We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”

Restaurant La Rascasse
Ranked #15 of 57 Restaurants in Saint Florent
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Service and friendliness exceptional as was the food...I had the veal and my husband a home made burger, both were tasty and beautifully presented. A really enjoyable experience

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissKatbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    65
    20
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

My friend and I visited this restaurant on week beginning the 8th June 2014. To say it is a CREATIVE restaurant hits the nail right on the head because the only thing they can create is the Price! I had a small sea bass with mushy vegatables, awful, and my friend had roast chicken with new potatoes. Well, the sea bass was ok (you don't have to be a genious to cook a fish). My friends roast chicken was a diaster, it seemed to be pre-cooked and quite tasteless. The new potatoes, numbered two, although creativly cut in ridges were completely unedible and shrivlled up.
But it is when we requested our bill that the fun started. We waited and waited, and finally the rather rotund founder of this establishment produced it. He did not meet my eye and did not say a word. Perhaps we were not spending enough for his liking. The charge for this most awful meal was €79. The very small seabass was €35 on its own! What a joke. AND THATS NOT ALL ..WE WAITED FOR OUR CHANGE TO COME ...AND WAITED untill we were tired waiting and left.
It may be ok for some people who have more money than scense, but I would say don't waste your time. There is a brilliant restaurant a few doors away called CEASER, here the staff are cheerfull and serve brilliant food. Or try the best Auberge in town for fish, just up the road. But give La Rascasse a miss, beautiful St Florent deserves better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alanah988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Trendy and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our first night in Saint Florent was spent a La Rascasse, “a creative restaurant”. This place, on the water front, looked nice, trendy, with a menu to fit. Prices were a little steep, it seemed, but this was our first night on Corsica. We did not know yet that prices are quite steep everywhere.
We tasted a fish soup and fish carpaccio, both well executed. Wine was good (but here also goes that prices are steep (everywhere), even for local wines). Mains were good, a chicken stewed in beer and fish. I had sort of a ‘grand dessert’, which was nice but missable. Staff was very friendly, but there seemd to be too many present, which led to wine glasses being filled after about every sip. Bill totalled to 120 euros excluding tip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very detailed menu that I found hard to translate but all very tasty and well presented. Harbour front to watch the world go by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bettybookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose to go to the Rascasse Brasserie 137 which is on the ground floor below the main restaurant.The menu looked tempting and we decided to go for the set menu at 29 euros.

We started with the fish soup, one of our favourite starters. Certainly an attempt had been made to be creative for which the restaurant upstairs is famed but it didn't work for the fish soup which was brought in a tumbler covered in foam which looked more like a cappuccino. Only four croutons were supplied and a minimum of aoili.

The main course was even smaller. We had the signature rascasse which was served on a large plate with a small depression in the middle. It was in this depression we found our rascasse. Three mouthfuls later it was gone. Delicous maybe, but hardly satisfying.

It was at this point that I realised that there would be room for some cheese This was an extra 9 euros for which I received two thin almost translucent slices of cheese. The dessert, a chestnut confection, was tasty but again only a small portion.

We cannot complain about the creativity or the flavours but the small servings were not in our opinion compatible with brasserie style eating.

Service was only average with an exceptionally long wait for our bill and even longer for the machine to be brought to our table for a credit card payment..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Rascasse also viewed

Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
 
Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
 

Been to Restaurant La Rascasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing