We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matina the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
warrington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Matina the best”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have just returned from 2nd visit to Matina .Was the best again, just wish had stayed for two weeks like we did last year.We took my brother for a break havin had a pacemaker fitted. We were in a one bedroomed apartment room 502 which was the best ,right near the pool. Everything about Matina we love , Stergos and Mark just a joy at the poolside bar. Was so relaxing We love the food at restaurant had lovely meal there.We do like to try all the restaurants which is a lovely walk to many. We will be returning again is our favourite place ever in Greece. Only thing was missing was Amy who want to say many thanks for a great room.

Room Tip: great having a room with sun late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear pauline019,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a fantastic review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us yet again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summers to come.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    263
    86
    21
    5
See reviews for
544
348
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a one bedroom apartment with 2 single beds in lounge area which was partitioned from kitchen area. Good size rooms but had to share one wardrobe between 4 adults, however plenty of hangers. Bedroom had bathroom with bath and shower, sink and loo and lounge had shower room with sink and loo which was brilliant for 2 teenage daughters!

We were in the 'new' block which was very modern, clean and spacious with very good cooking utensils and large fridge/freezer but only 2 rings to cook. The large balcony overlooked the pool and was accessed from bedroom and lounge and nicely furnished with seating for 4.

However we were sandwiched between 2 bars 'Matina' and 'Peoples' (not all are) and the LOUD and LATE night music, karaoke, quizzes and various turns were horrendous for bores like us who like to turn in early. Sometimes there was entertainment in both bars at the same time and it was impossible to sleep. Our apartment (911) was next to the kitchen of the Matina bar and the a/c was very annoying first thing on a morning.

Food available from these bars was very varied, really good and very reasonably priced indeed. Matina supermarket next door sold all the essentials but not a great variety to cook if you wanted to - large bottled water 1.90 euros compared to 1.00 euro in Canaries.

Matina apartments are 2 minutes from the lovely breezy beach but you need to get down there early as beach is taken by sunbeds and sunbeds are taken by earlybirds! (2 beds and brolley cost 8.00 euros per day)

Would stay here again if reservations could quarantee us the furthest apartment from the bars.
We really enjoyed our stay but it was nice to get home and have a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Some top floor apartments had views of the sea and coast line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Vicki L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall.

Both our bars do hold entertainment on varying nights, and, by law, all our music and entertainment finishes at midnight. We are sorry that you found the level of noise to be high, and please do e-mail us prior to your next stay with your rooming request to be located in a room away from our bars. We do our very best to meet all rooming requests.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Have just returned from 8th visit to Matina, this year we stayed in block 8 in a one bedroom apartment which was super with two bathrooms, good kitchen area and large balcony. The only complaint was the noise some early mornings from Peoples Bar, still we could catch up on lost sleep on sunbeds during day. The staff as usual were very friendly and helpful. Stergos was his usual happy go lucky self. We mostly ate at Zorbas but did go to Meltimi a couple of times also Oasis and as usual drank in Fuse Bar.

Room Tip: New blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeskiHoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear DianeskiHoram

Thank you for taking time to post a review on here.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry that the noise from the bar disturbed you during night. We hope that this wont put you off visiting us again in the future.

kind regards

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my family have been staying in the Matina and they have never failed to dissapoint. From lovely bar staff to the most pleasent rooms, they never fail to dissapoint. This year, it was out 5th annual stay at the Matina, and it was definitley amazing. We stayed for a two week period (1st August - 14th August 2012) and by lord was it not enough! We have alot of friends we meet up with at the Matina, and some of them stayed in what we call "The New Bit",- these are the new set of apartments they had put in palce a couple of years ago, aswell as another pool and a bar, casually name "People's Bar". We visited a couple of room and believed that next year we would be more comfortable in these rooms. The room we was 818! We especially enjoyed our stay at Matina, and enjoyed speaking to Stergos, Bev, Amy, Matina herself and her son(Manager) Stephanos. They were all lovely, welcoming and know us too well!

Love the stay and cant wait for the 7th August 2013! Bring it on

Ben Spratling - 14

Room Tip: Ask for the "New Bit" if you would like a more modern room, the staff will know what you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjaminspratling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Benjaminspratling

Thank you for taking time to post a review on here.

We are glad you enjoyed your 5th visit to us and look forward to seeing you next August.

Kind Regards

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The apartments should be rated separately, the old blocks are 2 star at best with new blocks probably 3 star, you could chose and pay accordingly. We were put in 404, a ground floor room infested with ants, on complaining we were give the key for 419, a much nicer second floor apartment. Everyone seems to love these apartments and the staff, the apartments are average and the staff were pleasant on the very few occasions I had dealings with them. The resort is more for older couples rather than families, the only entertainment in any of the bars is Sky Sports!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Dorothy P,

We would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are sorry that you did not like the look of the first room you were allocated, however please note that all rooms in our complex are of a 3* standard.

We are disappointed you feel our hotel is 'overrated' and we hope that we can welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak.Derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from our 2 weeks stay at the Matina. This was our 7th time there. Once again we Had a lovely time there, Just a couple of little niggles this time. We stayed in a studio room 102. Quite spacious ,but was looking a bit tired. The toilet cistern top was broken when we arrived It had obviously been reported previously as someone had tried to patch it up ,not very successfully
We reported it to reception ,but it was not repaired during our stay. We also thought the cleaning was not up to the usual standard,the cleaners never appeared to be very happy,not like the ones we have had in the past.. Bev on reception,was as always lovely & friendly,very efficient ,a great asset to the Matina,as is Stergos,he always remembers your names We ate twice at the Meltemi good food & great service from Stergos & his Team Will certainly return to the matina again in the near future Great location ,almost on the beach,& central for the bars & restaurants,but please don't let your very high standards slip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear jeanybabe

First of all thank you for taking time to post a review on here.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us yet again.

We are sorry to hear that your toilet wasnt repaired after you reported it and that the cleaners were not up to their usually standard. I will certainly look into both these matters.

We hope you will be back soon for your 8th visit.

Kind regards
Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our first stay was two years ago, and we were delighted to return. We had apartment 506, down half a dozen steps, with a patio at the front (where I was more than happy to write). Apartment very clean and quiet, cleaners very efficient (and once left flowers on the change of linen). The nearness to the beach is a great advantage too. Bev and her colleagues as friendly as ever. We look forward to another return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Ramsey C,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review.

We are pleased you enjoyed another stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the summers to come.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#10 of 34 in Pefkos
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Property: Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing