We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, standards slipping?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pefkos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pefkos Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Derby England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location, standards slipping?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We have just returned home & I've taken a while to decide what rating to give it. The reason being that we had a fantastic holiday - but the hotel spoilt it slightly due to the standard of the cleaning in our apartment.
As we went to the beach almost every day, I don't know if it's an isolated issue due to our particular maid, or whether others had a similar experience. (we were in room 117).
We arrived at 1am & were slightly disappointed with the Superior room - it seemed quite small - perhaps due to the extra bunk-beds in it. The handle was hanging off the fridge & worst of all, the bathroom bin (where you put used toilet paper) hadn't been emptied!
I complained about the bin the following morning & I have to say it was quickly emptied.
Over the next 9 days the room was hardly cleaned at all - the balcony was left a week without being swept - even though a cat had obviously killed something on it & blood was smeared on the floor -and inside the room all that was done was the top sheet folded on top of the bed.
If we had the necessary cleaning implements in the room I wouldn't have minded doing it myself as it is self-catering, but there was nothing - so I assume the maid should have been doing it! We go on 2 holidays a year & this is the first time ever that I haven't left a tip for the maid (I felt guilty - but reasoned that it really was not deserved).
The public areas including the pool were fine & the views from the room were lovely, if they look after the rooms better & maintain them, these would be a perfect base for your holiday. The beach is lovely & we ended up just going to 3 restaurants with fantastic sea views - Kyma, Philosophia & Kavos - we can't decide which was best - the food was delicious in all of them.
I would use this hotel again, but would complain next time if the cleaning wasn't up to a reasonable standard. I hope this will enable others to complain if the same issue arises with them.
On a separate note- the 2 hour glass bottom boat trip is brilliant - but be warned - you get drenched - it's worth it though!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Patjo818DerbyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    201
    49
    8
    4
See reviews for
265
378
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We aren't the type of people who go back to the same place time and time again, and so it speaks volumes for the Pefkos Beach. The hotel is exactly what you need for a self-catering base.

Normally we spend all of our time in the hotel, but this year we hired a car and so really it was only the evenings which we spend there. Saying that the same standards that we have come to know and love haven't changed.

The staff are amongst the most friendly we have ever come across. Whether it is from the chambermaid, to the bar staff, everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The rooms are very well furnished and exceptionally functional. Most importantly is that the rooms are kept spotless. We always contact the hotel before we go and ask for a seaview. They never fail to disappoint. For the past two occasions we have been in room 101 and 102 which is right up a very steep hill. If you have any mobility issues, these rooms wouldn't be ideal, but it is well worth the climb for the view alone (and the climb does get easier as your holiday goes on).

The worst thing about the Pefkos Beach Hotel is when it is time to leave, but at least we leave knowing that we will be back for our forth holiday in the next couple of years.

Room Tip: If you are mobile ask for one of the rooms right at the top of the hill. It is worth it for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueshrimpbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We normally go all inclusive so a self catering holiday was a different experience for us.

We picked this hotel based on previous reviews and it's location and we weren't disappointed.

We were in one of the standard rooms around the pool which was very spacious, clean and comfortable and in a great location. Didn't see the superior rooms so can't compare.

The hotel is in a great location for getting out and about and we used the pool bar for snacks and drinks, Palm Cocktail bar in the evening and Nostalgia for an evening meal. All of which were very good. It takes about 8 minutes to walk to the beach from the hotel and there are lots of bars and restaurants within easy reach.

We didn't depend too much time in the hotel but what time we did spend we thoroughly enjoyed and found the staff to all be very friendly and helpful.

A lot of people seem to be repeat visitors, we may go back at some point but we normally tend to go to new places.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pefkos Beach for two Weeks from 18th Sept and found it better than we imagined. We were allocated one of the superior rooms no. 107 at the top of the hill. The view from the balcony was amazing and well worth the walk up the hill. It was also very peaceful and the balcony was fairly private too. The air con worked well and the water was always steaming hot. The bathroom was well equipped with an excellent shower over the bath and a hair dryer on the wall. Included in the kitchen area was a 2 ring stove and kettle and toaster and all crockery and utensils to make a meal although you wouldn't need to cook as there is an excellent snack bar, cocktail bar and restaurant on site as well as a well stocked supermarket. We couldn't falt the staff as they did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. I personally prefer the beach but on this occasion we also spent some time at the pool. The pools are lovely and clean with modern toilet facilities and the reception area is also bright and modern. We hired a safety deposit box which was located in reception maybe it would have been better in our room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and young families and would not hesitate to return for another great holiday.

Room Tip: Room 107 has a great view over Pefkos rooftops and the sea. The sunset is spectacular. The higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenwightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been going to the Pefkos Beah hotel for many year, and will probably go back for a break again next year.
Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, especially Yannis and Ray on reception, and a good atmosphere.
Only comment is a few bits could just do with a bit of an update / replacing. Some of the sun beds leave a bit to be desired, and the utensils etc in rooms are a bit sparce..The real concern is the beds...extremely hard matresses and pillows meaning a good nights sleep not always guatranteed.
But as I said, just something about this place that makes you want to go back again..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

As a young couple wanting a relaxing holiday pefkos was perfect! We had a great stay at the pefkos beach and for the price we paid and remembering that it does state that it is a 3* I can't really see what more you could want!! very clean, friendly staff and a great location (great selection of restaurants, kyma being a must!) We are looking forward to returning next year and would defiantly stay at pefkos beach again! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K1502wc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

ive just returned from an 11 night stay at the pefkos beach hotel with my partner and two children.it was such a lovely place,well looked after nice pools and lovely food,i booked pefkos beach hotel just on trip advisor reviews and im glad I did we are already planning our next trip there,we stayed in room 156 and the views where amazing up hill slightly but well worth it,loads of lovely resturants highly recommend the red dragon lovely curry's,also angel bar is great if you have children very clean play area,and staff there where really nice and lovely to chat.. the worst place we visited was the pefkos harmony again has a play area for children but very un save a lot of the toys where broken with sharp edges on,the owners children always played in there despite it being a play area for toddlers they where about 11 years old and they started pushing my 18month old daughter about and shouting at her for no reason I told the manger she shrugged her shoulders and did nothing about it,also I know there was a lot of ants in pefkos which can not be helped but in the pefkos harmony it was swarming with them again we notified a member of staff as there was a lot of food on the floor which attracted the ants and all they said was move tables!! I love pefkos beach hotel we are returning next year,the rooms where very nice and modern and the cleaning lady was great always saying hello and everytime she cleaned our room she would put my daughters toys all neatly in her cot along side with nicely folded towels amazing place!!

Room Tip: email hotel before you go and ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#11 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#8 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pefkos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pefkos Beach Hotel

Property: Pefkos Beach Hotel
Address: Rhodes, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pefkos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#6 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pefkos Beach Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Pefkos Beach Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing