We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny villa, we love you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in Villa L’Assolata for three nights in September.
The villa is not like any hotel or b&b.
If you want to feel like home, or how the family nest, or visiting good friends, then you should stay here . First of all, we were charmed by the hospitality of Catia, villa’s owner. Then we were amazed by the comfort and coziness. The rooms do not look like inanimate hotel rooms . They are decorated with heart and look as if they were specially prepared for you, and was just waiting for you here. The rooms are VERY cozy. There is a large bed, bedside tables, wardrobe, small cabinet for small items , bookshelfs , minibar. Each day features a bottle of fresh water. In the toilet roomthere is a large bathtub and everything you need for personal hygiene.
The villa consists of three floors descending to the sea, and the entrance is on the first floor . On the ground floor, apparently, lives Catia, and on the first floor you will find cozy and spacious rooms. Also on this floor there is a kitchen, a cozy lounge with comfortable armchairs and a sofa made out of the old boat, and the library. Here you can find maps and guides to Castiglioncello, Tuscany and the Etruscian coast. Here is the access to a spacious terrace overlooking the sea. On the terrace the legendary breakfasts are served (more on that later), also here you will always find fresh fruits, and from here you can get to the second floor - a huge open-air terrace with a stunning view of the entire Castiglioncello . Here you can spend the day sunbathing on the loungers , and the rest of the evening watching the sun set over the sea.
The villa itself is located on a small quiet street, going down along a small valley to the sea 20 meters away. To the left and to the right you will find the beaches: most of them are equipped, but there are a couple of free beaches, too. The center of Castiglioncello is in walking distance, just 5-7 minutes from villa. Almost above the villa there is a railway viaduct. Surprisingly, the railroad is not worried and does not interfere with sleep. We slept like marmots .
Now the most important .
The main attraction of the villa is it's breakfast. Every breakfast is a real tasting of a variety of home made dishes. We did not try breakfasts like these anywhere else in Europe, and in the whole world. Breakfast is not a buffet. You sit down at the table, and the presentation begins. Charming Dana brings you a change of course for the other, so there is not enough space on the table . We ordered the Tuscan breakfasts, and tried a variety of local dishes: cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, and much more. Each time the main course of breakfast is changing. This may be something simple but very tasty, like home made cheese omelet, or something, the name of which you can not remember, if you do not write it down. In addition to the main course there are served a large and beautifully decorated plate of local cold cuts and cheeses, delicious bread with tomatoes and olive oil, fruits, pastries, juice and tea or coffee.
We were very impressed with the comfort and the special home-like atmosphere in Villa L’Assolata.
Many, many thanks to Catia and Dana for the warm hospitality!
We will be happy to come back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catia G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

What can I say? ..... We are incredulous and for the nice words, but most of the detailed description and detailed memories printed in your heart ....
We remember with affection and really touched and flattered thank you with feeling.
Until we meet again .......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful friendly family run villa
Breakfasts fit for a king
Resort is high quality mainly Italians and suprisingly good value compared to other areas of Tuscany
This is a hidden gem
Will be returning asap

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davethedrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catia G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Beautiful ... fit for a king ... until you get to a gem ... and we particularly like this term, embedded as we feel in the green "gabbriccio" (green rocks) Tuscan.
We will wait and thanks again ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sadly we only had a one night stay as all rooms were taken.....I really cannot fault this accommodation,so tasteful and comfortable with adorable little details all over the house.... The breakfast was delicious,mostly home cooked....presentation,service,all excelllant,given by the lovely owner... If ever I'm lucky enough to return to this town,I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catia G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

If a single night we have made all these compliments imagine what to say for a longer stay.
Thank you and if you go back in our area we are waiting ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this nice place on our Tuscany trip in July 2013. It is located directly at the shore, equipped with two balconies and a superb view. Parking your car can take some time though.

We had a very charming, spacious room with a small balcony. It was always clean, sometimes even cleaned twice a day. The only 'negative' thing was the A/C that would sometimes be a bit noisy.

As many people before me have said, the service that Catia and Dana provide is wonderful. From the perfect breakfast with homemade pies, ricotta and marmelade to travel infos, they were always very nice and helpful.

Thank you very much!
Sabine & André

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine_To
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catia G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Not any more ... the coach has restored everything ....
but then transform the smell of the sea air conditions in a real pity!!
Anyway thanks for the company that we have done and the beautiful words written.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After finishing a project in Florence, I wanted to relax on one of the best spots on the Mediterranean Sea - Castiglioncello. Based on the good reviews, I booked ino the Villa l'Assolata for a bit over a week, at the end of June. Like all the other reviewers, I had an extremely good time and will definitely come back. I cannot stress enough how well this B&B is being kept and just mention a couple of points:
1. Rooms: Neat, coesy and most importantly with personality - mine had a balcony with side-sea-view, bathroom, a small library (Italian mostly) and was decorated very nicely. I slept very well in a huge and comfortable bed.
2. Beach-access: The B&B is really just next to the Sea, at around 30m distance. Access to the beach is easy, to the right there is one of the to-pay bath which is common in Italy and where one can rent sun beds. To the left, there are free sandy and rocky beaches, which turned out to be absolutely fine for my purposes, especially since the B&B has all those facilities (Sunbeds, umbrellas etc) by itself as described below.
3. Location: The B&B is located in a kind of a bay, so that when entering the beach the view is awesome, with rocks, cliffs and architecture. It is not part of the central hotel&shop area, and hence calm. Distance to the small supermarket and restaurants in Castiglioncello is a 5min walk. The train passes by on the side away from the sea, with enough distance so I did not notice it at all.
4. B&B facilities: The terrace is pretty, with a very good see-view. It is equipped with sun beds and chairs, here breakfast is served. I was sitting there quite often. There is another terrace on the roof of the building with a perfect view as well.
5. Breakfast: Excellent – on the terrace if the weather permits and a full selection of juices, sweets, bakery, fruits, homemade jam, etc. The choice for English breakfast is also given.
6. Service: Katia, who is running this B&B, is very professional and attentative. Ro oms were perfectly clean, often cleaned twice per day. Drinking water was also provided in a jar within the rooms. Katia was always helpful and provided me with umbrella, cutlery and even cooked dinner for me.
7. Castiglioncello: Well-hidden jewel on the Tuscan coast for a proper Italian holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pollinito G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catia G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

How not to blush responding to the wonderful judgments that a German researcher, timely and accurate, expresses to our facility and the services we offer.
Thank you and next time we will try to improve again.Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We planned to use this wonderful inn as a home base to explore the area. We stayed for four nights and outside several walks to town and the surrounding area, we enjoyed the terrace and the sun deck. Just relaxation and warmth. Katya and Dana were very welcoming and friendly. The inn is spotless and extremely cozy and the attention to the tiniest detail very evident. The location is perfect, just steps to the beach and a five minute walk to town. After being on a cruise of Greece and southern Italy with many tourists this was the perfect place to unwind. Castiglioncello is a beautiful spot quite undiscovered by the foreign masses. Many small restaurants. One place we especially liked was Il rinnegato a lovely wine bar with appetizers, just perfect for a lite dinner time snack buffet instead of a full meal in the evening. We can't say enough good things about Villa L'Assoletta......definitely a "sunny" spot!

Room Tip: We stayed in Columbia.wonderful balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catia G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie per le vostre belle parole di apprezzamento. Siete appena partiti e già ci mancate, con la vostra presenza quasi costante avevamo creato un feeling davvero speciale che ricorderemo con simpatia e dolcezza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in the Villa for 6 nights in September 2012.
1. Location: Villa located right on the sea shore, just a minute easy walk to an excellent sandy beach.
2. View: Absolutely amaizing sea view from a sun deck and terrace. You can enjoy a glass of a Tuscan vine and watch as sun goes down to the sea.
3. Service: Service in this place is very special. Catia and Stefania are very friendly, they make you feel like at home from your first minute here. They even pick us up at the traine station.
4. The place itself is absolutely clean and spotless and every detail is desined with a great taste.
5. Breakfast:. It is SO good , tasty and fresh. Tuscan cheese, salami, prosciutto, fresh fruits, yougurt and so on-you feel fool for the most part of the day.

We definitely going to be back in the years to come.In our opinion based on our travel experience this is simply the best place you can imagine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catia G, Direttore at Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks Andriy Natasha and today we received your photos and e-mail cove tell us your return to Canada.
If it's too cold for you instead of returning next summer we wait before ......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglioncello hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leopoldo
Hotel Leopoldo
#3 of 13 in Castiglioncello
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
#7 of 13 in Castiglioncello
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#5 of 13 in Castiglioncello
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#9 of 13 in Castiglioncello
49 reviews
1 mi away
Il Bersagliere
Il Bersagliere
#10 of 13 in Castiglioncello
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pensione Signorini
Hotel Pensione Signorini
#3 of 8 in Castiglioncello
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais

Address: Via del Quercetano 15, 57016 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglioncell...
Price Range: $129 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside villa with 5 bedrooms with bathroom decorated differently. Breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the sea with typical toscani. The villa overlooks the beautiful bay of Quercetano, sun terrace and sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa L'Assolata B&B Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing