We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chrysanthi Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

i love this accommodation,yes some rooms are a bit dated but the pool area and bar more than make up for it, the rooms are clean with loads of bed and towel changes. the owners and staff were friendly and good fun.thanks to everyone. Pefkos is a nice resort with enough bars and rest2s to last all 2 weeks.try the boat trip to Lindos great fun with time in Lindos for a look around and meal/drinks. We liked Plekia beach best as we do not like crowds and sunbeds and the Wave cantina on the beach is great. cheers to all the staff see you soon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottmRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely family own the appartments - couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are basic and small but we've been to greece so many times we knew what to expect. However they were spotless. would have prefered room down both sides of the double bed rather than it being squashed up against the wall - it was quite hilarious sometimes trying to get my husband in and out of bed !! Air con was good and a reasonable price 70 euros for 9 nights. The pool area wasn't too busy and we had a lovely sunny patio with our studio. We will be back !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnhappyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just got back from a lovely 2 weeks in Pefkos, staying at the Chrysanthi Apartments. We booked direct and there were 9 of us in total - 2 couples and 5 teenagers, staying in apartments D and E (a 2 bedroom plus a 2 bedroom Greek style apartment), plus a studio.
We stayed in Apartment D like a previous reviewer and it was really lovely and all we needed, to be honest. I must admit, our son did end up spending most nights sleeping over with his friend in Apartment E because of the extra air con unit in the 2nd bedroom there but didn't find the small bathroom too much of a problem, certainly okay for a reasonable priced 2 week holiday.
We were really so well looked after by the family and nothing is too much trouble. From cheeky Kostas at breakfast time to Vangelis who ran the bar in the evenings, plus his lovely Mum Maria, sister Chrysanthi and dad John, all were so thoughtful and service was always prompt and extremely friendly. Vangelis is generous to a fault, with complimentary drinks and ice creams on many occasions and we certainly enjoyed the food, especially the Friday night BBQ. Our friend's son celebrated his birthday while we were away and a cake was even provided at the BBQ, much to his delight!
As far as Pefkos itself is concerned, this is our 3rd visit (although our first to the Chrysanthi)! The resort really is so addictive that we are planning a 4th visit, although on a smaller scale next time. We hired a car for 4 days and visited Rhodes Town, Lindos and the Acropolis (agree with another reviewer, far better to go up early - we were on our way by 8am, a miracle considering we had teenagers with us!) but that way it isn't so hot and you aren't getting pushed and jostled by the coach parties of tourists who arrive later. We also went to Tsambikas beach, as the kids wanted to ride on a doughnut/banana boat and they don't have these in the resort at Pefkos and the Seven Springs (Epta Piges), which is nice and shady to get away from the heat for a little while. The 2 men in our party also took the kids to the waterpark in Faliraki (as my friend and I weren't so keen, we stayed round the pool at the Chrysanthi that day, as it costs 20 Euros per person for the water park so not really worth it unless you really want to go).
Locally, we did the glass bottom boat trip, which is great fun, and visited a couple of the beaches (the Main Beach and also Plakia, the latter was the one we preferred cos it was nice and quiet, also not quite such a long walk from our apartments). But we did stay around the pool a few days and thought it was lovely and clean, with ample sun beds and umbrellas.
Restaurants were great as ever, with probably the favourites being Tsambikos (above the bakery - ok it's a bit of a hot walk up the hill but worth it!), also Nostalgia and Enigma. We enjoyed nice meals at the Two Brothers and Artemis, too.
Anyway, thanks again to Vangelis and your family and we can't wait to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Chrysanthi Apartments for 2 weeks arriving back home yesterday. We booked a holiday for ourselves ( 2 adults, and 16 yr old daughter), and also another family member with her husband and 16 yr old daughter. We did not want to leave at the end of the holiday, we had such a great time! We had 3 studio apartments all next door to each other , as our daughters shared one together , and what you pay for is what you get. Please remember that most apartments in Greece are on the basic side anyway, and as long as you have a clean room to stay, which has fresh sheets, towels etc on a daily basis, then as far as we are concerned we are happy with this.
There is a wardrobe, 2 single beds, a few tables, buffet, mirror in main studio apartment, bathroom a bit on small side - but again, as we have stayed in other apartments in Greece before, they are on par with the rest. Shower is tiny, and you have to squeeze in there, but hey at least it works, with loads of hot water if needed.
Cleaners were there every day but one, and they did a good job.
Vangelis the hotel manager (Hi Vangelis - Yammas!) Chrysanthi his sister, Maria his mum, and Yiannis his dad, all work together to make your experience whilst on holiday there one of the best. Maria cooks some really nice meals, and breakfasts.We did not eat once in our apartment, as we were always either eating there, or at one of the many other lovely places along the strip.
Vangelis is a mine of information on a wide range of subjects, and if you choose to have many drinks at poolside bar of an evening,expect to have lively debates on a whole range of topics.
We are already wanting to plan our holiday for next year here, as we loved it so much. It is very central, and you can walk to all 3 of the beaches within about 10 mins, the best beach being the Pianki beach a few minutes walk from the Med Hotel across road from Eclipse Bar, there is a nice beach bar there which sells delicious sandwiches for a few euros, the other beaches don't have one.
Our daughters used to go to Pefkos by night bar, and then across road to Eclipse most nights, and because the bar staff in there are brilliant, they always kept a close eye on them, so we felt safe leaving them to enjoy themselves.
As long as you are not expecting luxury, and you take things as you find them, with no frills, then you will absolutely love it here!

Room Tip: If you are unhappy about anything, just speak to one of the family, as I am sure they will sort some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kalamakinights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

OK, let’s set the scene, this was a family holiday for myself, wife and 17 year old daughter. We travelled independently from Leeds, booking the apartment direct, on line via email, and flew with Jet2 from Leeds Bradford Airport. We elected to book an airport taxi once we arrived and agree a price.

Airport and transfer

We arrived early afternoon and had a smooth ride through customs then hired one of many available taxis at the fixed price (they are on a board at the rank) of 66 Euros to our apartment in Pefkos. The journey took 50 minutes, which is considerably less time than the tour coaches (approx 1.5 hours.)

Check–in at Chrysanthi

We were greeted in reception by Vangelis, who is the hotel manager and son of the owners who also work there. His dad looks after the housekeeping aspects and his mother cooks. It is truly a family run hotel with even his sister working the bar during the day.

We had booked a 2 bedroomed apartment and on check-in were given the choice of two available, which we were allowed to view before deciding. One was on the ground floor next to the bar so we elected to stay on the first floor in Apartment ‘D’ which overlooked the pool. We then unpacked and as instructed, met Vangelis in the bar where complimentary drinks were served. I was warming to the place already!

The Apartment

Vangelis had described the room to us as ‘traditionally Greek’ - not sure what that means but our apartment comprised of 2 large bedrooms with a raised floor area where the beds were situated and had adequate storage space for clothes etc (and you need that with my two girls !). The bedrooms were connected via a short corridor which had a small kitchen area and bathroom located adjacent to it.

The kitchen had minimal utensils but was adequate for what we needed. There was a large fridge / freezer, microwave and oven; the latter two were never used.

The bathroom was very small and comprised of a toilet, shower over a tiny bath and washbasin. It was certainly not an area for a family meeting but again proved adequate…..just.
The bedrooms at first seemed ideal with my daughter revelling in the fact that she had twice as much space to put all her tonnes of clothing, but as they say she who laughs first.......

The apartment was air conditioned which was included in our price (but not for those who booked through tour operators), however the unit was located in one of the bedrooms which of course had been ‘bagged’ by me and the wife (well we did pay for the holiday !). Vangelis had provided a fan for the other bedroom but this was to have a limited impact. Another thing to maybe add at this point was that Rhodes was experiencing unusually hot temperatures; we’d call it a ‘heat wave’. Needless to say half way through the first night my daughter had other words for it and after enduring several hours in what really was a sauna, she moved in with us................................for the next 13 nights!

Vangelis did explain that all the 2 bedroom apartments only had one air conditioning unit as tourists would not pay for 2 at a time; the cost of the air-conditioning was 50 Euros per week.
All that said, the bedroom was large enough for 3 of us and it was not a problem, but something to consider if you are thinking of having a two bed apartment. We still needed the space for all the clothes ‘they’ pack; it’s like going on holiday with ‘Next’!

The Bar

The bar is adjacent to the pool and serves a variety of drinks, draught beer and cider at reasonable prices. A 500ml of local lager, Mythos, was 3.2 Euros and only slightly more expensive than some of the local bars. Food was also available throughout the day, cooked to order and of good quality. On a Friday they host a BBQ night, cost 9 Euros each but plenty of meat which could be replenished to satisfy even my carnivore requirements. They even had salad for the ‘others’!

I generally frequented the bar early evening whilst my two adorned themselves upstairs before we went out around town to eat. Vangelis ran the bar every day from 4pm until close and was an excellent source of information and generally a really nice guy. He is a passionate supporter of Panathanaikos so is more than eager to discuss the world of football or, in fact, most other sports. On many occasions he insisted giving me complimentary beers, a situation I found was rude to refuse, but a good end of holiday tip balanced up his wonderful generosity.

Beaches

There are three recognised beaches in Pefkos, one called Sandy Beach (someone’s nicked the sand) GN Beach and the main beach which we frequented on most days. This is about 10 mins walk from Chrysanthi and varies from quite rocky to beautiful sand which is located at the far left hand end of the resort. All the beach has plenty of sunbeds and shades (8 euros per day for 2 beds and a shade) but the ones in the sandy area are taken first, be there before 10am to secure !

The town

Pefkos is only a small town; I estimated probably no more than 30 bars and restaurants, a few supermarkets and novelty shops. During the day the area is very quite but it does come to life in the evening, but never too rowdy. We took the decision to eat at a different restaurant every night and then visit the best again on our last evening. This we duly did but to be fair we never really had a bad meal, service levels did differ as did the surroundings but generally speaking we were impressed. The average price we paid for 3 of us including a litre of house wine, water (for the girls!), usually a starter platter to share and 3 main courses was about 40 – 50 Euros. Our best restaurant award went to Terpsis which was truly top fine dining, but you may have to book.

Trips

We hired a boat twice from the main beach area, first time a ‘speed’ boat for 2 hours and we went up the coast line, and then we hired a ‘fishing’ boat which came with rods bait etc. That was great fun and we caught 11 fish which the great white hunter (me) took back to the apartment to cook. This taught me that gutting, boning, and preparing fish for the first time with no recipe and no idea what the fish were anyway with limited kitchen utensils, was somewhat adventurous. Needless to say it ended with no cooked fish and a pool side bin stuffed with fish heads etc (well I couldn’t leave them in the apartment!)

We also hired a car for the day locally which was only 45 Euros and toured the island, Rhodes town, Lindos and the Acropolis (make sure you go up before 11.00 as it is unbearably hot later), and a couple of beaches etc which proved to be a good day out.

In conclusion.......

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Chrysanthi and the town of Pefkos. Vangelis and his family were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble, remember this is a Greek island and small family run apartments so if you are expecting ‘luxury’ with 5 stars attached this is not for you.

The main drawback for us was the heat. The first week (heatwave) provided 41 to 42 degrees with no breeze at all, and it was even 36 degrees at 4am one morning. The second week was slightly more bearable but was still tough going. I can sum the situation up by the fact I drank more water than beer.................and this was supposed to be a holiday !

Would I go back.........no..............the world is too small and I’m running out of time. Would I recommend it..................................definitely, enjoy !

Room Tip: Check where the air conditioning unit is situated as it might not cool all areas of your apartment i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just stayed at the chrysanthi apartments, had a fantastic holiday here for 2 weeks. The family that runs the hotel.. John, Maria, Vangelis & Chrysanthi are an asset to the apartments and also young Costas. The pool and pool bar were very very clean and well run and also the food was excellent. These people make you feel so welcome, we would(and could be) booking back in the future. Very central and close to the beach, supermarket is very close to complex and Hector the dog is lovely. Hope to see yous soon and thanks for a great holiday!!!! Gordon, Elaine, Adam & Callum McKinnon from Kilmarnock/Ayrshire xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We unfortunately ended up at the awful Coliseum last year, but spent all our time here. Very friendly owners who can't do enough for you, spotlessly clean pool area and very nice food. Hector the dog is lovely and the whole place has a real ambience about it.
Book early to avoid dissapointment!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonardPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.2 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.0 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.5 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#9 of 34 in Pefkos
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#12 of 34 in Pefkos
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrysanthi Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrysanthi Hotel - Apartments

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Pefkos
Price Range: $65 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chrysanthi Hotel - Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Chrysanthi Hotel - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrysanthi Apartments Pefkos
Chrysanthi Apartments Hotel Pefkos
Chrysanthi Hotel - Apartments Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing