We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Service Great Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at this holiday park
and everytime I have been delighted with my stay
Many THanks Anna

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 195 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

My Husband and I and our 11 year old daughter spend a night in the Tui Cottage on the way to our holiday and on the way back. Cottage was perfect, very comfortable beds, with everything else we required for our short stay. The pools were only heated from 6pm till 8.30pm, but there was a lovely spa for the adults in our group. Lots of Flys, but san't be helped in a rural place. Fly spray was provided. Will stop in again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie0rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, I hope you can stop here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The accomodationa suited our needs very well, with comfty beds for all and a clean and tidy environment. The place is not Flash but it is very clean and tidy and the staff were great and very friendly. Really nice relaxing place to stay with beatuiful views of the mountain. Recommend to anyone!!!! Thankyou

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonjaPalmerstonNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is one of the traditional, old-fashioned, real Kiwi camp grounds. Stayed for over a week on a tent site in the shades of big old oak trees, very nice. Perfect base to explore Whangamata, Waihi Beach and rural Waikato with the mountains, bush and river gorges. Extremely good rates, even during the summer. Also, free WiFi!!! But be aware of the cats, there are quite of few of them here :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We wanted to have a quiet relaxing holiday in the countryside on a long weekend. The place was perfect to our needs. We stayed one of the self-contained cottages, which was simple but large enough for two of us and well equipped for a short stay. Enjoyed a typical New Zealand rural atmosphere by sitting in a lounge room or on a deck. It was so peaceful and relaxing. A couple of downsides were WiFi and swimming pools. The WiFi signal in our cottage was too week to connect but it worked fine in the common area. The swimming pools were not in operation. Th small hot mineral pool was in operation though.
There are nice Mineral Spas and Golf course in town. We bought some beautiful organic soaps near the holiday park. It is a place we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myozean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay at Te Aroha Holiday Park. We would like to thank you for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. It is quite a joy to read positive feedback from our guests. We are so happy to hear that the whole family enjoyed it here. Our large 18 x 6 m Swimming pool will be open as soon as the weather heats up.
Meanwhile our Hot pools, comprising the SPA Hydrojet can be enjoyed daily between 8.30 am and 8.30 pm or the Mineral water Hot pool (amongst the Rocks) in the evenings 6 pm - 8 pm; both weather permitting..

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.


Regards
Te Aroha Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Te Aroha Holiday Park provides a prompt friendly service. We valued the quietness, and found the room clean, functional, and tidy. We found the place to have a warm relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwisTrampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tearohaholidaypark, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here, we are so lucky to be located in this country side, soon the birds will return to the trees and and greet us al in the mornings with their beautiful songs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Booking was quick and straight forward. We were asked what time we would be arriving and the propriator, Anna, mentioned she would flick on the radiator in the cottage right before we planned to drive (our trip was a in the middle of winter). Sure enough when we arrived, we were greeted by a very cozy cottage that was clean and VERY relaxing. Spent the next day around town and at the Hot Pools and the last half of the day just lounging in the cozy cottage. The room came with a little travel cot for our two year old son as well which was great.

Definitely loved the the free WiFi too (fyi the signal gets a little weak near the Tui cottage as Anna mentioned to us but I was able to download some emails, etc near one of the windows). Anyway, we had a brilliant time, recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tearohaholidaypark, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Thank you very much for your review. According to the geek's our WiFi can sometimes be a bit weak because of the number large oak trees blocking the signal in the Park.. not sure but I am glad you could manage by moving to a better position. I enjoyed watching your toddler attempting to climb up the ladder on one of the trees. Maybe next time he can try one of the swings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Aroha
16.7 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
The Nunnery
The Nunnery
#1 of 4 in Te Aroha
29 reviews
17.0 mi away
Horse and Jockey Inn
Horse and Jockey Inn
#5 of 7 in Matamata
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Central Motor Lodge
Central Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Morrinsville
49 reviews
17.2 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Address: 217 Stanley Road South | R.D.1, Te Aroha 3391, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Te Aroha
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selection of different accommodation types, ranging from backpackers Cabins to modern apartments. Lots of privacy and space provided in this rural park, grazing farm animals surround this peaceful setting with uninterrupted mountain views. Free of charge WiFi and Hot pool on site operating in the evening. Cottages and Cabins with linen supplied to all double beds. Fantastic playground on tree-swings, flying fox, pedal go-karts. Choose us if you like the quiet countryside, only a short 3 minutes drive from Te Aroha coffee-shops and restaurants. Holiday Park with adventure playground, flying fox,tree swings, out of the ordinary. Motel type Cottages, Cabins and Backpacker caravans for the budget traveller. In addition we also offer camping sites, communal kitchen and showers plus toilets for those guests who prefer private cabins or caravans. Cook a Bar-be-que under our oak trees, use our special alfresco pool with hot mineral water, open all year between 6.30 Pm - 8.30 Pm under an umbrella of sparkling New Zealand stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing