We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for what we paid!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thalia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent for what we paid!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After reading previous reviews we were very worried. We were a party of 8 that was going to a wedding at a neighbouring hotel 'island blue'

The hotel was excellent value for money. Food wasn't fantastic but was always something you could have. To eat out is very cheap anyway and that's what holidays are about.

Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily by a very thorough/friendly cleaner.

Pool and bar area spot on.

Don't go expecting 5 star and you won't be disappointed. Hotel staff are lovely and can't do enough for you.

Overall a fab 10 day holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ronlaw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    114
    83
    60
    108
See reviews for
168
190
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I would like to begin by questioning the review of Edwina C and Teardrop 1983. Having visited this hotel on several occasions as have many other return guests. How someone can complain about the food and hospitality when people who were not staying at the hotel ate and drank for free is a little bit strange.
I am also concerned when people start their review saying they don't expect the Ritz for what they paid then when they get home absolute crucify the place. Tripadvisor is supposed to be informative and not a place for people to ruin other people's livelihood.

We stayed at this hotel in May for a week. Our room was spotless, the bed linen changed 3 times and clean towels everyday.
The food was a mixture of typical Greek cuisine! Greek salads meat and fish for lunch and evening meal.

There was plenty of choice for breakfast, sausages,bacon,eggs, ham, cheese,cereal, croissants, yoghurt and honey, tea and coffee. If you can't find something to suit you then you must be the fussiest eater ever born.

The pool area and pool were clean, plenty of sunbeds.


The all inclusive option may not suit everyone I agree and not to everyone's taste but it is a cost effective option.

Please don't be put of by the nasty reviews, read the constructive ones and give it a try you won't be disappointed.

You see people eating in the €9 euro for 3 courses then complain about them, you get what you pay for. The Thalia offers good food with drinks included and a nice friendly Greek welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank pefkosNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is not a 5 Star hotel and if you arrive expecting 5 Star for 2 Star money, you're going to be disappointed. However as a 2 Star Hotel it's fine!

I've lived and worked in Greece over a number of years and the standard of the food is absolutely on a par with that to be found in most Greek homes. It doesn't cater for the "Full English" breakfast but it doesn't pretend to. It's not fancy cooking but it's perfectly sufficient if you want to economise. UK type breakfasts can be found in town, I'd suggest the Lee Beach for that.

Insects; yes, there are mosquitoes and some other flying bugs. But these are to be found in most hot countries. Take Avon "So Soft" and spray on after dark and roll your sleeves down and they shouldn't be a problem.

Rooms; Basic but clean. I would suggest trying a night without air con at the beginning of the season as you may find it quite comfortable without paying out. The beds are a little firm and the furniture is a little bit battered but serviceable. Regular cleaning service was provided and they did actually clean as opposed to some places I've been where they just move the dirt round.

Drinks; all basic beers and no name spirits but they do the business and they are generous with the measures. Suitable for filling up with prior to going down town or for topping up whilst sitting by the pool. I'd suggest asking for the OuzoFantaLemon. A better take on Ouzo!

To summarise? A low budget hotel that offers friendly, helpful but basic service. The Hilton it isn't but it offers a good level of service for the price asked. Me? I'd go again.

Room Tip: 109/110 new mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Zygmunt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Θεσσαλονίκη, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

one of the best vacations in rhodes with my staing in Thalia .....friendly people clean rooms , pool ....the service was very good and the food too. the prices for the rooms were very good so was the drinks in the pool bar ...thank you all .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lambros4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

People need to stop bleating about The Thalia. It is amazing. The food is traditional, homemade Greek cuisine. The bar has everything you need. The rooms are clean and are well looked after. You want five star then pay for it. This is the famy's living and people slating on here are putting guests off. The family are friendly and will put things right if there is a problem. Give it a try... Thalia is a traditional Greek All Inclusive... Not Egypt etc where you binge unnecessarily. Approach the family if you have a problem not behind Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LovethesunNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent a lovely week all inclusive at the Thalia hotel in Pefkos. For the cost we didn't expect much, but were pleasantly surprised!

If you want to stay in you hotel for your entire holiday and enjoy luxurious surroundings and room service then this place isn't for you. But if you want somewhere friendly, cheap and reasonable to lay your head in between going out doing other things, the Thalia is a winner.

Yes, it's all a bit "quirky", the shower was in a corner behind the toilet and there was a bit cut out of the bathroom door so that it would open past the wash basin(!), but we had a lovely balcony to enjoy the spring sunshine and there were clean towels and sheets every day.

The pool area is spacious and well kept with plenty of sunbeds, and the pool bar, though with fairly basic fare (beer, red or white wine or Greek spirits), was welcoming and staffed by friendly Bulgarian boys. (I wasn't a fan of the harcore club anthem type music they played there sometimes though, but hey ho..!)

Food was acceptable and plentiful. Low points - stale cereal, no fresh juice and luke warm coffee at breakfast. High points - lovely Greek salads, moussaka and plenty of chips! :)

If you go to the Thalia in the right frame of mind you will love it!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Last year my husband and I were getting married in Rhodes. We stayed in Pefkos at the Island Blue Hotel which was excellent!
My poor family however, stayed at the Thalia next door.
It was so bad you wouldn't believe it!! Food was dreadful, no choice, ants in the juice, stale bread and generally dirty eating area. The bar was unstocked, if you drink beer or wine you're ok, but ask for a whiskey or a brandy and you've had it!!!! It boasts all inclusive but it is so basic. Also the men at the bar were often on the internet seen to be looking at pictures of young girls on their laptops!!! My sister in law's tiny balcony looked out over the sewer and the smell as you can imagine was appalling! The owners had a little dog that harassed the guests and it actually bit my son's girlfriend!
There were 11 of my family in total ranging from 17 yrs to 68 yrs of age; everyone of them hated it. In the end my family had to eat out and they spent most of the days at the Island Blue next door with us. We would have been better booking them into a self catering apartment; of which there are many in Pefkos as eating out is very cheap.
If you are considering this hotel then think again, if you've already booked, I pity you. The hotel needs pulling down!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pefkos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
20.9 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Theologos
498 reviews
21.3 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
112 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalia Hotel

Property: Thalia Hotel
Address: Pefkos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalia Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing