We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”
Review of Mary & Gina's Greek Restaurant - CLOSED

Mary & Gina's Greek Restaurant
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a lovely meal here, only found it at the end of our holl though so only went the once,however we both had starter and main meals and cannot fault them, the menu is traditional but with a bit of a spin from the norm created by a very good chef, would have eaten there again had we found them earlier, well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Amazing food, amazing service and amazingly friendly people.

We had a large bowl of Salad, with hummus, and then the grilled Sea Bass, roasted vegetables and chips, presented in a way we've never seen before (in a kind of dome shape), bizarre, but brilliant.

All the food was prepared and cooked to perfection.

We especially loved the extra touches, like the Greek pottery the wine was served in.

All in all a fantastic experience and we cant wait to go back and eat there next year.

The restaurant is quiet, but so relaxed and you feel you have time to relax, kick back and really enjoy your meal. Also, the head waitress was chatty and attentive so the restaurant didn't seem even nearly as quiet as some reviews on here suggest. Please don't let them reviews put you off, this is an outstanding restaurant. One of the best we've been to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich_and_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenock
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Not just a fish taverna”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I had 2 weeks in Pefkos 12-26th June 2013 and ate no less than 5 or 6 times in this taverna. Its positioned at the back of the Enigma on the road down to the main beach. We ate in the Enigma, very flamboyant, the 1st night and it was just OK, but pricy. Our second night we tried the Fish Taverna Mary and Gina,s, it really did look the part, spacious, painted blue, inviting and very traditional. There was a good selection of fish on the menu, as to be expected in a fish taverna ,but also a good selection of traditional greek food
. Every evening there was a special offer of a set meal with 2 choices which included a starter, main course and glass of wine for 8.90 euros each. Our first meal we both had Greek salads with tziki dip followed by beef stifado. Honestly, absolutely superb food with good portions and particularly well presented. The beef stifado was presented in such a way that it was like one of those cookery programmes back home, a large plate, a mound of freshly made chips in a cup shape, with all the trimmings, the focal point being the presentation of the stifado in the centre of the plate wrapped in a tortillia type pastry, large well cooked chunks of beef with veg, the plate decorated with balsamic vinegar, ffffantastic!.... that taverna really does have a chef.
The service was exellent, Nika the head waitress, always smiling, with 2 other staff members, nothing was a bother. It was one of those places that you feel particularly relaxed in with the owner Mr. Kosta sitting overseeing that there were no issues. Other dishes we had were leg of lamb, kleftico, kalamari... all similarily presented to the same high standard....now that i,m back home reminiscing,,,all this talk of the food think i,ll go and make a sanny...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joeeggGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We passed this taverna on many occasions and because it didn't look busy never went in, big mistake. This year we went in and ended up eating there 4 times, need I say more. For us it was good local food, cooked very well, thd wine was extremely good and very good value for money. I would urge people to give it at try. And hope you enjoy it as much as we did

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Meat Taverna.. Pity it's so quiet..”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have walked past this restaurant on several occasions and have been out off as its usually quiet... However, we were recommended to try it by another couple in our hotel and we were not disappointed.

Food was excellent.. Fresh sea bass, cooked lovely and it was on special too for just under €9. My partner doesn't eat fish but there were plenty of meat dishes too, and the chicken seemed to be very good.

They have made alot of effort in the decor, and even kids facilities...just a pity it's got no ambience as very quiet. I think cos it's called a fish taverna puts people off, but its a Greek taverna serving fish and meat dishes....

Staff very friendly, and attentive ...

We will return...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SJBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary & Gina's Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing