We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for an active break”
Review of The Nunnery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nunnery
Ranked #1 of 4 Te Aroha B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We used this accommodation for our base when doing the hauraki trail ride. Our ensuite room was lovely and very comfortable. Paul and Denise showed us through the nunnery and it would be a great if you had a group of riders or trampers wanting to explore this area as the 5 bedrooms available are tastefully decorated and with a full kitchen for your use. We could imagine some great times shared here.
The added bonus of the the aroha mineral pools to ease those tired legs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merito_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Friends stayed here after being double booked elsewhere which was a great blessing i disguise as we were very disappointed with where we stayed.

The Nunnery is a fantastic place for goups and couples. Even though most of our group stayed elsewhere the owners were more than happy to show us through the entire complex and gave us a lot of their time. Due to the weather not being so great we did not do everything we wanted to do in Te Aroha so we will definitely be back and we will stay at The Nunnery.

There are a couple of ensuite rooms which could be double or twin rooms and then there is a lodge type unit which had 5 double rooms with shared bathrooms. One of these rooms could also be a twin. The lodge unit has a lounge kitchen area with a deck. The photos do not do this room justice. It is larger in life and there is a new lounge suite.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mav_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Spent a few days here, fantastic hosts Paul and Denise, made us feel super welcome. Very clean with comfy beds. Great breakfast and friendly conversation each morning. The Nunnery is a perfect stopover for a road trip. Highly recommend this accommodation and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are trying to vary our family holidays so our children (two 12 year olds and one 10 year old), will see as much of NZ as possible. We particularly like to holiday in the less touristy spots, and Te Aroha fitted the bill for these holidays.
We found out about the Nunnery from friends, who are related to the owners, Paul and Denise. Judging by the guest book, others have found Paul and Denise the same as we did - excellent hosts.
It is a b & b, although we went with the bed option and took breakfast with us. The rooms are lovely and clean, airy and - most important given the cold snap - warm!
The Nunnery is handy to the highlights of Te Aroha - the Domain, the hot pools, and some surprisingly excellent cafes for a small town (we sampled coffee from Banco, the Domain cafe and Ironique and it was all good).
Denise and Paul know everything there is to know about Te Aroha, so could always send us in the right direction.
Unfortunately, the weather was pretty bad during our visit - but the children took advantage of the school grounds next door to shoot hoops and let off steam, and we were able to have a relaxing break.
I recommend The Nunnery for a peaceful breakaway and a great base for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cupotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quarto 3, em frente aos banheiros
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank endofava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Ulrike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nunnery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nunnery

Address: 16 Burgess Street | Te Aroha, Te Aroha 3320, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Te Aroha
Price Range: $60 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nunnery is a new guest accommodation alternative in Te Aroha. Te Aroha is becoming a popular tourist destination due mainly to its mineral spa pools, bush walks and mountain bike tracks. The Nunnery is within easy walking distance to the tourist attractions, shops, restaurants, hotels and clubs. It is a brick building built in 1977 to house The Sisters of Mercy. Present owners, local people Paul Herbert and Denise Andersen, bought it in 2008 and in November 2009 it was opened for guest accommodation. We have one semi-detached studio unit which is proving very popular. With Air-conditioning, en-suite, flat screen television, toast, tea & coffee making facilities, fridge/freezer. In the main accommodation wing we have 3 double and 2 single bedrooms. These bedrooms have wash basins and heat pumps and have access to a guest lounge, kitchenette and deck. Full Breakfast or Continental available on request. The Nunnery also has ample off street parking and boasts spacious grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Nunnery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing