We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like ? Well i'll tell you.”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What's not to like ? Well i'll tell you.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice Lowrise modern Hotel, Big Rooms, Great shower/wetroom. Decent breakfast. Lovely Pool area, lots of sunbeds. Good Location. Whats not to like?. Well I'll tell you. Bed much to firm, Air Conditioning very Poor. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harryshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    127
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
254
403
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've been at the hotel for nights.
The hotel has 4 amazing pools- the one next to the restaurant is amazing.
The staff at the restaurant is very friendly.
The food is really good,we enjoyed the breakfast & the greek night every sunday, it's really recommended: nice concept- by the pool, nice show, nice band & good greek food.
It's not near the beach, you need to walk something like 60 steps and it's bit hard. but if you desire in nice pools & quiet and don't mind to walk to the beach so you'll find this place very comfortable.
they don't have double beds so take it in advance, but the room is quite big. we were not treated with anything which was a bit disappointing (not even fruits). it's usually common to have something when arriving a 5* hotel after a long trip by car/flight. and we were excepted by the lady on the reception in a very cold welcoming.
and another point, most of the hotel occupied by english people. something like 95%. it doesn't bothered us too much except the facts that the breakfast is very english, and the music by the pool is mainly english pop and not greek. We just don't understand why to go to Greece and to eat only British food, and to hear English music and to be only around British people.
so if you desire in a more authentic place you should consider twice.
overall very nice hotel, very friendly staff, and a nice place to relax with good food, on the pool and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests here in resort. The hotel is not a 5 star hotel it is in fact 3 star so im unsure why you would have been advised of this, so im sure this is why you understand there were not the presents you would normally receive in a 5* hotel.
Pefkos generally is mainly British tourists but we are hoping that we will be able to welcome more international guests to the resort in the future.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We returned from our holiday at the Island Blue in August and had a reasonable stay. We have been holidaying in Pefkos for many years and this was the first time we had booked this hotel. The hotel and complex like most people have said is well maintained by hard working and mostly pleasant staff. The rooms were spacious and clean. However our stay at Island Blue didn't get off to a good start. Prior to our holiday I contacted the hotel to arrange a taxi transfer from the airport for us for a speedier transfer as we were part of a wedding party and the rest of the family were awaiting our arrival. The taxi was waiting for us outside the arrivals gate and our cases were loaded and tied up in a small boot by the driver despite my informing the hotel the taxi was for FOUR adults explicitly stating there would be FOUR SUITCASES! Half way there a noise was heard from the boot- MY SUITCASE HAD FALLEN OUT AND WAS NOWHERE TO BE FOUND! We then spent another twenty minutes driving back towards the airport looking for it in the dark-no luck. The taxi driver was very apologetic and told us he would go back and search for it. Next morning my suitcase had turned up at reception thankfully, but the receptionist would not allow me to collect my suitcase until the hotel manager arrived for work to check it!! The manager arrived about 9.30 am and wanted me to open my suitcase and check its contents in the reception area!! No sensitivity towards the situation whatsoever-the anger and frustration that could have been diffused was only inflamed! I had waited all night for my suitcase and the hotel then made me wait another 2 and a half hours for it!! No offer of compensation came forth either, in fact we were charged for the use of the 2nd bedroom in our apartment that we had already paid for (herein lies another story)! As a result we will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INTREPID357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that despite your initial problems that you had a good holiday here in Pefkos especially as you were here for a wedding.

With regards the taxi and suitcase we can only apologise again for the situation and the distress it caused at the start of your holiday. The receptionist waited until the guest relations arrived to give you your suitcase so that you could check that there was nothing missing or broken in case we had to contact the police. There was never an issue of you having to open the suitcase there in the reception and in conversation you decided you were going to go to the room together to do then changed your mind and carried on in reception. In hindsight the situation should have been delat with differently and for this we apologise and the hotel paid for the taxi for you from the airport in recognition of this.

Im unsure of what you are referring to with regards the second bedroom being charged for - what you book with Thomson is what we allocate you from the hotel - we dont upgrade bookings and give larger rooms without it being prebooked. Maybe you were unaware that you had actually booked a 2 bedroom apartment as Thomson sell them as twin 2/4 which can be confusing. We cannot comment on the costs and charges you paid to Thomson for your holiday as this is their pricing structure and not the hotels.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future for another holiday.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Rhodes August 2013. This was our first trip to Pefki resort and we were not disappointed. The coach transfer was around 1hour 20 mins. We arrived to find very friendly staff offering a wide range of drinks. We arrived around midnight and the weather was still hot and humid. We booked in and were taken by buggy to our room (264). This was a great location looking over the pool and bar area. Private balcony great size shower room with ample facilities in the room. The room is made up every day and are very clean. The hotel staff and very friendly so if you have a problem they will sort it for you. The pool side bar is very well stocked with local and international brands so you wont want for anything. The pool barstaff are very proud of the area and are cleaning and serving all day. The only starnge thing that we found was that the toilet facilties are shared by male and female..this was the only thing we found that was difficult. There are some great restaurants along the main road, we went to Enigma, the food was excellent and the cost was good. A must is pane de capa on the corner below Enigma..great staff and a chill out area. None of the restaurants along the main road bother you to go in. A great night out is at the rock bar..great music and a bean bag area to relax in..the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a great two weeks at island blue and are ready to book again for 2014.great holiday destination.

Room Tip: Room 264 overlooks the pool and bar area but most do anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denmatthews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here with us.

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated and will be passed on.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We returned from our holiday at the island blue in August and had a very good time. The hotel and complex like everyone has said is well maintained by hard working staff. Are two children had a fantastic time but I would have liked a little more entertainment for them, They did use the kids club but very little pool activities
Overall a good hotel, I would visit again if in pefkos as it does seem to be one of the better hotels.
Pool was too deep and no slides. And getting a sunbed could be tricky as other hotel users are in early with there towels.
Putting a time restriction on pool as no towels till nine misses the point, you should just show you key if not you get turfed out,
After all you pay a lot more the others to stay here. I'm sure management will defend there idea but it just doesn't work.
I should single out the barman stergos as he works exceptionally hard and a top bloke.
Iron out these small issues and you've got a excellent family complex.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wiggers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests here in resort. The Island bLue is the quieter of the 3 hotels and thats why we do not offer daytime activities at this area - this can be found at our adjoining sister hotels as we found in the past guests from Island Blue wanted a more relaxed atmosphere. Sunbeds and pools are all free of charge to use for all guests but we appreciate what you are saying with regards priorirty to Island Blue guests and this is indeed something that we will try to resolve in the iwnter months before the season opens next year for a solution.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed 28 August to 04 September 2013. This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at the Island Blue and it's as good as ever. Everywhere is clean and tidy, great selection at breakfast and Stergis at the Pool Bar was as good as always. Ate lunch at the pool bar every day. No problem with sunbeds. As we were repeat guests we received a bottle of wine and a fruit basket in our room which was a lovely surprise.We stay B&B because we love to eat at the various restaurants in Pefkos. Didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there. Lovely food and atmosphere at Dama Dama. Terpsis was excellent - my husband had the Tuna and he said it was the best he's ever had. Went to Artemis twice and realy enjoyed it. It was quite windy while were there and the patio doors did make a lot of noise but not enough to stop me sleeping after a cocktail or two. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone - the Island Blue really is a great hotel in a wonderful resort.Will be back either next year or the year after.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

11 days spent here from 31st August, convenient location, great breakfast, best room we have ever had in Greece, hardworking wonderful staff. We would go back without hesitation. The village itself has so many good restaurants, we were spoiled for choice, it is laid back but with plenty of bars. If you want a peaceful, relaxing comfortable hotel, go there. Lots of repeat guests and we can understand why.

Room Tip: Fabulous views from 3rd floor rooms but opt for ground floor with direct access on to pool if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated..

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Property: Island Blue Hotel
Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing