We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious chilled out bolt hole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savannah Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unpretentious chilled out bolt hole”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed from the 21st Oct to the the 27th.
Having not had the benefit of visiting Barbados previously, this was certainly a lovely introduction to the island. This is a small intimate hotel based around a beautiful old plantation style building.

We had a very relaxed check in with complimentary and very welcome rum punch. Then it was off to check out our room whilst we waited for our luggage to arrive. We stayed in 324 which had deluxe pool access, we never used this as to do so, you had to leave the patio door unlocked. Otherwise we found the room lovely, as per other reviews, bed large and comfy, flat screen tv, air con, our bathroom was also lovely, yes a bit of the grouting was discoloured around the bath, but otherwise we couldn't fault it.

Food was lovely, breakfast had all the usual, lovely fruit, the best bacon and scrambled eggs I've had abroad. The birds at breakfast are a little off putting especially when you are aware that they walk all over a newly set table! But after a while you get used to them.
Lunch had plenty of healthy choices as well as the usual burgers and chips.
Dinner, I preferred the buffet style nights in both Rachel's and Drifters. The al a carte in Rachel's was good for one or two visits, but sometimes service was a little slow even on quiet nights which we didn't mind but prefer the more informal buffet. At all times our water glass was topped up and service always friendly. Downside as with all allinclusives, the drinks are served in small glasses, even in the restaurant sometimes in plastic ones.

The beach is beautiful soft white sand, well tended and clean, plenty of sun beds and shade provided by the palms or on request with umbrellas dug into the sand beside your sunbed. Yes it is rocky but that does not stop people bathing and playing in the sea.

Trips wise, we tried the triple delight, Harrison's Cave, Mount Gay Rum tour and a sunset catamaran trip, the catamaran wins hands down! Harrison's cave although educational, it felt too 'interfered with' and a bit Disney like. We also went to Oistins, which seemly is a 'must do' on a Friday night. We paid $25 each for what is basically fish and chips served in takeout containers on smelly oil cloth covered tables. The entertainment is a stage with all the 'top' tunes booming out and kids up dancing. As its all out doors there was plenty of smoking so we were stood in the midst of a very pungent smoky haze.....
We bought both trips from Damien the rep, nice guy, definitely not a 15 min meeting as described in the welcome invitation, but your sat at the pool bar in the sun with a drink, so no complaints there!

Overall we had a lovely holiday, we would recommend this hotel and will return to Barbados.

Just an observation re Virgin's 'twilight check' in and 'check in chill out service', both great resources but I suspect because they are getting your luggage early it goes on the plane first and off last! Each time our luggage was nearly the last to come through!

Room Tip: Unless your getting a complimentary deluxe pool access upgrade, don't pay extra. You still have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody-annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    527
    164
    40
    37
See reviews for
432
786
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was our first vist to Barbados in September and the weather was excellent very hot, we were in 327 Sea View Duplex apartment with lounge and mini kitchen below.The apartment was excellent thoroughly clean, air con great as you do need it and a great big bed!
Food at both restaurants was fantastic and lots of choice and the cocktails were to die for.
The Staff could not do enough for you and all were fantastic and we can't thank them enough for making our holiday so very perfect.
Beach was fine nowhere near as bad as some say yes it is a bit rocky were some shoes or go either way a few minutes walk to it being a better beach and there is a shuttle bus everyday to copacabana beach free we did go there once and it is lovely but we didn't feel anything was wrong with Savannah's, sunbeds are put out ever morning and put away at night and the beach is cleaned staff come down to the beach and take your orders for drinks and bring them out to you on the beach which we thought was really nice of them.
We saw lots of little turtles that had just hatched one night and another night saw a turtle laying her eggs this happened about 9-10pm it was incredible also the green monkey come into the hotel one day we saw a green monkey with her baby on her back it was amazing.
Damien the virgin rep is fantastic and the trips we booked like the sunset cruise, jeep safari, catamaran day cruise, harbour lights and mount gay tour were brill loved them all.
Oistins is not to be missed on a friday night, we tryed to get a reggie bus but ended up getting a taxi as we set off to late we think you need to set off about 5pm as everybody heading there, there was a place there called Pat's Place we couldn't get into because of how late we had left it and were told a few days later that its busy there because she has the best and freshest fish and the biggest portions so go and give it a go.
we loved every bit of our holiday it was amazing Big Thanks again to all staff you were all amazing,The Bajan people are kind and friendly and one day soon we hope to return, we loved it forever in our thoughts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just arrived back home from a one week stay at the Savannah Beach Hotel. Took my husband for his 50th birthday and our 10th wedding anniversary. Close to Bridgetown and easy to get to around the Island. The hotel was very nice but could do with a bit of refurbishing but I can see that they were making improvements while we were there. We had a pool room access and was perfect. The Drifters bar staff were very attentive and Michael made very nice cocktails. We ate in Rachel's restaurant also and food was a very high standard. We celebrated our wedding anniversary on the 25th oct and was overwhelmed by the attention that we received from Curlene and the waitresses. They went out of their way to make our evening very special and memorable, we had champagne and our table was beautifully decorated and was offered as much as we wanted from the menu and offered steak from the menu which you normally pay as a supplement but was given to us complimentary. The staff on a whole were very pleasant and nothing was to much trouble. They have a shuttle that takes you to coca cabana beach bar and the beach there is lovely, and all you drinks are included. We have been to Barbados four times now and have to say the accommodation was the best one yet. You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here for your holiday in Barbados

Room Tip: Deluxe king pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Allow me to offer belated best wishes on your husband's birthday and your 10th anniversary; we are delighted that you chose our property for the celebration of these special occasions. Curlene and the entire restaurant team at Rachel's take great pride in making sure all our guests have a memorable dining experience. They will be elated to know that their hard work and dedication proved successful from the comments you have shared and the unforgettable cherished memories that you and your husband will always hold dear. We certainly look forward to your return and celebrating many more birthdays and anniversaries. Here's to many more visits and several more celebrations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We are on our last day now, it's been a very relaxing stay
Everything we expected but no more
What could be improved
The entertainment was the best I have seen in the Caribbean , but not on every night
The club members area looks uninviting and would not inspire me to upgrade, a few pot plants, a cover on the gazebo and a bar service would, not much to change a shabby area into somewhere more luxurious
Drifters bar needs colour, everything is beige, some coloured lighting would help
Chopstix was great food but sole less perhaps oriental background music would help

All the staff were polite and helpful at all times, the only issue was reception staff who were courteous but curt
There seemed to be lots of managers around, but they never spoke to guests, poor PR, listening will help improve
The chef always came around totalk and get feedback, wel done and food was fine
All in all a good holiday that could have been 5star with a couple of small changes

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davegirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed in 261 a deluxe pool access from 10th-23rd oct. We had no extra key to lock our balcony door so never took advantage of the pool access aspect of it, but the bedroom was nice and spacious and like everyone says v comfy bed! Nice flat screen tv, air con, fridge for drinks -not stocked as part of our all inc package but you could put your own drinks and after sun lotion in etc! My one complaint with the bedroom would be with the drawers as some of ours were broken but we had plenty so not a big problem but these should be fixed. The wardrobe was spacious and our room had two safes which we did not have to pay any additional fee for unlike some hotels. The main problem with the room was the bathroom, it was functional but very tired looking and the shower curtain was pretty grubby! It didn't spoil our holiday but these should be improved as a matter of priority.
Food- plenty and I thought there was good variety. Yes there are hot dogs and burgers every lunch but there is always fish, chicken, pork or beef options, make your own sandwich section and there is a special of the day you can ask for. Breakfast there was always bacon, scrambled egg, beans, cereal, fruit and then different things like bajan bakes, salt fish, corned beef (not like we know!) and then the lovely fresh eggs section where they do great omelettes etc for you!
Dinner at drifters was always buffet and Rachel's varied between that and a la carte which was lovely and had some really nice dishes. Chop stixs was newly opened when we were there and towards the end of our holiday we tried it and was gutted we hadn't discovered it sooner- delicious, relaxed Asian dining! We have sushi in London and this was just as good if not better which I was really surprised at! Nice chicken Katsu curry and nasi goreng- yummy!! Needs promoting by the hotel and Shamika who works very hard there has some great ideas that should be listened to!

Drifters beach bar did some nice cocktails (thanks Chris!) as part of the all inclusive and staff are always coming to your table and asking if you want anymore - spexial thanks to Keitha and Whitney who are a credit to the hotel!

Pool was lovely and we quite liked the snaking river to swim around!

Beach- yes it is rocky but you can paddle and we saw lots of fish, crabs etc around the rock outcrops. We also saw turtles at the end of the v club section where some of the hotel staff will feed them to get them over- lovely!

The main highlight for me was helping to hatch turtles on the hotel beach just behind drifters. We knew there were turtles that lay their eggs on the hotel beach when we booked but I never really thought we would see any, but three nests hatched while we were there and we were lucky enough to release 400(!!) into the sea one night - incredible! Tip- they usually hatch 10pm onwards so grin and bear the sometimes comical, for all the wrong reasons, entertainment!

Trips- Mount Gay rum tour disappointing and wouldn't recommend. Catamaran was brilliant and swam with 6 turtles and great sunbathing opportunity! St Lawerence gap- keep to the top end, after pieces restaurant it goes significantly downhill!! Bridgetown - we thought duty free shopping wasnt as cheap as the UK for a lot of things?! But nice to have a look around the area.
Shuttle bus to Carlise Beach where your wrist bands are accepted for free drinks at Copacabana beach bar- amazing amazing beach! Powder white sand and crystal clear turquoise water- postcard perfect!
Barbados was great and with a few small improvements this hotel will be too! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NTopliss84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am late in writing this as my computer has let me down twice! Stayed for 3 weeks in September. We upgraded to club and had a wonderful setting sitting on posh chairs, drinks during the day, cold towels what a super way to spend our retirement holiday. The staff were outstanding especially Shawnae, Damen, Tricia. If we had to make one negative it had to be about the food, although well cooked and well presented it became a bit "sameie" after 3 weeks, this would be the one area for the hotel to look at - maybe a 3 or 4 week menu this way you save on costs but also guest don't get the same food all the time they are there. Having said this "Thank you Savannah for a wonderful holiday"

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are quieter than if you upgrade to a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anniepepper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We came for New Years Eve Dec 2011 and came back min January 2012 - a fabulous Plantation House that is currently being renovated and repaired. Great staff, Virgin exclusive and a lot of very new rules and regulations for the new staff to learn. That being said, the food was delicious is you avoided the western hamburger and enjoyed the local fish, the staff really could do no more for you and I would very much like to return to the Savannah when it is completed in its refurb! The provate beach is a little rocky but the hotel have a mini bus service that will take you just a short way along the coast to a beautiful sandy bay where your food and drink is still all inclusive! A wonderful show was put on for New Years Eve and our Virgin Rep Solange was very accomodating and knowledgable! If it wasnt for the fact there are so many other lovely places to visit - I would return!

Room Tip: Watch out for the air con, its mighty chilly when you leave on all day! Take a room towards the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineOdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,561 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
11.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Property: Savannah Beach Hotel
Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing