We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Leopoldo(Castiglioncello)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Verde(Castiglioncello)
$189
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Guerrini Hotel(Castiglioncello)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
B&B Le Rondinelle(Castiglioncello)(Great Value!)
$108
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atlantico(Castiglioncello)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Villa Parisi(Castiglioncello)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tirreno(Castiglioncello)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pensione Signorini(Castiglioncello)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
53
148
80
50
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
148
80
50
38
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 369 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very old Hotel and very dated but pretext clean
Your shower is in the main bathroom with no shower or bathtub just a shower head next to the toilet and turn her on the drain is in the center of the bathroom floor and doesn't drain very quickly so you could need a snorkel !! Unique.
Get ready to walk up and down the stairs but as far as value it's very cheap for being on the ocean.
I came with a group of friends on a Mototour of Italy or I would have stayed somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thanks for posting your review on our hotel.
We are happy you have so much appreciated the breathtaking view over the crystal-clear sea of Quercetano Bay. We hope that this will make us forgive the small niggles you have found in our hotels, a beautiful early century Liberty villa that would require perhaps a little restyling.
From our hotel, overlooking the sea, you access the beach by a comfortable external staircase or by an internal lift.
Kindest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms with perfect seaview. They are rather basic and small.
Staff is friendly and helpfull. Especially mrs. Dona Morozzi is a charming and professional receptionist.
Breakfast is Italian and poor (plastic cups !).
It's a pity that the hotel has no chairs etc on the beach. You have to rent chairs and umbrellas on a nearby beachbar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Customer,

thank you for having published your review on our hotel. We are really happy you spent a very nice holiday.
We are glad that you fully appreciated the splendid location of our hotel, overlooking Quercetano Bay, and the splendid sea view enjoyed from all our rooms, but above all… what we put more passion in: the reception and care of our customers, unique and special, in a friendly but professional atmosphere (Donatella thank you really very much for the nomination!)
Our hotel, set in a unique cliff-top position , with direct access to the beach rocks by elevator or stairs, allows our guests both to stay on the beach free - in a not equipped area - or to rent umbrellas and sunbeds on the nearby Beach&Bar.
Hoping to meet you again, we send you our warmest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel's location is excellent, our room had a view on the below cliffs and the bay. The room was nice, and the staff was kind.

The hotel's restaurant was very good, with very nice personnel and wonderful fresh seafood.

Having read some reviews, I should add that all I heard at night was the sound of waves hitting the shore, and the staff spoke English and we received a breakfast usual in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sambor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Ryszka,
"thank you" from our staff for the wonderful review you have written about our hotel!
We are really happy you spent a very nice holiday. We are glad that you fully appreciated what we put more passion in: the reception and care of our customers, unique and special, the pleasures of Italian cooking, that can be enjoyed in our restaurant, the splendid location of our hotel overlooking Quercetano Bay.
Will you come back soon? We hope so. May your next stay be full of relax, culture, sunshine and baths, starry nights, but above all ... may your dreams be ever lulled by "the sound of waves hitting the shore." Thank you for this lovely and poetical picture...
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I generally like hotels with character and this is one of such places. Our room had a breathtaking view from the balcony and was clean and comfortable in general. The breakfast was light but dinner excellent. On the negative side there is a railroad quite close to the hotel and the occasional trains make some noise that could bother some people. I also don't think you should actually consider this hotel for a "beach vacation" even though there is a beach - the seabed seems rocky and water unclear.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kaljuorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thanks for posting your review on our hotel.
We are happy you have spent a very nice holiday, appreciating both the delights of our restaurant and the breathtaking view over the crystal-clear sea of Quercetano Bay.
We are really happy to announce that also this year the beach of Castiglioncello has been awarded with the Blue Flag: a very good reason to come back once again!
See you soon!
Kindest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

They really need to improve about almost everything, service is the worst, rooms are awful. I think I said enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damaris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Customer,
thank you very much for having posted your comments on our hotel. We apologize that your stay hasn’t been so good as expected. In particular, we regret that our staff, always so helpful and friendly, was up to your expectations. I apologize for this, assuring you for the future an increasing attention to the quality of our services. We firmly believe that any criticism is a starting point, a stimulus and incentive for all of us to get better and better and to engage with more passion and determination in our job.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews