We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Matina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Matina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our holiday at the Matina, this being our 2nd year at the hotel. The staff at the Matina are superb and do everything they can to make your stay memorable. This year we noted the food in The hotels restaurant was exceptional and with a 10 percent discount for residents made great value. We were staying in room 615 which is on the top floor, this provides a partial sea view and also overlooks the pool. The only downside was sometimes there was noise late at night coming from the pool bar, which at 1am in the morning became annoying. The Matinas grounds are maintained to a high standard but we did notice this year that the pool and pool area did seem on some occasions need more effort.
Over the last 2 stays at the hotel I would on the whole say that the Matina offers great value for the price we have previously paid but having recently costed it up for next year through jet2 (Thomas Cook will not have representation anymore) it would be hard to justify the 30 percent price increase they are asking for, It seems this will be our last stay at the hotel and although we intend to return to Pefkos it will no longer be at the Matina.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank craigh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear craigh16,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us once again.

Please note, we are working with many more tour operators in 2015, not just Jet2 Holidays and many of these offer flights from the south of the UK as well as the option of booking directly with the hotel and arranging your own flights. We hope this helps solve your problems and enables you to return to our complex for your next holiday.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    258
    83
    20
    5
See reviews for
535
341
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed at the Matina from 13th-20th August 2014. Lovely place, location is perfect - by far the best in Pefkos as some of the apartments/hotels are up a very steep slope and we chatted to other holidaymakers who had spent 8 euros per taxi fare to get back and too to the restaurants and beach - the Matina is within a few minutes walk of the beautiful beach and the best restaurants. We stayed in room 812 which had an super view over the pools. The air conditioning is well worth the 45 euros you have to pay on arrival and operates efficiently and quietly and helps block out any outside noise (although this didn't appear to be an issue). Reception is well manned (24 hour) and happy to help with any requests. We arrived at 11.30ish on the Wednesday and were greeted in the car park by a member of staff who showed us the way to our room and informed us that the well stocked and reasonably priced supermarket would remain open until 1am for our convenience. The room was a good size, well presented and clean with the basic utensils and utilities required, lots of towels! We only ever had breakfast in the apartment. Plenty of sunbeds, brollys etc but we did get up about 8am and place a towel on the few remaining available ones. Pool side is clean and well maintained. Peoples bar offers table service and a good menu, food of a good standard. We spent most of our holiday on Lee Beach and ate most lunches at the Lees Beach Bar - highly recommended, try the prawn saganaki and calamari - salads are excellent . The beach is very well maintained and the sea is sometimes flat and calm and other days quite wavy, fun on a lilo! and always warm. We ate out every evening and split our time between Kyma (above Lees Beach Bar and run by the same family), Philosophia (walk down the beach and climb the steps to reach it - amazing views and excellent food) and lastly but most enjoyable Dama Dama, again a family run restaurant with excellent food, service and atmosphere - chicken with shrimps and seafood sauce was a particular favourite. Always pre-book your table the day before. All the menus are similar with the chicken souvlaki, fillet mignons in mustard and cream sauce and lamb cutlets being our favourites. Service at these three establishments was fast and the food excellent but I believe that was not the case in some of the cheaper restaurants with fellow holidaymakers having to wait over an hour between courses. We never had a bad meal and were made very welcome. The wine was best at Kyma. Typical lunch costs for three - 30-35 euros, Dinner 70-76 euros. We pre-booked a 3 bay cruise on the Glass Bottom Boat and it is a great experience and would definitely recommend - the swim stop was a high point. We were able to hold onto our room until 6pm on the night of departure (7pm) for 25 euros and this made the end of our holiday a stress free experience and meant we got to enjoy every last minute of the very hot sunshine. Transfers were impeccable (1 hour on arrival and 1.5 on departure - air conditioned coach). We had a fab holiday and can't report fault on any aspect. Would heartily recommend this hotel and would definitely re-visit.

Room Tip: Room 812 was on the first floor level and offered good views, sunny in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Gill J,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you had such an exceptional stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Have just returned from our second stay at the Matina. We stayed with our three children, aged 7, 9 and 12. The location is amazing being no more than 100m from the beach. We stayed in a one bedroom appt. which was plenty big enough for our family of five. It was clean when we arrived, there is a fridge, two cooking rings, toaster and microwave (no oven) and kettle. We stayed in one of the older blocks but i was glad of this, we had an amazing balcony, which ran the length of the appartment (about 3 M by 5 M) with a great view, as a result we were able to eat on the balcony in the evenings watching the sun setting. However not all balconies are this large, but in the older blocks all the end of row appartments have great balconies. We found the staff, whether reception staff, supermarket or bar staff to be very friendly and helpful. There are now two pool areas, both of which have seperate shallow pools for young children, there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and both pool bars are great and there is a friendly atmosphere around the pools. The new bar and restaurant are both really lovely. The only slight downside for us is that we felt the quality of cleaning was not quite as good as when we had stayed eight years ago (it was ok, just not brilliant) In addition we felt that the evening atmosphere around the bar was better eight years ago. We don't really go for the entertainment, but the children usually drag us there. Previously the entertainment was low key but very good - a greek night etc, we found the two young girls there now a bit club 18 - 30 's and thus we tended to avoid the Matina bar in the evenings. But I guess that depends on what you like. However this did not effect the holiday and i would certainly recommend the Matina as a great place to stay.

Pefkos is a lovely place, clean and tidy with plenty of places to eat and buy food. The beach is great, especially for younger children as it's a sandy beach. When we were there it was 8 euros for two sunbeds and an umbrella for the day. There are two beach bars - Flyers and lee beach. Both are great. we only ate in Lee Beach however, the day menu there is great, the food lovely and great value for the money. I have to say the food here is slightly better than at the people's bar in the Matina. The Kyma (attached to Lee Beach) is an amazing place to eat at night, great views, friendly service and fantastic food. We also really enjoyed eating at the Greek House opposite the Matina - waiters were so friendly and great fun. Our absolute favourite however and a must when visiting Pefkos is the Philosophia - brilliant views, rustic and outstanding food and away from the other bars. (Kyma and Philosophia are slightly more expensive than some of the other places, but the food really is good and well worth it). We also went on a few day trips. We took the free bus to the waterpark which was a great day out. We booked the lazyday cruise through Pallas travel and this was brilliant. The boat was small and friendly, the owners were absolutely lovely, stopped in many different places, the kids thoroughly enjoyed jumping off the boat ( i would only recommend this trip with children if your children are confident in the water,). For lunch it stops in Charaki (Haraki) - a beautiful little bay with an amazing little taverna in the centre of the bay which was reasonably priced and had lovely food. We also got a taxi to Lindos and walked upto the acropois - great views and worth the walk, no need for a donkey it really isn't that far (not suitable for a push chair though).
If you are looking for somewhere very quiet - then Pefkos is not the place for you any more - (try charaki or Stegna - the larger companies don't go to these places though), However Pefkos is still a family friendly resort that is busy enough for older teenagers. I am slightly afraid that Pefkos is beginning to become a bit too neon lighty and loud (compared to 2007), however we still had a great family holiday, great weather and overall a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the older block in the first row (i think 200's and 300's) on the first floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjanem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear sjanem10,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found that your room was of a great size.

We have made a note about your comments regarding the cleaning and can assure that this issue will be resolved so hopefully there will be no future comments on this matter.

It's great to hear you made the most of your stay in Pefkos.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Well after returning year after year the Matina continues to grow but still has that family feel about the place.
We stayed in block 8 and everything was good.
Amy and michelle so helpful and go above and beyond to accomodate and help.
Stergos and Mark continue to keep the pool bar a place where you can enjoy a drink and a good laugh
Valentina is the people's bar jewell she was fantastic when we booked 19 for lunch for birthday celebration
My only negative comment would be that from now if you want a 1 bed appartment in the new block it has to be booked via jet two and as we live in Kent that is impossible for us
After so many years returning I just feel that loyal customers should not be restricted as to where they can stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOONWALKER2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear MOONWALKER2012,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, and will be returning in the future.

The 1-Bedroom Apartments in Blocks 08 and 09 are actually now a separate room type to the Standard 1-Bedroom Apartments as they have 2 bathrooms, and they are all on a contract with Jet2 Holidays.

Overall, we are pleased you had a great time.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have just got back and we are gutted. We had a fantastic time on our honeymoon at the Matina with our little girl aged 3.
Reet, Heres the reasons why...
1. The hotel staff on reception are really quick to get you sorted and into your rooms so no silly waiting in the reception to check in after travelling for what feels like days.
2. The rooms are basic but very clean and are cleaned 6 days a week.
3. You dont have to be up at "daft o'clock" to get a sun bed as there are plenty beds with sun brollys and they are well positioned (so none are useless as they have been at previous hotels I have stayed in.) There are also 2 large pools and a kids pool...happy days!
4. All the STAFF are unbelievable, especially Mark who runs the Matina Bar and April and Abbey who run the entertainment both day and night...They went above and beyond with everyone who was there especially those who had young children, like us. They are an absolute credit to the hotel.
5. The beach is about a 2 min walk and what a beach it is...spotlessly clean as regards rubbish, clear waters and loads of sunbeds and brollys so you can get one at whatever time you get there and are priced at 4euros a bed which is better that most places we have been.
We could go on but I reckon you've got our drift. It's the best holiday we have ever been on and we will definatly be going back next year...10/10.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallgatemod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear wallgatemod,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especially as it was a special occasion for you.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Have just returned from our 4th stay at Matina and it was as brilliant as ever. Ordered some shopping before we arrived so we could have a cup of tea in the morning, what a great service. Plenty of sunbeds so no mad dash in the mornings, just as well after a few late ones at Marks bar on the way back each night. We stayed in block 5, the rooms are large and were cleaned 6 days a week, always nice to come back to after a hard days sun bathing. April and Abbey did a great job with the entertainment both throughout the day and evening. We ate at Meltemi a number of times, every meal was fantastic. Cant wait to go back again next year. Thank you to all at Matina for another fab holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jane S,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you enjoyed another stay with us at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel.

It's great to hear you used our online shopping service and made the most of our facilities.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

What can i say..........from start to finish - a fantastic holiday and a fantastic place to stay. We were in a one bedroom apartment and it was lovely to say the least, shopping ordered on line and was delivered and packed away in the fridge for when we arrived! Rooms lovely and clean and all of the staff were great, always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Definately booking again for next year.....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sarah M,

Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our online shopping system a good help.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#8 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Property: Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing