We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
tenby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We spent 11 nights in Island Blue Hotel. It was a really lovely place, the rooms were huge with the added bonus of a full sized fridge & free air conditioning. Everywhere was spotlessly clean there & all the staff very friendly. We had a great evening at the Greek night at Elias. Pefkos is a lovely resort, very relaxing with beautiful beaches & plenty of choice of restaraunts. It was magical to watch the sun go down from Philosophia restaurant, wonderful food & friendly staff. We ate quite a few times at Nostalgia which again was excellent, what a lovely family they were.
We were going to hire a car, but decided to use the service buses which were excellant. Visited Rhodes town, Lindos & Presonissi. A must is the boat trip to Symi Island, what a beautiful place.
We would definately stay at the Island Blue hotel again.
.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TenbyDaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    121
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
239
389
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clevedon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

me and my wife have just come back from a fantastic two week holiday staying at pefkos island resort..all the staff are realy freindly and helpful.our room overlooked the main pool perfect view to watch an amazing sunset every evening.we used the large pool behind the eiias restaurant which was much quieter and not so busy.enigma ,nostalgia ,georges great places to eat.the angel bar was great for a drink or a snack realy lovely couple who worked there.do the glass bottomed boat great fun.brilliant place to stay definatley recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iveandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We booked a 2 week holiday at Pefki Islands after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor as we had visited Pefkos 8 years ago but had been disappointed with our choice of apartment.

I had emailed Katerina on reception before travelling and requested an upper floor room in a quiet position. On arrival we were indeed given an upper floor but this looked out over a car park to the entrance of Linda Thallasa and it’s supermarket, the apartment also had a bar to the side – not really a quiet room at all.

As the room itself was very good we decided to give it a go but after a few days decided to ask for a move as we do like to relax on the balcony during the early evening before going out and this was not really the place to do so. We were told that Pefki Islands was fully booked so could not move until the second week so opted to pay 30 Euro a night to upgrade to the Island Blue Hotel which is part of the same group. This included air conditioning and breakfast which we felt was a fair deal.

Whilst I could not really fault the accommodation at Pefki Islands the room and facilities at the Island Blue were definitely at least a level up. The hotel only opened this year and it shows, immaculate rooms with new furnishings and what a shower – the best I have ever seen in Greece (or any where else for that matter). The hotel has 3 pools in total – 2 connecting pools surrounded by the rooms with a pool bar and a separate pool at the Elia restaurant. The Elia pool was our favourite as it was much quieter and the sunbeds were much more comfortable.

Overall both the Pefki Islands and Island Blue are very good and if our room had been better placed I’m sure we would have been happy staying there. Both accommodations are very clean and well equipped and staff friendly (apart from one person working at the upper pool bar who I think thought he was being funny but in fact we found some of his remarks very offensive – might fit with the younger crowd but certainly not us).

We would consider going back to either Pefki Islands or Island Blue or even Linda Thallasa as this also looked good and all three are in a great position just outside the main strip of Pefkos and close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinoGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed here for 2 weeks end of september and would say we had a very enjoyable relaxing time.

The complex is very clean and you can use the other hotels pefki islands and lindia thalassa, however if you are staying at island blue I doubt you would as this hotel is in my opinion far nicer.

The rooms are great , really spacious, full size fridge which was great for drinks and sandwiches to keep cool, we had 3 beds in our room and the bathroom was also a good size with a great shower.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast is in a lovely setting overlooking the rooftop pool, however did not open until 9am which was a bit of a pain especially if you wanted to go out for the day at a reasonable time, I think breakfast should have been available from 8am, I did not try the hot food although it looked okay, you only really had 2 choice of cereal, cornflakes and coco pops every day and usually 3 choices of fruit, together with bread cakes etc. After a while you did get a bit fed up with the same every day, oh and also the milk wasn't cold and the orange was 'squash' not 'juice' which was really disappointing, i ended up buying my own milk and taking it to breakfast as I like my cereal with ice cold milk not warm, this was probably the only gripe that we had.

Pefkos is a lovely location, plenty of bars and restaurants we did't get to all of the restaurants that we wanted to try, I suppose this is a good excuse to go back!

We did try Philosophia twice which was lovely , Anixis twice, again good traditional greek food, enigma wasn't great, my husband ordered lamd kleftiko, it was so tough and dry he was very disappointed although surroundings were nice, also tried nostalgia which was very good and we also ate at the hotel's restaurant Elia, which was really nice, the worst meal we had was at corali's and it did seem that every one in that restaurant smoked, it was smokers paradise we thought, which really spoiled it for us and the food was awful too, wouldn't go back there
. One thing I did find very good in almost all restaurants was the wine, house wine was usually very good quality and only approx 4 euros for 1/2 litre or roughly 7 euros for 1 litre which i thought was great value for money!

Did hire a car for a week from georges which was fine and pretty much did see most of the island, rhodes town, lindos , lots of inland villages went to south of the island prasonisi, monolithos, petaloudes, though didn't see any butterflies.

Weather was fab, no rain at all, beach was gorgeous, pool delightful, all in all a very pleasant holiday which didn't work out expensive at all. Would recommend this hotel and resort for relaxing, a chance to read some good books, eat at lovely restaurants and a good base to explore if you get a car.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This hotel is as good as the reviews and pictures (if not better...). We stayed here for one week at the end of September and arrived home last night!!! Cannot fault anything (Except courtesy room - really horrid...but you have to pay 35 euros for your room if it is available). The safe was 25 euros a week...grumbles over now.... Katerina on reception was lovely nothing ever too much trouble...!


Breakfast was good and you helped yourselfs to whatever you wanted...set you up for the whole day...

Room 357 was fab...top floor - good views - sun on patio - near to breakfast area and back gate to town...

Pools were lovely...always sunbeds...

Walk-in shower with sliding door - large bathroom - kettle, mugs, fridge, iron and board...free air con with your own remote...

Anymore questions please ask...

Oh... word of advise don't sit on the wall to ground floor rooms - the guests get very grumpy and say they will get the POLICE !!!

Resort mainly English with great Tavernas and Bars... S M I L E was our favourite place to eat...Christos the owner very cheeky!!!

Book up now before two many people discover this beautiful gem...and the prices go up!!!

Y A M M A S ...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMonkeySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Just returned from 11 nights at the Island Blue. What a treat! The greeks have really gone upmarket on this new hotel. Large spacious bedroom with walk in shower room with power shower. TV, AIrcon & fridge all free. ( best rooms we have stayed in over all the 20 yrs plus we have been visiting different greek islands.
Breakfast was included plenty to eat and great choice. The pools all spotless and really good no doubleing of sunbeds (plenty of room) which again n akes a change. 5 mins walk to sandy beach.

Pefkos itself is ideal and short taxi ride to our favourite place Lindos. We had another amazing holiday with our friends and would definately recommend both the hotel and the resort. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Just returned from a week at the Island Blue (our first visit to Rhodes). The hotel was absolutely great rooms were massive and excellent walk in shower so powerful it almost takes your skin off! Couldn't have asked for nicer rooms to be honest, TV, aircon & fridge all free for once. Reception staff very friendly & helpful. We were only on a B&B basis to give us chance to eat out more. Breakfast was fine, although i think they would benefit from a toaster rather than the basket of lightly toasted bread offered. Although i thought breakfast at 9 would be annoying as we always get up early it was actually nice for a change to get up and go for a walk first, much more relaxing that the usual rush to get out sightseeing. Found the hotel really quiet and relaxing, the pools all spotless really good. Pefkos itself was ideal for us as we like to check out different places to eat and their was plenty of choice. Our favourites being Anixis, Two Brothers and Artemis where we had great reasonable meals. Overall this was an amazing holiday and i would definately recommend both the Hotel and the resort, we will definately go back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing