We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Aroha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aroha Mountain Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cold and Noisy”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed in Te Aroha a few times but never at the Mountain Lodge. We found the room cold - one heater that pumped hot air up to the high ceilings didnt quite cut it in temperatures that were going below 0. We also found that with 3 rooms backing on to some sort of small kitchen set up (which we didnt use) it was incredibly noisy. Having neighbours with screaming kids who seemed to be in and out of the kitchen slamming their door every 5 minutes didnt help and obviously is beyond the owners control - but having to sleep and then wake at the same time as the neighbours was a pain. Would be nice if they could put couples in the same block as couples and families with other families - we wouldnt have minded the noise if we had had our tribe along for the ride...
Cant beat the location for the pools and the room itself was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocopops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Have stayed at Aroha a few times now and it is a lovely setting and great place to relax and un wind. However after my last stay would like to offer some constructive criticism on some aspects of the stay,

I found Greg helpful but felt that he was slightly intrusive in that he popped into the lodge a bit too often, a bit more privacy would have been appreciated.

Greg I realize that I should have mentioned this when I was at the lodge, but I found a cockroach in the bathroom, as well as my bedroom and in the kitchen, in otherwords throughout the lodge.

Instructions on how to use the grill would be helpful, as it is difficult to use if you don't know and easy if you do, as it just a matter of opening the oven door slightly.

Because of the solitude and wonderful setting at the foot of the mountain, this is a special place that I would like to return to, so hope that the problems above were an aberation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrikap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Greg, the owner is just about the most helpful and friendliest person you could ever hope to meet. Nothing was too much trouble - I was researching an Ancestor who supposedly founded the town back in 1870's era and he took the trouble to escort me round the town and show me buildings of interest and meet locals who knew even more about the history of the area than he did.
The room was the cleanest and most comfortable I have ever stayed in at this price level and puts a lot of very expensive hotels to shame.
Greg and his wife Linda obviously have great taste as well because the whole establishment, which rambles nicely, is decorated exquisitely. If there were 6 stars I would award them!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Greg, the very helpful owner of the Aroha Mountain Lodge has a number of different accommodation options available. We have stayed several times at the main building which is very nice, but for a week over Xmas we were after a two bedroom house with full kitchen. The goldminers was unavailable but Greg offered the Love Shack. It is a two bedroom standalone house 100m from the main lodge. It is a curious and odd little house with a hodge-podge of "styles" from the 40's to 70's! Some might not like it and may consider it a bit tired, but we really like staying in something a bit different. There aren't many places with saloon swing doors or curtains on the internal doors anymore! It suited our needs perfectly, the kitchen got a lot of use (in Te Aroha most restaurants also take a Xmas break), the washing machine was busy with the babies clothes, and we were comfortable and relaxed. Of course the fold out sofa is not very comfortable to sit on (but the beds in the bedrooms were comfortable) and a clothes dryer would probably be needed in winter, but if you want a bit more space, kitchen facilities and privacy to spend a bit more time in this lovely little town, then we recommend the Love Shack baby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_n_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Goldminers Cottage Te Aroha - Stayed for one night in the charming Goldminers cottage. Greeted by Greg in the same friendly and professional manner. The cottage has comfort, quiet setting, location and charm. It comes with a complete kitchen set up including a mini dishwasher which is a great asset esp in an old cottage.

Off street parking is provided and because your a street back from the main drag you do not receive any road noise. If you require more privacy then the Aroha Lodge then the cottage is for you as you have the entire place to yourself.

You can arrange to have breakfast made for you and brought down to the cottage if required. I love Te Aroha and this cottage is part of the charm of the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Quaint little town, great motel tucked away in a quiet street close to shops. Family run business that gives the personal touch. Well laid out runs, presented top a very high standard.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Just what we needed... quiet, clean and a great host!
James & Andrea

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wulf232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aroha Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Mountain Lodge

Property: Aroha Mountain Lodge
Address: 5-7 Boundary Street, Te Aroha 3320, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Te Aroha
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing