We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but in the middle of British tourist town”
Review of Pefkos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pefkos Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel but in the middle of British tourist town”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We have just returned from our holiday in Rhodes and had a great time at the Pefkos Beach Hotel. The room was clean, spatious and well equipped. The view from the balcony was fantastic (sea view). The staff at reception were nice and very helpful whenever we asked them anything. The hotel also has 3 pools and a couple of pool bars so even when it is busy there is plenty of room for everyone.

However it is located on quite a steep hill which probably isn't for everyone. Also the area is dominated by British tourists so it feels a bit more like little England than Greece after a few days! Finally it is expensive to get to and from the airport as your only real choice is by taxi (£66 each way).

Overall this is a good hotel that offers great value for money. If I went back to Rhodes I probably wouldn't go to Pefkos again but if I did I would choose this hotel again over the ones in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMattingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    225
    51
    12
    4
See reviews for
292
408
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Having read the reviews of this hotel, i was not sure that it would live up to the great comments.... it did. The staff in Reception, the Pool Bar and Restaurant were all freindly, polite and helpful. The accommodation was clear ( cleaned daily with regular bedding and towel changes) and roomy. The areas around all three pools were kept clean and as we visited in early September, there was no issues in getting sunbed's.
The Pool Bar and Restaurant served good quality and competatively priced food.#
Overall we had a fantastic stay, having previously visited Pefkos, we knew we liked the resort, this accommodation made the holiday even more special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the Pefkos Beach Hotel for 10 days during Aug/Sept.
We were very impressed with our room, they were really well cleaned everyday, were nicely decorated and had everything necessary for a self catering apartment - we were also lucky enough to have a good view from the balcony which was also spacious.
This was the most positive aspect of the hotel however. As previous reviews have stated, during our stay every sun-bed was covered with a towel by about 9am, and on many occasions these beds were never used, it was very frustrating to see this happen every day, especially when people were walking around looking for spare beds. The beds were about four deep along side the main pool, and this meant the pool was always very crowded, this also applied to the second pool - they just weren't big enough for the number of guests. I would say not to be fooled by pictures of the Pool's on the Internet, they just aren't that big at all.
These factors ensured that we didn't spend anytime at the pool, but were lucky enough to find a lovely pool (Amithea Cocktail bar) on the road which lead to the beach, the sun-beds were free, the pool lovely and peaceful, and the staff friendly. I have no critisism of the staff at the hotel, I just feel that they could monitor this situation a little better to suit their own guests.

Pefkos itself as a resort is purpose built, but isn't unattractive in anyway, it is very family orientated and has enough restaurants and bars to keep people happy, it is however a very, very English resort. The majority of the bars show ALL football/rugby matches, and most bars only play 80's/early 90's music. I do think that it is a great resort for families/teenagers as everything is close together, and the bars target these people. Of the restaurants we ate in, I would rate Nostalgia as the best in Pefkos, the food was always really well cooked, and tasted great, it was also good value for us as guests at hotel receive a 10 - 20% discount depending on what time they eat.

If you are looking for a slightly more authentic location, Lindos, which is a 10 minute taxi drive away (8 Euros) is such a lovely place, it has winding streets, really lovely rooftop restaurants, and also great bars. It has a lot of character. During the day, the beaches are just stunning, and there is also the option of exploring the Acropolis if it isn't too hot. With hindsight I wish I would have known more about Lindos and what was there as we would have probably enjoyed this location, I have however been told that Lindos is very expensive to stay in, which may explain Pefkos' popularity due to its close proximity to Lindos.

To summarise, I would recommend the Pefkos Beach hotel if you are happy to spend time at a very crowded pool, and have no issues staying in a very English resort, but if you are looking for a little more authenticity, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Lindos, it was one of the prettiest place I have been to, and appeared to have everything.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AIOflette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My family and I (parents with adult children) have just returned from a week's holiday in Pefkos and my main impression is it was HOT HOT HOT! It was 45 degrees C in Pefkos in the day according to the reception staff and it doesn't get much cooler at night.

The apartments we were given were half way up the hillside (No 160 and 161) and they were on the first floor at the back of the block of about ten apartments. At first we were disappointed with the location as neither room had a view. 160 had a large fig tree blocking what would have been a mountain view and 161 only had only a view up to other apartments. Being so sheltered though actually turned out to be a godsend as the balconies were nicely shaded in the afternoon and gave slight rest bite from the heat of the sun.

The apartments themselves were very clean and a maid visited daily emptying the poo bin and doing the beds. Cooking facilities were extremely lacking for true self catering with only a double hob top, fridge, toaster, sink and kettle but who wants to be cooking when such lovely food can be had in the local tavernas.

The best place to eat by far was the Nikolas restaurant as recommended in other reviews on here. It's a leisurely 10 minute walk heading left out of the hotel gates along the road out of town.

The staff around the complex were all very friendly and Anthula and the other reception workers were always helpful and at hand if needed.

We didn't really use the pools much but there is one large pool with a small bar and two other quieter mini pools by the Nostalgia bar all having ample loungers for sun worshipers. There is a lovely shady sitting area between the pools where it's nice to get a frappe and ice cream and just chill seemingly at any time of day or night.

The beach is 10 minutes down a gently sloping road with bars and mini supermarkets either side. Along here you'll find the Zorba coach tour company which are very reasonable and has very friendly staff. Don't be conned by your travel rep they seem to be at least twice the price of Zorbas. The beach is sandy with loungers and parasols spanning the sand. These are priced at 8 Euros a day for two loungers and one parasol but get down before 10am as you will struggle to get one any later.

The sea was lovely and warm but there are some rocks in the water at the point where the steps go down onto the beach. One of our party got stung on the leg by some rock dwelling creature on the first day so on subsequent days we walked down along the beach to the left of the steps. Passing the shower by the steps, once you get to the second shower and a wooden shack, the sea is rock free and sandy.

The walk back up to the hotel complex was quite a struggle in the heat of the day but stopping or going into a shop every hundred metres breaks it up enough to get back to your apartment alive.

We did the evening trip to Rhodes town through Zorbas and the Scenic South tour both of which I'd recommend, Rhodes old town and Prasonisi being the highlights. We got a taxi into Lindos (8 Euros each way) and walked up to the acropolis (be careful as there are some very slippery steps - wear sensible shoes!). Entry is 6 Euros but we arrived too late to go in as it shuts around 8pm.

I would recommend the Pefkos Beach Hotel but I would also recommend going there in either May or September as Rhodes is very hot in August and that does somewhat limit what you can do in the day as even walking is a real struggle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMoranFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We have just returned from a two week stay. The hotel is absolutely amazing. There are three receptionists who cover the hotel 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and all are friendly and really helpful. Our room (204) was spacious and modern and was cleaned to a very high standard. The room is right next to the pools, but there was no loud music after 12 - but your on holiday, why would you be in before then anyway!! The staff in Nostalgia restaurant and the Palm bar attached to the hotel are also really friendly.

There are some downsides to the hotel. The air conditioning is expensive. For our two bed apartment it cost us 220 Euros for the two weeks, the safety deposit box was a further 30 Euros. However, if you know about this before you go you can at least budget for it. The only other problem is the sunbeds. If you are up after 9 o'clock in peak season you can forget about getting one! However, you will note that even though every sun bed has a towel on at that time, there is usually nobody there. There is a sign in reception asking people not to do this, but nobody takes any notice.

This sunbed problem however can make your holiday, as you have to go out and explore Pefkos. There are at least 7 or 8 Pool Bars that we found where you can go all day, and the sunbeds are free. Our favourite of these was Kelari bar which is about half way between the hotel and the beach. If you prefer the sea, then Pefkos beach which is no more than a gentle 10 minute stroll away is gorgeous, and perfect for kids.

Nightimes are also brilliant. Every single place we went to eat served amazing food. For a family of four including drinks you probably need to budget between 40 and 50 Euros for a meal. Nostalgia at the hotel was one of the best we found, but we didnt have a bad meal for the whole two weeks, and we tried many different places. We found the best places at night to be down the main beach road - Fuse bar and again Kelari bar being our two favourites. Dont be tempted by the flashing lights at Eclipse or the Rock Bar though unless you dont mind drinking watered down rubbish beer. Drinks tend to be between 2.50Euros and 3.50Euros for a large Mythos, and the soft drinks about 2 Euros, so it is about the same as UK, maybe even a little more expensive.

For trips we would recommend one of the several tour operators in the resort, rather than the rep in the hotel as it works out a lot cheaper. However to visit Lindos, and the Acropolis in particular, will only cost 8 Euros each way in a taxi and 6euros each to go to the top of the Acropolis - but wait until early evening if you can. We went up at 5pm and it was still 50degrees up there!! Anywhere further than Lindos though and the taxis become a bit expensive. To go to Rhodes town for example was 58Euros each way so you are better off going on one of the organised trip. We went at night but only got 4 hours there as we were dropped off about 7:45 and picked up at midnight.

I have noted some of the other comments on previous posts about it being too British. I can see the point - if you are looking for a genuine Greek experience, this is probably not the place to be, but for families or people looking for a relaxing time with some of the friendliest people you could ever meet Pefkos, and the Pefkos Beach Hotel fit the bill perfectly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

we have been to pefkos 3 years in a row but this is our first time at pefkos beach ,when we arrived we were greeted by a nice male receptionist who allocated our rooms ,we were very disappointed where we were situated which was right at the top of the hill ,down two flights of steps, when we got in the room there was a large terrace balcony with no view except a shrub growing around the balcony .we were a family with 2 children one of which was in a pushchair which proved to be very difficult with the step situation,because we had booked as a family of five and my father in law had came with us the only rooms which slept twos and threes were at the top of the hill and rooms which slept fours were at the bottom around the pool,so be aware if travelling in large family groups or odd numbers you may well have a long way to walk ,although there was a cable car to get to the top of the hill it was still quite hard work to get to our rooms ,also great if you love cats which ididnt but if not, beware they try to come in your room and are basically pests around your balcony if on the lower floors.The positive side to this hotel is that the food is fantastic with two great daytime barmen who are really good with the kids and will do anything for you to make sure you have a good holiday.i must say overall a really great hotel with a good atmosphere but beware of the special treatment that is given to guests who return year after year as they get to choose their room and sunbed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnastaffs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Pefkos Beach hotel is near one end of the main street and basically has everything you need close at hand- restaurant, pool bar, supermarket, swimming pools, internet access, etc.
The hotel is built on a slope so there may be some short but steep walking to your room.
The Greek staff are very hard working and very friendly, all seem to speak excellent english. Rooms are cleaned everyday except Sunday.
The only down sides are cost of air con- 55 euros a week, and you need it as we had tempertures in high 30's to low 40's for 2 weeks, and it only works if you are in the room. Extending the room to 6pm is 35 euros and safety deposit boxes are another extra.
Now for the not so good part- the hotel is popular for wedding receptions and guests, we saw about 5 different parties and you wouldn't know they were there apart from a glipse of the bride as she headed pass the pool to get collected to go to Lindos. But there is an exception to every rule and we had the wedding party from hell for a week- a cross between fools and horses and skins, as 28 people made themselves known at every opportunity by taking over the bottom family pool forcing out the kids with their climbing on the fountain, dive bombing 4 at a time, and shouting loudly at all hours of the day & night. Young teenagers I would expect to act like this but not a wedding party aged mid 20's upwards.
Action taken by the hotel- zilch, even though I was the 3rd person to complain that day and there is cctv watching the pool areas, but the british reception staff did sugest they could 'write them a letter'!!! That's very proactive.
The first choice rep was helpful but unhappy that the hotel had not passed on any complaints from anyone.
Would I return? I'm afraid it's a no. The hotel is nice, all Greek staff are friendly and helpful, but the resort is too British with every tv on sky sports, you could be in Spain. It is busy in the evening but with a lack of the real Greece found in Crete or the mainland.
It's not the Greece I have experienced previously, although Rhodes Town and Lindos were nice, and if the hotel had clamped down on the noisy behaviour I would recommend it for a family break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#11 of 34 in Pefkos
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pefkos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pefkos Beach Hotel

Property: Pefkos Beach Hotel
Address: Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Pefkos Beach Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Pefkos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pefkos Beach Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing