We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wee gem”

Te Aroha Mineral Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Te Aroha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Aroha Mineral Spas is a must-do when visiting Te Aroha. Whether you need to soak your tired body after a busy day walking or cycling, or just want to escape your busy lifestyle - our therapeutic mineral water is the ideal way to relax.Treat yourself or someone special to a relaxing soak, a romance package, or a massage or beauty treatment by a qualified beauty therapist at Aroha Spa.Te Aroha Mineral Spas opffer private spa and ensuite facilities. Open 7 days, bookings essential.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wee gem”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Who would have known this wee gem was tucked in behind the Te Aroha i-SITE. Passed through Te Aroha over new year and didn't even bother to stop but this trip I'm glad I did. The warm waters of the mineral spa were beautiful and soft making your skin feel revitalized and fresh.
Highly recommend diverting your trip and make time for a wee dip in the spa.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time out!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had the romantic package for couples which included an hour in the private hot tub with chocolate and candles, then a half hour massage each. It was Great!
We were there in the afternoon and think it would be more special in the evening as the candles and atmosphere would be more magical.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank globalsoulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“You're in control.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A nice example of spa pools. What stood out for me was the way you could control the temperature and bubbles. Reasonable prices, a nice place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwicritic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing, maybe a little expensive but its awesome and i think its worth the money. Your own private spa with temperature control and a bathroom. Your skin feels absolutely amazing after the spa here and each time they clean the hot tub water out. The best part is that the water is natural and is really good for your skin. Take the time to travel to Te Aroha and try out these spas! They are also great after climbing up Mt Te Aroha too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The place to soak in a relaxing hot tub”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

It's hard to find places where you can go to and enjoy sitting in a hot tub with your family/partner without having to worry about other people, but this place is pretty good considering that I have experienced living in a country where hot springs/pools are very common.

We made reservations here to secure a time to use the spa, as we reviewed some good feedback about the place. I found it a bit difficult to get through to speak with someone on the phone when making my booking but at least they had voice mail where you can leave a message and have someone call back.

The staff were friendly and the facilities were reasonably clean. There is a waiting area at the reception if you arrive early with couches for you to sit on until it:s your turn.

We were guided to our private room with the wooden tub, where you have your own personal shower space, toilet (although separated by shower curtains), a sink and a small bench to put your belongings on.

After locking the door, we showered and got into the tub which was heavenly! There are levers to control how hot or cold you want your water to be and also a button to push if you want the jacuzzi experience. The quality of the water was really good, nothing like the chlorine smell you get from places that pump water from the tap.

The staff buzzed us 10mins before our time was up to let us know we had to vacate soon, so we quickly got dressed and helped ourselves to the free water dispenser.

After this we had already pre-arranged a head scalp massage and finished off our experience here this way.

Would definitely come back again as a stop over to finish off the day with a relaxing spa.

One thing you might want to note is the parking can be challenging if you come during the peak times, but otherwise there should be sufficient parking on the road side which would take about 5mins to walk to the spa area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kirinlager007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Aroha Mineral Spa also viewed

 

Been to Te Aroha Mineral Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing