We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Reception”
Review of Kavos Mare - CLOSED

Kavos Mare
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Reception”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Well worth a visit, amazing location with a gorgeous sunset. Cannot praise this place enough, Takis and Emma and all the staff were fabulous on our Wedding day in June 2012. We had 50 guests ranging from 18 months to 82 years old and everyone had the time of their lives! Gorgeous setting, atmosphere, service and most of all food!

The children were entertained with the garden setting, tortoises, swings, hammocks etc, lots of space for people to feel at ease and socialise after their meal or take a stroll down to the sea for a paddle.

We had Meze to start, plenty to go around, main course was lamb and chicken and we pre ordered fish for the vegetarians guests, and we used our wedding cake as dessert. All the food was gorgeous.

Takis the restaurant owner could not do enough for us and made us so at ease with the whole day. We had a horse and carriage to arrived at the restaurant, all out guests arrived by coach, we had a DJ and Greek dancers in the night time. The whole day was magical, will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Takis and Emma for our fabulous day.

(If anyone is planning a wedding here at Kavos Mare please do not hesitate to get back in touch for more photos, it will only allow me to upload one, maybe files too large)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emma_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Notts
1 review
“Kavos Mare”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The most beautiful, scenic, relaxed place to go, either for lunch time breaks or evening meals, or even both. It's the most idyllicand prettiest place to be.
The company that you share with the owners Takis, Emma and of course not to forget the main waiter Nicos could'nt be more friendliar.
We have been visiting them now for 26 trips and will continue to do so for many more years.
We have already booked for 2wks in May and 2wks in Sept next year and will look forward to spending much more time with Takis, Emma and Nicos. There will be lots of time spent on there beautiful spotless beach and lots of fun time with Bernard there lovely dog, who comes down to the beach most days with Emma to collect the Sun Bed Money.
There food is freshly cooked and is always well presented and always tastes fantastic.
Over the years that we have got to know them, they have become very much an important part of our lives and we will continue to go and visit them as often as we can.
What lovely people, we love them to bits.
Don,t miss an experience of a life time by missing them. Love to you all Sue & Ian, see you in May Can't wait XX

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Taverna”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited Kavos Taverna for both lunch and evening meals during a recent holiday in Pefkos. We loved the traditional atmosphere of this place - can't beat dining out in beautiful gardens with a view right across the bay.

The food served is also very traditionally greek - great fish dishes and other greek meals which come served with potatoes and vegetables (not chips - although you could order them if you wanted to - we never eat chips at home and certainly don't expect them in Greece).

Whilst this taverna is a little out of the way it is worth visiting and if you go during the day there is a lovely beach just in front of the taverna (although this does get a bit busy).

Just one other comment - the owner of the taverna is a friendly guy(as is his dog!) but there are a couple of younger staff would may need to learn how to smile (this is my only negative comment and would not put us off going again).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinoGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After sunning ourselves on the beach, we ate lunch here a couple of times, and visited for dinner one evening too. The food was excellent and the service very friendly and helpful. What was really special, though, is the location: the view over the bay is fantastic, and the garden is beautifully maintained (it was quite a novelty to have the staff cutting bunches of grapes from the vines overhead).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We popped into Kavos one lunchtime just for a drink while we were out walking & had a lovely relaxing hour taking in the view. We returned the next lunchtime & had an amazing lunch, the menu is very good & not over priced at all. I wish we had gone earlier in the holiday but will go again a few times next year & on an evening too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fawnyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kavos Mare also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing