We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No value for your money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“No value for your money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is strategically located, has an indoor pool which is convenient, however you can hear all that is goin on in the neighbouring rooms and bathrooms. The rooms are small with no practical surfaces to place your toiletries, computer, books, etc. i asked if they had a microwave oven to heat up my baby's food and they looked at me like i had asked for a golden dragon egg. Not worth the price they charge and we will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anncor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    93
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
65
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is split across 2 buildings. The first (main building) houses the reception, couple of seating areas/ rooms/ bar dining room, indoor swimming pool and some rooms (with lift access). The second houses more rooms, a conservatory and the outdoor swimming pool.

We stayed in the second building which is lovely. The only downside was that we were on the top floor (3 floors) and this meant climbing the stairs, as no lift in this building, so if you have young children or are less mobile make sure you are clear when booking.

The rooms are clean and spacious and some days we were the only people at the outdoor pool.

The village itself is small, but perfectly formed :). With some lovely restaurants, shops, bars and a few beaches (on which you will be charged approx 25 euros for 2 beds for a day).

Our 5 days here were just enough and I would recommend Castglioncello & Hotel Atlantico.

FYI - Castiglioncello is busier on the weekends as this seems to be a resort where the local Italians visit. Also train travel was cheap & easy :)

Room Tip: Make sure you do mention if you are unable to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was looking for a hotel on the coast near Pisa for a short stay to get over our flight from Australia. We run a cooking school in Lucca and it's important to get a few days R&R before diving into it. We had considered Cinque Terre but we had a car with a lot of luggage, plus wanted to be closer to Pisa Airport. After lots of research, I chose Castiglioncello and Hotel Atlantico and we were so pleased with our choice.
The hotel is lovely and the town is charming - it is a 5 minute walk to both sides of the penisula.
Senora Guiletta and her family & staff are most hospitable. Our room was spacious and opened onto a good sized terrace. The breakast choices were plentiful with a fresh OJ machine. WE ate dinner in the restaurant once. The primi pastas were homemade and very tasty. We weren't overwhelmed by the secondi. My husband's scalopinni with mozzarella was just that. A pale piece of meat smothered in melted cheese, no tomato sauce or anything else. However the service was good.
There is an outdoor pool, behind another building. The staff insisted on showing us how to get to it - takes two minutes and brought us drinks.
The indoor pool will make it a very desirable hotel in the chillier months.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were a group of 9 plus our local tour guide, Maria. We were met immediately by the concierge, Alessandro, who directed us to our villa in which we each were assigned a room. Our room was sufficiently roomy, for a European room, and very attractive. While the bathroom was a little small it was adequate and nice. The room we had was shiny clean and fresh. We were pleased to have a private balcony surrounded by big trees with table and chairs to relax in. The birds were wildly active and chirping all day long. The weather was great all week long. But best of all, the staff, from Alessandro to Signora Julietta, the owner, was all very accommodating and friendly. The foods served especially for dinner each night was delicious and we were offered great varieties. None of us was disappointed and nothing had to be sent back. Our pictures of this hotel came out lovely and we are proud to show them to our friends. This family-owned and run hotel was a delight to experience. Some reviews show there is no outdoor pool; we stayed in one of their villas closest to the square at the end of the block.and there definitely was an outdoor pool; I have pictures to prove it. Ask the staff where the outdoor pool is, they will direct you or let you know if it is off-limits. It is too bad some didn't see it.

Room Tip: Get Maria D'Arrigo of A Touch of Tuscany Tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Hotel Atlantico came across as quite a surprise. The service is outstanding, as well as the location. The hotel is family driven, which makes the atmosphere genuine and warm.

The rooms were okay. They are relatively well equipped with all essentials. However, the beds could have been somewhat better.

The breakfast doesn't offer much for those used to eating something steady. There is a wide selection of sweets and pastries, as well as excellent coffee.

The hotel has a spa section which is newly renovated. There doesn't exist an outdoor pool however, as some of the pictures might point out.

Overall this is a warm, friendly hotel with the most amazing staff I've ever met. The location couldn't have been better and neither could the town, Castiglioncello have been. This is a town where the locals go on vacation and it's far from the ungenuine boulevards of hotels and restaurants which you find on other more well-known locations. Not many people speek English which could be a bit troublesome, but at the same time very charmy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristianoLucarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Wonderful hotel with such a warm welcome - they could not do enough for us. The Atlantico is an old villa and has lovely decor and furnishings. It is in a lovely small town with several good restaurants. It is not the cheapest town to stay in, but it is lovely. The Atlantico is a short walk from the beach and has both indoor and outdoor pools. Castiglioncello has a good railway station where you can get a train to Rome or other places. All in all a great place

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for five nights between time spent in Nice and Rome.Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough - It's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful small town (Smashing beach is 3 minutes walk away).
Our room was spacious and the balcony was as large again. The owners / managers (a young couple) were friendly and extremely helpful in all matters.
The indoor pool was lovely and equally good was the outdoor pool next door.
We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast (which was fine) but there several fine restaurants minutes away.
We really enjoyed our stay here.
Only thing , we were puzzled as to why it wasn't a Four star.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jokerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglioncello hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Martini
Hotel Villa Martini
#1 of 13 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
#7 of 13 in Castiglioncello
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#4 of 13 in Castiglioncello
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leopoldo
Hotel Leopoldo
#5 of 13 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Parisi
Grand Hotel Villa Parisi
#3 of 13 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guerrini Hotel
Guerrini Hotel
#8 of 13 in Castiglioncello
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Via Diego Martelli 12, 57016 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel Castiglioncello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing