We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geordie hospitality in Oxfordshire”
Review of The Romany Inn

The Romany Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Romany Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Bampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It was the end of a long week and I was praying my digs would be half decent.

And to be fair....the village is very quaint and the pub was spot on.

Clean rooms...super comfortable bed and a decent pint at a reasonable price.

Food was decent and both landlady and landlord had a real good sense of humour too.

Just what I needed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank techywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We needed to take a night in a hotel close to Brize Norton because it was impossible to get a car or a train to anywhere at midnight. We weren't in the best of moods to be honest, but found the Romany Inn a very pleasant break, comfortable, great food, very friendly and helpful owners and a lovely old building. The rooms could probably do with a bit of a refresh, bathroom clean but tired, but we will be coming back again. Unless, that is, the RAF can arrange to time their departures and arrivals a little more conveniently for those of us whose journeys don't start and end at Brize Norton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

me and my wife have stayed there twice a bit dated but very clean and comfortable rooms the staff was helpful if some one said were to stay close to witney i choose there, taxi's are a bit expensive as no late buses from witney a good breakfast can't wait to go back in october.

Room Tip: ideal location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great little town and a good restaurant - the Biztrot. But the Romany was disappointing. The room was dirty - dusty tea cups, black mould on the window and shower. The beds were clean but you could feel the mattress springs as you tried to sleep. A spacious room, but old, tired and not clean.
The breakfast was 'full English' with tea or coffee, but no juice, cereal or refills of coffee or toast. Definitely wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just had a great meal for a bargain price - really warm welcome from informative friendly landlady and landlord. Wish we had found it earlier! Best mixed grill my hubby has had in a long time and my minted lamb was so tender - highly recommended. We had a look at the rooms too, they are clean and comfortable - good value for money too. Downtown Abbey scenery, cotswolds warm welcome and heritage - what more could you want. The Romany Inn can offer, corporate, wedding parties, cream teas, Sunday roasts, Steak nights, curries to name but a few, wish we had one on our doorstep :) Thank you we had a good night

Room Tip: Great value for money - good wholesome home cooked food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Romany Inn. Very warm and friendly welcome by landlord and landlady. Accomodation very comfortable and warm! Shower hot and overall very clean with everything you would need. Great location about 10 miles from Oxford Central. We had an evening meal which was an absolute bargain, also bar prices very reasonable. Landlord very friendly and helpful at suggesting where to go nearby. Would definately go back again. Breakfast was very good too and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Mike & Glynis the landlord and landlady, are the perfect couple with thier customers being thier number 1 priority. I stayed in this B&B for 10 nights and was treated very well, the rooms have everything you need. On my first morning to my horror the shower was freezing so i mentioned it to the landlord that morning after returning that afternoon they had replaced the shower, any problems not that there was anymore for me and they sort them straight away. The food is amazing Glynis should have been a pro chef the food was always hot and fresh and looked amazing and was very filling. it was like a home from home. i would recommend this to anyone either on thier own or with others i was alone there but was made to feel welcome by all.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for the rooms out the back rather than above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Wheelgate House Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
The Vines Bar Rooms
The Vines Bar Rooms
#2 of 4 in Bampton
109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manor Farm Barn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Romany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Romany Inn

Address: 3 Bridge Street, Bampton OX18 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Romany Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Romany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Romany Hotel Bampton
The Romany Inn Bampton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing