We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Quality- Don't Miss Out- Book the Savannah Beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savannah Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Star Quality- Don't Miss Out- Book the Savannah Beach!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Firstly, let me just say that I am very picky about hygiene and food and have moved rooms and hotels on previous holidays- I'm telling you this to put this trip into perspective!! For someone who is so picky about cleanliness and standards- I CANNOT fault the Savannah Beach Hotel one bit!! It will be my go-to hotel in the future.

We stayed from 2nd June-9th June and stayed in the Emerald Block.

1. Professionalism of staff- everyone is really friendly yet professional; you're made to feel very welcome.

2. The cleanliness of all areas is fantastic- this includes the room, bathroom, dining areas, swimming pool- everywhere!

3. The food was amazing- high standards, lots of choice and extremely fresh.

4. A gym was an added bonus- (my boyfriend and I need to keep fit for our jobs)- the gym had a well furnished gym with a good variety of equipment.

5. The view: SENSATIONAL.

6. The beach is on your DOORSTEP!! I found the rocky beach lovely to look at but as other travellers have said- if you want a smoother beach, it's literally 2/3 mins.

7. We went with Virgin and the rep, Damien, was knowledgable, friendly and full of banter!

8. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had what I consider everything you need to relax whilst you're getting ready, i.e. tea and coffee facilites, fridge, TV, towels, large wardrobe space, big bathroom with shower and some toiletries.

9. Lovely comfortable balcony with some seats and a view of the ocean- my boyfriend loved chilling out there reading and listening to the sea.

10. We went out from the hotel during the evening- but a couple of times we did stay and the entertainment was fun and everyone (guests and staff) was lovely.

11. There is so much to do on the island, whether you want to chill, indulge in your adventurous side, swot up on some history and knowledge of the island or you like to party.

As I said, I'm very picky about things, especially hygiene and I didn't feel let down at all.

Everyone on the island is helpful, friendly and proud of their home- but as a half Bajan, I would say that :)

Enjoy the Savannah!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Actress-On-The-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful comments; we are delighted that we made your stay memorable. It is comforting to know that we would have satisfied you with favorable service on all levels. Your comments will definitely be shared with the staff to motivate them to continue delivering quality service. Glad to see that you had an opportunity to explore the "little rock'( as we Bajans call it) and to soak in some of our culture. Barbados is truly a gem! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    528
    164
    40
    37
See reviews for
433
786
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

what can i say fantastic. staff all very nice and helpful. Food , great choice something for everyone. What did get a bit annoying was the people that would go to a ban marie and take out what they wanted and leave it open so then you get people moaning that the food was not hot. We went on the little mini bus $2 the same as the goverment bus but you got to meet the locals what an experience just go to the bus stop, turn right outside the hotel bus stop is outside the slots you want the no11 a white van will turn up great for the locals rather they had the money rather than the goverment. all in all we had a great time there was six of us i was celerbrating my big 50 and my brother and sister in law were celerbrating their anniversary would i go back yes tomorrow am looking to book for next year. Also forgot to say had i swim with the turtles and saw the green monkeys great, great, great............

Room Tip: we stayed in room 413 very nice not overlooking the pool so a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed for seven nights from 15th to 23rd July 2012 and both my partner and I had an amazing holiday.
The hotel has been refurbished at the beginning of 2012 and I have to say that a great job has been done. The rooms are good and the complex has been well designed over a split level all the way to the beach at the bottom of the complex. Split levels do mean quite a few steps to contend with although there are also two elevators.
The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us and the food at meal times was pretty good too with a variation each night including Bajan, Italian, Chinese and Indian.
The hotel provides a free shuttle to Carlisle Bay, which offers a perfect white sand beach and the sea is a beautiful pale blue, clear as anything. On the beach, you are able to visit the copocabana beach bar and have all inclusive drinks owing to the wrist band from The Savannah.
We had a fantastic time and may be going back next year for honeymoon, although I think Virgin have realised that this hotel can command more money and prices have risen for next year and are about 30% more expensive than we just paid for the same stay!
Still, it's worth the money if it's a great holiday you're after!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just got back from a brilliant stay at the Savannah. We are a family of four and the kids loved it. Ignore alot of the bad reviews because this is not a 5 star hotel BUT 5 star hotels do not always mean a great holiday! - we have stayed in many hotels all over the world.

The hotel is in a good situation on the south west located on the beach. There are alot of steps which go down and pass over the pool. The pool has a narrow lazy river part which is attractive and the children enjoy this. There is also another small pool with bar. There is not alot of space for sun lounges around the pool but this does not matter as it is lovely on the beach which is raked daily. You need to walk a few mins to the right towards the Hilton to get away from the rocks. The hotel provides bodyboards and it is brilliant for this outside the Hilton as the boulders placed in the water create really good waves in a safe area with a lifeguard tower. My 14 year old thought it was fantastic and the sand is like powder here. It is also good to catch the hotel bus to there other beach area 5 mins down the road (you can walk if you like) where you will get free drinks. This is a large beach area with hardly any waves, very nice, and there are also free kayaks to use and snorkels/masks - if you ask. Remember the hotel will give you a very nice packed lunch to take with you any day you decide to go to the beach or elsewhere - you need to order this by 5.00 the day before - many people did not know about this.

The food is excellent for this star of hotel. Breakfast at Rachels is very good, the buffet at lunch down at the beach bar Drifters is ok and the kids enjoyed it. You can eat at either Drifters or rachels at night although they occasionally close Drifters in evening and just open Rachels. The food at Rachels in the evening is excellent and we ate there every night. Odd night is buffet, but is is mainly table served a'le carte.

Service is mainly good, and mostly with a smile (90% - odd staff member could cheer up - but that's the same everywhere in life!)). We where staying when it was a bit quite for the 1st week and then busier the next week - so saw both sides of the service. The staff can't do enough for you - just ask. However give them a break in very busy periods when the food service and bar service tends to slip a bit. Just relax and chill. They do need more bar staff at busy periods and toilets by pool/bar need better and regular cleaning.

Our room was a Courtyard Deluxe with 2 double beds - very nice (not really deluxe!). Typical Caribbean standard/type.

If you want your pool towels changing then call at house keeping or leave on bathroom floor. When we arrived we only had 2 pool and two bath towels but house keeping quickly brought us two more no problem. The safe did not work as needed new batteries and this was also sorted straight away. So just ask and the staff will try to make everything good for you!

We did not do the Virgin Catamaran trip as we have been before and in our opinion there are too many people. We went with Calabazza who are a bit more expensive £10 extra each BUT only take 12 people and the trip and food is excellent- fantastic day - see their reviews as number 1 trip (I believe Silver moon also take a low number of people). We hired a car. The island is small, they drive on the same side, and the East coast and North is beautiful and very quiet, call at Bottom Bay, the Crane hotel for a drink, Sudbury Plantation House, Bathsheba, flower caves, Earthworks Pottery - (avoid Harrison caves -overpriced!) We also learned to surf with a local surf school called Dread or Dead who will pick you up and take you for a few hours - also see their reviews as they are excellent. My son and I where up and surfing in no time!
Turn left along the hotel beach and in 5 minutes you reach the new board walk which is nice to have a stroll along although the property is a bit run down along there! Also catch the hotels courtesy bus into St Lawrence gap for a bit of nightlife. The hotel entertainment is ok but a bit hit and miss.

Last but not least - we saw many turtles coming out of the sea and laying eggs in the dark on our actual beach between 9.00 till midnight. You could stand next to them and watch but don't shine any bright lights and stand behind them - there are conservation people patrolling at night marking the nests and tagging the turtles which are protected - absolutely brilliant holiday and place to stay in Barbados.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Spendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed at the Savannah Beach on an all inclusive package with Virgin and it was wonderful.

I am amazed that some reviewers have stated that the staff are unfriendly - I found the opposite to be true and was treated with great courtesy and made to feel really welcome. I think that the people who have said these thing must be just miserable gits who never smile - shame that as the Barbadian people open up when they see that you are friendly and they have an awesome sense of humour too.

The hotel is very well kept, the room was clean and I couldnt fault it at all. The bar kept the fridge stocked with soft drinks and Banks beer plus a very welcome supply of rum, vodka, gin and scotch. There was also a tea and coffee maker in the room. The bed was HUGE and I had one of the best weeks sleep ever. Breakfast is served in Rachels and consists of the usual scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. As an alternative there was cereal, yogurt or chef would rustle you up an omelette to order. Totally yummy!

Drfiters bar is located on the beach by the pool and serves food in the afternoon and drinks all day. If you decide to sit on the beach you can enjoy waiter service. Its true that the staff dont rush about but her, this is Barbados and its meant to be about relaxing. Who wants to rush about when its 100 degrees in the shade?

The beach is a bit rocky but if you turn right at the beach and wander for about 5 minutes you come to the beach at the Hilton Hotel which has all the beauty of a picture postcard - totally mindblowing.

The hotel was being used on Monday for the annual ITT convention and they needed to build the stage which was going to be noisy - we were given a free catamaran trip with food and drinks which was just lovely. There was an opportunity to see the turtles - cannot believe how BIG those dudes are - the size of dustbin lids!

All in all a great holiday :-)

Room Tip: Poolside rooms looked cool - walk out of your door and jump straight in :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank supercoolandtrendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great hotel and awesome location. I have been in many full inclusive resorts but never had this awesome quality food!! Also a gorgious beach where you can snorkle with the Turtles and beautiful white sandy beaches within 3 minute walk to surf. gorgious hotel with great staff! definately will go back here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank dmitry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We where staying at the Waves in st james but after 9 days we moved as it was too quite, the worst desision ever as the food rooms are way superior at the waves, in this hotel you have supplements for food served naturally at the waves we where told the savanha was the same standard as the waves absolutely no way my wife is worn out with complaining but she has a major point as the standards have well dropped since we moved dont mention ESPN since we moved or I will cry

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mudfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We do apologize that our hotel was not to your expectation as our aim is to satisfy every guests and ensure they leave with a memorable experience. I believe you may have been initially misguided when we were compared to the other hotel as we are a different rating. With that being said, we can understand your dissatisfaction with our property. While we try to be comparable to other hotels you can appreciate each hotel may have its own standard of operation for the charging of supplements or amenities. However, we do feel as if we have plenty to offer guests; our unique design and room layout, art gallery, three restaurants for you to choose from, our newly designed family centre as well as entertainment 5 nights a week. While our beach may not be ideal for swimming, several of our guest swim within walking distance from the property. It is never comforting to learn that we may have failed one of our guests and for this shortfall we sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
3.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
3.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Property: Savannah Beach Hotel
Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing