We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a home away from a home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosebank Apartments
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Almost a home away from a home”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel - this is not it. But very comfortable, clean, convenient,and walking distance to several restaurants, plazas and shopping. Did I mention reasonably priced - for Barbados very much so. My wife and I spent a week in the one bedroom apartment and had no complaints. Owners have done an excellent job in providing a cost-effective self catering establishment.

Room Tip: Preferred the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cristojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
17
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We visited Barbados in may and after a little research and reading some reviews on tripadvisor I decided to contact Sandie who was really helpful with the reservation and patiently (and very promptly) answered all my questions.
She arranged airport pick-up for us and since there was a larger room available at the time of our stay we were upgraded free of charge.
The rooms are well equiped with everything you would need during your vacation. The bed was super comfy and it was HUGE.

The next shopping mall is right next to the premises, where there is a mini-mart for groceries and other necessities and the beach is just down the road.
There are several restaurants in different price ranges and bars within a short walking distance.
You can also walk into Bridgetown, something that we did a couple of times, but it is a longer walk so thankfully there is a bus stop a short walk away, which is very convinient. You can get to either Oistins or Bridgetown without a hassle and for only a small fee.
We were debating on wether we should rent a car but opted against it, and used public transportation instead. That was a good move, because we got to know really nice people and to see real Bajan life.
The bus to the airport also stops at the same spot, which was very convenient and it only took us about 25 minutes to get to the airport from Rosebank.

The premises are lovely, with mango trees and well kept flowers. We were gently awaken by a choir of birds every morning, and tiny frogs that sat in front of our little porch sang us to sleep.
And the best of all, a large family of green monkeys played in the trees and watched us watch them, every morning during breakfast.


We also called the office asking about a catamaran tour and they got us a great deal, so before you book anything beforehand, call the office and they will sort it for you.

All in all, this was a great vacation and a great place to stay and I highly recommend the Rosebank Apartments, Sandie and her staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank little_rockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Rosebank for a couple of weeks in August 2010. Firstly all the arrangements were made via email with the lovely Sandie who was so friendly and helpful we just knew everything would go smoothly. Even though Sandie herself was away when we arrived, she arranged for Richard to pick us up at the airport, and despite my somehow managing to completely mess up the arrival time, he was there to meet us, smiling despite the ridiculously early hour.

Now, if Richard picks you up, be prepared to spend a lot of time talking about cricket... whether you like the sport or not is entirely irrelevant, Richard has enthusiasm enough for 10 people!

When we arrived, the first thing we noticed is that the gardens were well kept and absolutely beautiful. I think you can have barbies out there if you want (but don't quote me on that!)

The apartment (we had a superior studio) was perfect. Well equipped, if basic, kitchen including an electric oven, fridge freezer, microwave, kettle (one of those whistle jobbies you put on the hob!) and coffee machine. Oh and a telly with cable access although we didn't watch much tv to be honest! Lovely colonial style furniture and blinds, air-conditioned bedroom, HUGE double bed, lots of wardrobe space and bedside cabinets to pile all your junk... er I mean keep things neat and tidy (ahem!) I just felt comfortable and "at home," immediately, which was great!

There's also WIFI (included, you just need to get the password from Sandie/Richard) so if you're staying in (WHY??!!) and get bored with cable tv, I spose you could always download movies to watch on your laptop!

Location-wise it couldn't be better. 2 minutes walk to the Boardwalk and the beach (we used to hang out around the Accra hotel (and sneak inside to use the loo!) You're far enough from the noise at St Lawrence Gap but it's only about 5 minutes away on the supercheap and very regular bus service. You're also only about 10-15 minutes bus ride away from Bridgetown. The bus stop itself is 2 minutes walk away so that's ridiculously convenient!

Speaking of which, just at the end of the road, there's a little convenience store where you can buy all the staples, milk, bread, fruit and veg, toiletries whatever, bit like a little Tescos Extra type store. Be warned though, groceries are expensive! (As is eating out) You'll have to be careful not to undo the saving you make by going self-catering cos you blow a ton on food. Please do try to buy the local products though, rather than the imported stuff, just to keep the local business going ;) If you take the bus going up towards Oistins (you HAVE to go there on a Friday night for the food and the atmosphere!) there's a larger supermarket up that way, near a petrol (Shell?) garage. It's a bit cheaper, but not much :( If you're into cooking (Vegans, please skip the rest of this paragraph!) it's also a good idea to pop up to Oistins during the day and buy lovely fresh fish from the market, have you ever eaten fish that was swimming around just a few hours previously? That's how fresh it is, fantastic!

Basically, we loved this place! So much so, we're hopefully going back again later this year (SANDIEEEEE, save us a room!) I'm kind of a homebody and usually I can't wait to get home at the end of a holiday - not this time, I nearly hid under the bed so I didn't have to leave!

Seriously, if you're doing Barbados on a budget, I'd be amazed if you can find better value, good quality self catering accommodation in such an excellent location. Trust me on this as I am a fussy cow! Book it and enjoy, as I say, you won't be disappointed!

Nicole

PS - Oh and don't forget to look out for the monkeys!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Nixf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Rosebank Apartments, tucked down a quiet street, seemed like home. Sandy is delightful....lets you do your own thing. Arranged to have me picked up and RC pointed out all the sights and best restaurants. (Don't forget to try Tapas!). The room was large, exceptionally clean and comfortable. I was able to shop around the corner at the Lantern Mall for breakfast items and on one or two occasions brought dinner in from the Mall. Conveniently located about three minutes from the boardwalk and beach which was lovely for an evening stroll. Bus, taxis and jitneys make transportation into Bridgetown easy. I'm headed back in a couple of months and Rosebank Apartments will be my choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackquelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We were in Barbados in August and it was an unforgettable experience. We loved the location right across from the broadwalk (access to beaches) and within walking distance of restaurants (subway) and 5 mins away from the mini mart. There was parking available and the bus and maxi taxi stops were very close so it was easy to get into Bridgetown.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and were very flexible with our inconvenient flight schedule. The apartment itself was rather roomy and very clean. The only thing our apt lacked was a patio, otherwise perfect especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex - England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was our fourth time staying at home (Rosebank) in Barbados! The apartments are superb and Sandie is, as always, there at the end of the phone if you need her. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone here - we asked for clean towels on our way out one morning and when we came back they were there on the bed - you don't get better service than that. The apartments are situated, in our opinion, in the best location in Hastings. You are so close to everything and can reach anywhere on the island easily. The buses are regular and so cheap too. The road to the apartments is lit and the shopping mall, The Lanterns, is great - loads of places to eat and such a wide choice of food types too.

Once again had a fantastic time, travelled around the Island more this time and found some amazing beaches - Brighton Beach is a must. There is a restaurant there and beds, umbrellas available for hire. This beach was never crowded even on Sunday morning! Miami Beach is great too, this beach can get busy but once again lovely. Paynes Beach is fantastic but Chris and I love Carlisle Bay because you can walk out in the sea and it is very gradual with no sudden dips, hardly any rocks when you walk out either and the sea is (usually) very calm. Food - Tapas is a must, we had two fantastic meals there - loved the West Indian Curry, and very reasonably priced too. Went to Oistens on Monday night instead of the usual Friday night, had a great evening. Lots of entertainment, Mr Impact can wiggle them hips. You should try Club Fred's too - he appears to be a grumpy old whatnot but he isn't at all, he is very funny.

Had a fantastic time and hopefully will return for our fifth time this time next year. So if you are thinking of self catering do not hesitate to book Rosebank Apartments, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham st annes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We booked the cottage for 4 adults first time we have booked self catering in Barbados and boy were we impressed. We think Sandie should be nominated for best customer service nothing we asked for was a problem she is top class full of information and very very helpful. Don't worry about the towel or bedding service Sandie will change your towels daily if you require it without any fuss. If like me you over pack (i won't next year) there is a good laundry and Sandie will open it for you when you need to use it so next year i will travel light. The cottage is beautiful we were so impressed the photos on the site don't do it justice and we loved the photos. The cottage has a large lounge large kitchen with dining table and chairs 2 large air con bedrooms the beds are amazing 6 ft wide so big and comfy a great sleep was had by all. Good sized bathroom plenty of storage space and best of all we had a patio with comforable furniture and another table and chairs for dining al fresco. we had access to the garden the only downside no sun loungers we did mention to Sandie so here's hoping next year we have some.Please don't be put off with the comments about the alley its not an alley its a well lit up street and we all felt very safe . We recommend Bar Kan-ei for the beach its just past Chefette on the right hand side its quiet as Accra beach can get busy and over crowded. Bar Kan-ei charge £10bds for a lounger and £10bds for an umbrella but the good thing is they give you the money back to spend in the bar on drinks or food its fantastic . bar staff very friendly shower toilets clean and best of all its a nice beach. There are lots of things to do in Barbados Harbour master dinner cruise on the thursday night not to be missed great food great entertainment fantastic. restaurants there are plenty here's some of the ones we like shakers, mamma mia bests of all Tapas ocean view and the best food .
Well could go on for ever we love BARBADOS we just wish we had found the Rosebank Apts sooner and cant wait for 2012 . Great big thank you to Sandie x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alicelythamstannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.5 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hastings
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebank Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Apartments

Property: Rosebank Apartments
Address: Halls Gap, Hastings, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank is a delightful boutique apartment complex comprising of ten apartments all uniquely designed to provide very comfortable, yet affordable accommodation. A true home away from home! While the apartments are set on the tranquil grounds of an old sugar cane plantation they are just a mere few steps away from the heart of the south coast, its beautiful beaches and array of bistros, restaurants, shops and bars. Thus making it a very convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosebank Apartments Hotel Hastings
Rosebank Apartments Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing