We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms nice view”
Review of Karpathios Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karpathios Studios
Ranked #15 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Pefkos
Southwest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice rooms nice view”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the karpathios studios in july with two friends.
Room was spacious and basic but that was all we were looking for. The terrace had a really beautiful view over pefkos and the bay .
The pool area was lovely, the pool was huge and there were always plenty of sunbeds as it never got to crowded.
The location of the studios were relatively good, just a short walk down the hill and u are right by rock bar , eclipse and pbn. Probly around 200m.
The only two small negatives about the place were the steep hill leadin up to the studios. Walking up that in 40 degree heat was not fun. The other was the owner was really miserable, he seemed to be in constant mood and very rarely cracked a smile, his attitude didnt really go with the rest of the vibe of the place.
That being said i definately would stay at karpathios studios again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank 214gex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
29
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have just come back from this hotel and after a week staying there I can have little complaints. The rooms were very basic, but they did the job for what we wanted. We stayed in room number 4 and had our own little table and chair balcony which had a nice view of the sea.

The bar area was nice with friendly staff and was reasonably priced too. The pool area itself was nice a clean, and although I only went in the pool once it was nice and relaxed. The hill will be a problem for the elderly or those with walking difficulties so keep this in mind before booking this hotel. But if you want a cheap and cheerful hotel with easy access to all the bars and restaurants then this place will do you fine.

There was a minor issue with regards ants, but after the first night they seemed to leave me alone. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank partingtonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Possibly this hotel has the best view in pefkos....from your balcony or from the pool you can not be disappointed for the price you pay to stay here.
We were double booked on our first night, which after climbing the hill with two very heavy suitcases at midnight, was not the best start to our holiday.We were carted off to the coliseum in a micra with our suitcases hanging out the boot(!) but after a nights sleep there we were more than happy to get to our actual room!
Our room had the best view from a massive open balcony on the first floor of the white rooms, number 12, we had booked a 2/3 PAX room and it was perfect. Plenty of hot water (at night anyway... solar panels we thought!), cleaned daily by a lovely smiley lady, and with an outside and inside table and chairs it was really well presented and we felt straight at home.
The pool area is great, lots of orphaned inflatables to borrow and chill out on....most days it was quiet and you could sunbathe with the loudest noise being the lapping of the pool or Ravi's music choice for the day. There was always a pair of beds and a brolly to be found and the pool bar is good for snacks and drinks (breakfasts are really nice here for when the hill seems too high, and the beer was too much)
The hill? well the hill is hard work! especially in the midday heat, we had to do it in a few goes with a lot of protest and some impromptu racing games...and we are in our early 30's! But its so worth it for the view and the peace you get at the top.
All in all we loved it here and if we ever go back we wouldn't hesitate to book a room again.
Its a 5/10 minute walk to the beach, depending on which one you choose...2 minute stroll to the eclipse and rock bars, 1 minute to the nearest super market, and if you open the door to your balcony....2 seconds from the sunshine!!

Room Tip: We booked a 2/3 pax self catering room and got a first floor white room with an open balcony right b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sassykat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Returned to UK 25 Sept 13 after 2 weeks. Although towels, sheets changed every couple of days and bins emptied the bathroom was not cleaned in 2 weeks and it was clear by the scum marks on the bathroom tiles (it was a wet room) that it had been some time since it had been properly cleaned. There was also no indication that the floors had been mopped in 2 weeks either. There was no drawer space so my friend and I had to leave a lot of our clothes in the cases. The doors rattled when it was windy and we had to jam a towel in to stop it so we could sleep. I expect Ants but not in the bed! First morning lifted pillow to find them everywhere - they really need to treat the rooms regularly. I would recommend they get rid of the wooden plinths with mattresses on top and put in proper beds - this would make it easier to clean the floors and treat the ants. Be warned the apartments are up a very steep and uneven path - I am quite fit but carrying water up in the heat of the day was exhausting. On the positive side the pool and pool area was lovely with great views of Pefkos Bay and the 2.5 Euros for a large Mythos was the cheapest we found. The studios had a balcony but as it had concrete walls could not sit down and see the views which was a shame. Not the worst accommodation we have had but wouldn't book again. Don't think it would take a lot to improve things though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pefkos hotels

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed 7 nights here and was a little worried after reading some reviews. However we paid for cheap and cheerful so you can't expect Egyptian cotton towels can you! Room was large and spacious with basic facilities. Towels and sheets clean, room cleaned and bins emptied. Shower had hot water and a curtain( you don't always get this in Greece). Yes the drive is steep and yes there are ants but neither of these stopped us having a good holiday. Pool is large with plenty of sun beds. Staff were friendly to us and beer is as cheap as they say at the pool bar. Basic snack foods but tasty and keenly priced. Overall would rate as a 3.5 and would consider staying here again if we came back to Pefkos

Room Tip: Room 17 was large with 2 Lindian beds and a single. Nice view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Sept 13. Ravi is a lovely guy, made sure we had a higher room as requested. These have a glorious view over pefkos. Rooms cleaned regularly and perfectly functional. Lots of ants but spray soon sorts them out.
Pool area is lovely, the pool bar is cheap and the food is lovely for the price.
All in all we got a fantastic deal and would defo return. Remember guys, you get what u pay for. With these, I think u get more

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hey

I spent 2 weeks at the Karpathios from 5th to 19 June 2013 and paid about £150 for 2 weeks. I travelled solo and arrived at 9pm 'ish' to be greeted by Ravi and 2 other staff. I was shown to my room and left to my own devices to freshen up etc. Didnt take long and I was out in Pefkos by 9.45pm. Ok, what some people tend to forget when reviewing this accommodation is the 'dirt cheap' price they paid for it. It is located on the hillside on the main Lindos/Pefkos coast road and is accessed by a 20 metre, steep driveway with a stepped path alongside. It is doable if you are mobile but for those with mobility issues or families with buggies, there are plenty of other options in Pekfos more suitable. The rooms are split between 2 variations. There are small studio style rooms on the ground floor beneath the pool and beneath the level 1 and 2 rooms. They have seating areas outside with table and benches and are quite quircky. Cant comment on interior. I had a level 2 upper room accessed by 2 small flights of stairs. Lindia style beds, raised platform with 2 large single mattresses with a small table between them. Large cupboard area and safe deposit box if you want it. Cooking facilities are basic, the usual 2 electric rings, fridge and basic utensils but I did get a kettle. Bathroom again basic in a 'wetroom style. Shower basic but did the job and most of the time had hot water and at worst it was warm. Water gets on the floor but unless you have kids, so what, it is a wetroom. It has shutter style windows over the bed and a decent size balcony with table and 2 folding chairs. The views were unreal, across Pefkos Bay and over to Kiotari and further South. The way the balconies were configured meant you still had a little privacy from other balconies. All in all, the room did the job, basic but functional and comfortable. Didnt need aircon due to the time of year and the location of the room meant I could leave the shutters and door open to let air in. Not affected by mossies in any way but had a liquid plug in just in case. Tip: Try "Incognito" mossie repellant found online and in Holland and Barratt, it is fairly expensive around £7 in a fairly small black spray bottle, however, it seriously works and you dont need much. It is based upon lemon Eucalyptus and is completely natural. Ants! Ok I went in June so it wasnt as hot as late/July Aug and therefore, ants were not really a problem. Yeah some got in but so what, they are harmless and just spray them if necessary. I would be more concerned if it was cockroaches as they can carry harmful bugs but didnt see one anyway. People forget they are in a hot, sometimes humid enviroment and bugs are part and parcel of life, ask the locals. No matter what owners do, it is IMPOSSIBLE to stop ants entering miniscule gaps underneath doors. Ants climb walls and can access anywhere, I just dont see the point in having a go at owners because of it, use the spray and get on with it.

Anyway, on to the bar/pool area. This was a nice surprise. The pool area is relatively large with a good size pool for a proper swim. Plenty of loungers/parasols around the pool and in June it was easy to find loungers without being crammed up next to a stranger. Fantastic views from the pool area and a nice breeze due to its elevated location. The bar area is functional and has seating in the shade. A pool table and book area and free WiFi around the bar area if you ask Ravi for the password. Beer really cheap, I think it was 2.5 Euro for a large Mythos which is a good price. Menu wont win awards but why should it. It is a snack bar and offers breakfasts, omelettes, baguettes, toasties, pasta, pizza and a selection of meals such as chicken, fries, scampi, basic seafood and a view basic greek dishes. Had a couple of meals there and food was fine. Ravi works extremely hard, has a wickedly dry sense of humour and always has a smile on his face, alway willing to help.

To get to Pekos main strip, you leave the access drive, cross the road and you will see a path with a sign, basically it is a short cut to the main strip which brings you out by a local supermarket. It saves having to walk down to Pefkos By Night and doubling back on yourself. There is another supermarket just down the main hill by the Rock Bar. A 10/15 minute walk will bring you to AG Thomas and Plakia beaches, my favourites. Alternatively, a 20 minutes stroll will get you to Pefkos main (Lee Beach).

Coach transfer could take anything from 1 hour 15 minutes to 1 hour 45 minutes, depends on how many drops offs en route. I had a 6 hour room extension and was charged 20E but given that it is then out of action overnight, I am not surprised they charge this rate. It is worth it as you can relax for most of the day.

All in all, a fantastic stay, great price and for what you get, it is well worth it. I would definitely return, no worries.

Mart

Room Tip: Upper rooms, levels 1 and 2, larger rooms with great balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FugeeBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#10 of 34 in Pefkos
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.6 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#8 of 34 in Pefkos
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pefkos Blue
Pefkos Blue
#12 of 34 in Pefkos
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karpathios Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karpathios Studios

Property: Karpathios Studios
Address: Pefkos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Karpathios Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Karpathios Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karpathios Studios Hotel Pefkos
Karpathios Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing