We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel...so why not rate higher????” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel...so why not rate higher????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, set just outside the main strip in Pefkos, so it is a bit quieter.
We went there for the first time in June this year and were very impressed.
Lovely modern rooms, spacious, helpful and friendly staff, and very clean. Breakfast is the usual buffet style, but absolutely fine, with things cooked to order if you ask.

So why the low rating.....Well the Management need to determine what they want this hotel to be.... The Island Blue is a high quality hotel but part of a chain. 2 of its sister hotels sit next to it - Pefki Island and Lindia Thalassa - and they are a bit cheaper and the facilities are not as nice. So what happens is that a lot of people from these hotels, walk into the Island Blue and use its facilities, meaning they are getting a lot of the benefits without paying the price. There is a beautiful pool are outside the Island Blu restaurant, but viurtually evey day we were there we were flanked on either side by guests from the other hotels. This makes it busier than it should be and some guest therefore not even able to use there own facilities...We spoke to a few people that were a bit upset about this..There are signs saying that Islad Blue guests take preference, but this is not enforced in any way..
What need to happen is that the hotel should be fenced off from its sister hotels, or have areas specifically reserved for Island Blu guests only. Better still make it an adult only hotel encouraging families to use its sister hotels.
If this issue was sorted it would by far be the best hotel in Pefkos.
Would probably return, but definitely return if this issue was sorted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnglandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time tow write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.
The hotel has an official 3 star rating but because it is a new hotel and we have more than 94% scoting from Thomson guests on the feedback the hotel was then upgraded in their brochures to PLatinum - the only 3 star in Greece in what is usually only for 4/5 star hotels. The star ratings are based on facilities provided in the hotel and this is why it is a 3+ star.
With all accomodations the pools and sunbeds are free of charge to all guests and we do try to find a way of limiting the number of outside guests using Island Blue facilities. This agin will be reviewed in the winter time as to a solution for this.
It is not an adult only hotel as we have family rooms within the buildings and families are very important to us and would not wish to isolate any of our guests.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    120
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
237
387
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned after staying a week for my Honeymoon, and wish we had stayed longer, We had a fantastic time, everywhere you looked was spotless (rooms, pool area, gardens, Elia restaurant) , close to the beach and little supermarket, also just a 5 min walk to the main strip with shops, bars and lots of different places to eat Loved eating in several different restaurants, Kyma and Nicolas's just to name two, and drinking in the many cocktail bars, they all had great atmospheres and friendly staff. We stayed bed and breakfast and never disappointed or left feeling hungry, you could have a full cooked breakfast or stick to lovely fresh fruit, yogurt, nuts and pastries, helping yourself to as much as you liked. Stergos the wonderful, funny and chatty pool barman was great, as was the food (and cocktails) you could get their. Greek night on Sunday was lots of fun, with great food and entertainment, we loved the lazy day cruise and a trip through to the beautiful Lindos. We cant wait to return here very soon.

Room Tip: we were in room 261 looked over the pool, mountain and you could see the sea, don't get the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great time here in Pefkos especially as you were here to celebrate your honeymoon - congratulations!

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.

We wish you all the best for your future married life and look forward ot being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We have had the pleasure again of staying at this wonderful relaxing hotel. They have clean and modern rooms, all of the staff are friendly and welcoming and always really pleased to see returning guests. Rooms serviced daily with fresh fluffy towels beds changed every other day. Food at the Elia Restaurant is excellent buffet style breakfast with a huge selection of hot and cold food. Lunch selection at the pool bar is also good we sometimes went to eat at the Pefki Island Pool bar as menu is slightly different and it was nice to see Luca and Maria as we have previously stayed in these resort apartments. The whole complex incorporating the three resorts is well looked after and maintained. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff even the maids and gardeners remember us from our last visit and you will see form the Thomson website that they have again won an award for 2012. The town of Pefkos is a short walk away and so is the beach so lots of places to eat out and the sea is lovely and warm and the beach has showers so you can wash off the sand before heading back yo your accommodation. we are looking forward to booking our next visit for 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingLeacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you returned to us again for your holiday her ein Pefkos and had a great time

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated and will of course be passed onto the staff.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the near future

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

my wife and i have just returned from our 2nd stay at the island blue.we were given a third floor room overlooking the pool and further across to the sea with great views of the sunset on a evening.lovely spacious and clean room with great shower.good breakfast and lunch and spent every day round the top pool next to elia.the staff once again are excellent,friendly,helpful and nothing is a problem.great location just a few minutes walk to the main strip which has plenty of choice for dining out and drinks.cant wait to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy to hear that once again you had a great time with us here in Pefkos.

Thank you very muhc for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.

We look forward to ebing able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week bed and breakfast. Daughter got married in Lindos and held reception at Elia which was fantastic. Louise will meet your every need for your wedding, beautiful for reception. Hotel was fantastic spacious clean rooms pool area beautiful all very clean. Pool bar excellent managed by excellent friendly Stergos. Give this place 5 stars will def stay again breakfast was lovely not like other hotels what resemble canteens quiet calm and classy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sboult3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you ahd a great holiday here with us is Pefkos.

Thank your for all your great comments whic are very much appreciated and will of course be passed onto the staff. It was a pleasure to look after you and your family for your daughters wedding day and we wish them all the very best for their future.

We look forward tpo being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at Island Blue for a week in early September. It was our first trip to Rhodes and we were thrilled at having chosen Pefkos and Island Blue. We had a room on the third floor overlooking the pool and we could see the ocean. The rooms were spacious and well equipped and kept spotlessly clean by the friendly staff. The food at the buffet breakfast was amazing, and they were kind enough to provide soy milk for me. We enjoyed the pool, the sunbeds and the lilos! The location was excellent, a short walk to a lovely long, sandy beach and to the local 'village' with a variety of restaurants and shops. The best meal we had was at Artemis - we would highly recommend the dolmades! The glass bottom boat trip to Lindon is also a must-do. Our only complaint about Island Blue is that on the occasions we wanted to watch TV, a number of the channels had no reception or intermittent reception. We were the only Australians staying at Island Blue (the other guests seemed to be all British) but we will be telling all our friends what a great time we had so there may be more Australians in the future!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms facing west get the sun from late morning and face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinegirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos with us.

Thank you for all your grear comments which are very much appreciated. Sometimes we do occasionally have problems with the TV signal, i hope this didnt cause you too much inconvenience,

We look forward to welcoming you and more Australian guests to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice Lowrise modern Hotel, Big Rooms, Great shower/wetroom. Decent breakfast. Lovely Pool area, lots of sunbeds. Good Location. Whats not to like?. Well I'll tell you. Bed much to firm, Air Conditioning very Poor. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harryshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing