through the clouds!!!

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a pool access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynnep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday in September and I traveled with 5 other girls and in order to enjoy ourselves we stayed at the bar. The staff was very nice but didn't seem to care about our concern of the room. For this to be a 4 star resort I give it a 2 and that's being nice. The food wasn't that great...the site says it has 4 restaurant and 3 bars. I only saw two restaurants Chopsticks was always closed. I also don't like sharing my food with flying birds...I mean they were everywhere!!! They would fly by the food and staff didn't do anything. The beach was beautiful and Ostins was nice place to go on Fridays. My room was from a scene in a horror movie. The shower curtains were dirty the lights didn't work in the bathroom and on top of that they shut the hot water off at night. I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bren915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is a useful tool in our training and development. We are disheartened to learn that we fell short of your expectation, as it is always our intention to provide favorable memories to all our guests. To this end, we host weekly activities so our guests can get an opportunity to experience our Barbadian culture; at our weekly manager's barbecue there are quizzes, games and other competitions which are lots of fun and allow staff and guests interaction. To add variety to our dining options we provide entertainment, themed dinners at Drifter's restaurant and at Rachel's we offer an a la carte menu or a rotational table d hote menu option each evening. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced whilst with us. We hope that at sometime in the future you would reconsider your decision and allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 7 days at savannah beach.. I must say after reading other reviews I was a little worried about what to expect.. people need to remember when booking this is rated as a 3.5 star hotel.. if you want luxury then pay more and book a 5 star hotel!!!!!
You get what you pay for!
All that said.. i was very happy with size of room.. maids did a good job every day.. food was better then I thought it would be.. a good variety every day and the staff are brilliant.. all very helpful and so friendly.. nothing is too much.
The beach is quite small and gets very busy.. the stones are not too bad.. a minute walk to the right and you can walk straight in to the sea.
All in all I had a very nice time and was pleasantly surprised.
I would book the savannah again should I ever return to Barbados

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a ten day vacation in Barbados. Most all-inclusive resorts come with fully loaded fridges, beer, water and soda. The fridges were empty and when we asked about bottled water, we were told it was four dollars to purchase. Also should be more food available after dinner, even if only snacks. Most resorts have small grill area with fries, hot dogs nachos etc...Seems to be a bit under staffed, could use a few more employees, although the staff is working very hard to accommadate everyone. One more issue is the desk could let people know about the other beach that the shuttle goes to, the shuttle should be available everyday 9 to 5.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llastrina1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london.uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I finally gave in to my urge to escape the freezing cold weather just before xmas. I was apprehensive as a woman travelling on my own.but I needn't have worried.

I have been to Barbados before and stayed at the Colony Club and the Amaryllis (next door to Savannah) but I can honestly say this hotel was friendlier and I found the standards high and I am going to return!

The room was big with a nice sofa and I did think about a Pool access room but glad I didnt pay an extra £98 for this as the pool which snakes round the hotel was easy to access. the shower is a bit tricky but you have a full size bath and ladies there is a hairdryer in the draw in the dressing table, dont use the bathroom one.

Breakfast for me was a leisurely affair and you can have a full english which I did and the omlettes were freshly made. I squeezed my own juice as there were plenty of oranges available. I loved sitting with the birds and it didnt bother me at all.... other guests need to understand this is the caribbean !! the birds are only small not like the seagulls in the UK! The restaurant staff were always welcoming and I noticed that some of the locals were eating in Rachels in the evening with their famiillies which must be a good sign...
Oh and the banana and ginger pancakes were delish !!

There is a nice beach the sea is rocky again I enjoyed watching the fish and sea critters under rocks.some guests spotted turtles swimming. I took the shuttle down to Copacobana beach hotel where you can get A/I drinks... the hotel also does a packed lunch one lady had so much we shared lunch together... a nice memory...If you go to this beach see Neville for the snorkelling with turtles and shipwrecks he was fantastic so encouraging and informative much better than the big catamaran trip I went on previously !!

Also watch out for the brilliant girl band Virgo!!! better than X factor. There is also a spa service which I didnt have time to use but oher guests recommended.

Anyone thinking of travelling alone especially ladies go for it .... I am already planning a return visit. Hello to Susan the head receptonist who came to see me as we share the same surname... a wonderful holiday thank you.

Room Tip: All lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzhLondon_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you will be returning. Our kitchen team takes great pride in cooking up those daily breakfast specials and nothing is more enjoyable than having your omelette prepared in front of you with any filling of your choice. Thank you for all your recommendations and for highlighting the features of the hotel and commending our staff ; Susan will be happy to know you mentioned her service. On your next visit you will see more improvements and changes as we are continuously looking for ways to add variety to our operation and to make our guests visits enjoyable and memorable. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,849 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Saint Peter Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Property: Savannah Beach Hotel
Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing