We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, excellent customer service.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

and I sleep better here than I do in my own bed at home. I feel totally relaxed as soon as I arrive. The food is delicious. Stergos and Mark are great. Amy and Bev on reception are always friendly and have time to chat even though they're very busy. All the staff work very hard to make sure you have a good holiday. Stephanos, the manager, will stop and chat asking if you're enjoying your holiday. The quizzes in peoples bar are good fun. There's two large swimming pools and plenty of sunbeds. We spend most days round the pool as there is a lovely breeze and have lunch at the bar. Tuna salad, pizza, jacket potatoes, chicken and chips, greek omelette, gyros platter for two ...mmmmmm yum yum. Let the countdown begin!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aphrodite_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Aphrodite_10,

Many thanks for another fantastic review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you this year, and in many years to come.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
There are newer reviews for Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

After another wonderful holiday in the Matina last July, we are returning again in June for our eighth time, fourth time in a row. If you are reading this and considering the Matina then I think that says all you need to know, oh, and get moving cos it books up quickly. Although there are lots of repeat visitors, all new visitors are treated just as warmly, probably why they then become repeat visitors themselves. It is the most wonderful apart hotel, in the most wonderful spot with the most wonderful staff we have ever stayed in, and I have travelled in Greece since I was a student. Just go and see for yourself !

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harganclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Harganclan,

A huge thank you for taking the time to post another great review. It means a lot to us that our customers return year after year for another hopefully enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you in Summer 2013.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Matina in October 2012 as we have done every year since 1999. We love it so much we have tried an extra break in July for a few years as well.
We found last October to be the hottest we have ever experienced at that time of year ever, just great in our opinion,
In response to lobster123, I have never ever heard of anyone with sickness or "runs" due to anyting eaten in resort....my husband one year came with it after a bad experience in a hotel in UK night before the flight. I, myself last year had bronchitis and could be heard all round the complex coughing.
The staff are just great, all take the time to speak or chat to you making us all feel like part of the family (Its like anywhere, if you are new, you may not be noticed in the ever increasing crowd of repeat visitors)
We tend to keep to ourselves or a small quiet group around the pool, never having been ones to like large noisy groups, sometimes this happens nowadays with the huge wedding parties now booking, but hopefully this will not detract from our quiet holiday.
We eat Greek cuisine in all restaurants in Pefkos for the entire 2 week stay, but if you wish to stay British and not try the food there are plenty of places offering the "chips and cheese brigade" with their staple diet.
Always recommending this place and many friends have taken it up and loved it too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br0dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Br0dick,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It's great to hear you had so many fantastic stays with us and we hope for many, many more.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here last June for a week with 3 of my friends. We were put in a large room with a lovely view of the pool and sea. Was really impressed with this hotel, the pools were lovely, always clean and not too busy due to the time of year we went. The room was always kept really tidy and towels and bedding changed regularly. The staff were also really friendly and made you feel welcome from the minute you arrived. I'd definitely recommend the Greek night they do as well, for around 10-15 euros they put on a large spread of traditional Greek food and have entertainment as well. The only criticism I'd have of the holiday was that Pefkos was a little quiet at night time but this is no reflection on the hotel at all. Would definitely go again but probably with my partner or family instead.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SazBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear SazBroughton,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed taking part in our Greek Night!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here back in October. We were given a one bedroom apartment in block 3 (old block), we were disappointed with the room because this is not what is advertised on Matina's own website or in Thomas Cooks holiday brochure. I think they should put pictures of the old rooms instead of the top quality ones because 80% of people who book will not actually get the opportunity to stay in these. The old block rooms are certainly not 3* standard either, 2* at the most so beware of this when booking.

The room itself was spacious and the kitchen was well equipped, however the bathroom could have really done with an overall, every time we had a shower or bath water came up through the drain in the floor flooding the bathroom and the mattresses were like bricks. If i had paid for a 2* i wouldn't have been bothered but i hadn't. I have stayed on many Greek islands and as a comparison the hotel just didn't compete with other 3* accommodation i have stayed in. We did experience both cockroaches and ants but this is to be expected in a hot country.

The hotel facilities were average. The play area could really do with some maintenance, the play equipment is falling apart and the trampoline needs skipping, ideally. We found the children's pool to be best of a bad bunch when it came to cleanliness, there was so much chlorine in one of the pools that we didn't go in it. The supermarket was well equipped but expensive compared to other mini-markets in Pefkos. The restaurants were ok and reasonable priced. We were also disappointed by the lack of entertainment, a quiz three times a week just doesn't cut it, a Greek night would have been most welcome.

Stergos was amazing, the best thing about this hotel, the British receptionist seemed fantastic with all her returning/repeat guests but a little more hostile with the first timers. I personally didn't find her helpful or friendly, in fact at times i found her to be quite rude.

Pefkos itself lacks all the traditional Greek hospitality, there was no bread served before meals or complementary rakki served after, there is however plenty of restaurants offering 3 courses for 10 euro's, which is terrible quality. We have been to numerous Greek islands but nothing compared to our experience here and not in a good way. So many people we had spoken to had experience some sort of sickness or diarrhea, me included.

If you are looking for little Britain holiday with all those English things thrown in, then this is a perfect place to go. I can really see why a women compared this hotel to butlins, although it was quiet when we went, in high season this would quite frankly be my worst nightmare.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lobster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear lobster123,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your October stay with us. We can only apologise for the fact that you didn't fully enjoy your stay at Matina Aparthotel.

With regards to the room you were allocated in Block 3, we have only 4 1-Bedroom Apartments in our complex with a sea view - one of these being your very room. All of our rooms are of a 3* standard, you refer to our 2 blocks which were built more recently than the original buildings - they may be of newer materials, but as I mentioned, all our rooms are of a 3* standard.

The photographs shown on the Thomas Cook website include a Studio from Block 8 (Please note, a studio sleeping 3 - not a 1-Bedroom Apartment sleeping 4), and also a room from Block 1 which is our first and oldest block in the hotel. The note that you cannot tell a difference, hereby shows that our rooms are of the same standard.

We hope that you reported all problems you experienced and I am sure they were quickly resolved by our maintenance staff.

Please note that our swimming pools have the correct amount of chlorine and are checked on a daily basis, and also by officials to ensure we are providing a safe and clean swimming environment for our guests.

We apologise if you found our staff to be unhelpful, if you see other reviews you will see that this is not representative of our usual service.

We hope that you would return to Pefkos and give the Matina another try as we want all our guests to leave satisfied that they've experienced an unforgettable holiday for all the right reasons.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Matina in June 2012 and had an amazing time! The location is ideal and the rooms are big, clean and well equipped. Pefkos is beautiful and we are looking forward to our next visit already... The little ones had a brilliant time and made loads of new friends. Thanks to all the team at the Matina for a brilliant holiday... Particular thanks to Costas and Stergos at the restaurant, Meltemi for a great job, food is great and reasonably priced...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GEORGE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Geo T,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

It's lovely to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and also that you enjoyed our food in our on-site restaurant and found our customer service to be good too.

We hope to welcome you back in the summers to come.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

fantastic fantastic fantastic this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at for rooms for the rating, can't fault a thing, great for couples, friends and families, If we ever return to Rhodes Pefkos there is no doubt we would be booking here again, great people, value for money, for what you get, close to beach, good stocked shop,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayne-phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear jayne-phil,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: $33 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing