We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mini moon”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just returned from 5 night at this hotel for our mini moon. We have been to Pefkos before and we fell in love with the place so we knew we wanted to go back there. This was our 1st stay at the Island Blue hotel and we were really impressed. The hotel complex is massive, with3 swimming pools so it was never hard to find a sunbed. The staff were really friendly, although I did catch 1 cleaner in our room sniffing my lip balm, which was weird!
We ate in the Elia restaurant on 1 night and I wasn't very impressed with the food, although I was ill that day so it could have been the reason I wasn't keen.
The hotel is defiantly family friendly and there were a lot of children around the pool, this didn't bother us as we were missing our 2 year old anyway.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and if we return to Pefkos I think its safe to say we would return to the Island Blue Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shells761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos for your mini honeymoon. Congratulations and all the best for your future married life.

Thank you for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 790 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Island Blue 17th Aug for 2 weeks. When we arrived check in was quick and efficient. Like others we were taken to our room by a buggy.

Rooms are very spacious, very clean and all over look pool area. Rooms are cleaned daily and towels changed.

We stayed on a B&B basis, breakfast was sufficient, they served bacon, fried eggs, boiled eggs, beans, toast, cereal fruit etc.

We used pool at Island Blue, we were slightly worried about getting a sunbed as previous reviews suggested others out with would come and put towels down, however we had no issues and sun beds were available throughout the day even with towels being put down early morning.

We attended the Greek night which was good, don't think it was worth the 17 euros thou, it would have been better if a couple of tables were allowed up at a time instead of everyone rushing and then standing in a long queue. Never got the chance to have desert as it was all gone by the time we got there.

The resort itself is nice with plenty of restaurants, terpsis, dama dama were our favourites. Would also recommend going to Philosophia which over looks the beach, best view you'll get. We were disappointed with the lack of shops, all souvenirs could be bought from supermarkets which there are plenty.

You can easily jump in a taxis and go to Lindos approx 10min away for 8 euros and this has loads of shops to look though and plenty restaurants to chose from also.

Weather was fantastic, in the 40's everyday and would get extremely windy at nights so slight breeze even if warm.

Would also recommend going to Rhodes, loads of history, shops, harbour etc to keep you busy.

We had a few issues with room however reception sorted this out after 2 days and we asked for late checkout due to inconvenience which they sorted without charge.

Overall really nice holiday and accommodation has been best we have stayed in however resort itself is not interesting enough for us to venture back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward ot being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at island blue for a week, for our honeymoon. The hotel put champagne in our room and have us free wine with dinner at their restaurant 'Elia'.
We booked a package with Thompson and feel we had good value for money.
The rooms were spacious and modern, cleaners once a day; although they just do beds, bins and towels; they didn't replace plates or cups which they should have.
Upon arrival we were taken to our room on a gold buggy and when leaving the buggy came and for our bags for us.
I cannot fault the service.
€38 to keep the room until 6pm as check out was 12pm was well worth it; although I was disappointed that the towels weren't replenished, when playing this amount and clearly it's having the extra time to get ready to go home towels are a must!
The pool and pool bar at blue island was nice, we didn't really have any problems about Loungers etc. some people have moaned about the other hotels using the blue island pool but it is a complex at the end of the day, there are 5 pools and everyone can use anyone! The pools were lovely and cool, clean and well kept.
Breakfast was good, hot and cold drinks, hot a s cold food.
Pefkos is beautiful! I'd recommend hiring a car a d going to Rhodes town as its only an hour away.
Lindos, the next village was lovely; better to go late afternoon/evening time.
There were some great eating places, we loved Lee Beach down by the sea, and Turpsis restaurant.
We were really disappointed with the red dragon chinese, service was awful, highly priced and not very tasty!

There is free wifi in the bar; very handy!!

Overall, we have an amazing time at Island Blue, the reception staff were helpful and all other staff were very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel in an Instant and would def. go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurageary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Isand Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday especially as this was for your honeymoon - congratulations.

Many thanks for all your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.

Wishing you both all the bets for your married life and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Island Blue Hotel from July into August for a family wedding.
The location is great as it's a short walk away from the Pefkos strip which is great to go to of an evening. Local buses are also reliable and cheap and are a great way of visiting other areas of Rhodes.
The food served at the hotel is slightly more expensive compared to what you will find on the strip, however I do believe that it's better quality and therefore you get what you pay for!
The hotel staff at the bars and reception are all really lovely and work so hard; they are a credit to the hotel.
It is definitely not a hotel to take young children to as there is very little in the way of daily entertainment to keep them occupied.
We were only disappointed with 2 aspects of the holiday overall. Firstly, although the bedrooms are lovely and clean, for the price we paid we were disappointed to find there were no double beds, only 2 single beds pushed together. I have stayed in many other Greek hotels where I have paid a lot less money and had a double bed and I feel particularly for the newly-wed couple this was a let down considering the price of the hotel and it's high ratings.
Also I would recommend that you DO NOT use the hotel's laundry service. As we were a group of 9 at the hotel with young children staying for 2 weeks, using the laundry service was unavoidable. However when receiving our items back from the launderette, many of the clothes had shrunk considerably, had burn marks from what we could only imagine as coming from the tumble dryers, and even some did not appear to have been washed at all. The amount of items that were damaged added up to a considerable amount of money so we spoke to management to find out what they were going to do about this issue. Management spoke to the launderette workers who claimed they had 'never seen any of these clothes before,' and much to our disgust he then believed the workers over his own paying guests and came up with a few ridiculous suggestions how the damage may have occurred. This was extremely infuriating as paying customers and really put a downer on the holiday; we had to go on and claim through insurance when we were back home, meaning many of us had no clothes for the second half of the holiday.
Overall the hotel is a lovely place to stay in a very good location and I would recommend it if you are going to Rhodes, however I can't help but feel it is slightly overpriced. I will not be returning... plenty of other places to see and stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to here that overall you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated and do help us to review the services and faciltities we offer our guests in resort. The rooms are not advertised as having double beds and as you can see in all photos online and in brochures this clearly shows this.
The laundry matter is still being investigated and has been the only time this has ever happened here in the hotel.
We cannot comment however about how much your paid for your holiday as a refelction of the hotel as this is down to Thomsons pricing structures not the hotel.

We do hope that you will at some point return to Pefkos and choose the Island Blue once again for your stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Island Blue as we were getting married in Lindos and wanted to stay in Pefkos-our favourite place :) Was more expensive than we usually spend but it was a special occasion and we wanted the best. We were not disappointed, the room was lovely and spacious, clean and well equipped. Perfect for safe storage of my wedding dress and other attire...

The breakfast was lovely too. We ate in Elia one evening it was quite nice but not our favourite.

There were lots of pools to choose from, and we had family and friends staying at Lindia Thalassa and Pefki Islands too, all very impressed with their apartments.

We were very pleased with the added extras too, it was my husbands birthday while we were away and we were offered a discount at the restaurant. On the wedding night the bed was decorated with rose petals and complimentary fruit, wine etc left for us. We were a little taken aback by the little box left on our bed containing items including a condom and a sexy body crayon.. almost a bit seedy but it did make us laugh. :) Also breakfast in bed brought to us the morning after the wedding which was lovely.

Louise is fabulous and was very helpful during our stay.

We were unwell for a few days of our holiday but the TV and comfortable room made it more bearable when we couldn't go out.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we cant wait to go back for many anniversaries.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in pefkos especially as you were here to celebrate your wedding - congratulations!

Thank you for all your comments which are very muhc appreciated and will be passed onto the staff.

We look forward to welcmong you back in the near future for another great stay and wish you all the best for your married life together.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just a few lines to say thank you to all the Management and staff for looking after 70 plus guests Family & friends at our daughters wedding on the 16th August 2013. The Hotel was clean and the service was excellent, everyone enjoyed their 2 week stay.

The Wedding itself went without any problems and our Daughter and her New husband were really pleased with the setting. A special mention to Louise for her excellent management skills, and a big thank you to all the staff with a special mention to Rebecca & Nickos.

This is a beautiful island and anyone planning a wedding in the future should contact the Island Blue first.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScouseWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your excellent review of your recent stay with us here at the Island BLue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had an excellent holiday here in Pefkos especially as you were here for such a special occasion for your daughters wedding.

Thank you for all your great comments whicn are very much appreciated and will be passed onto the staff. It was a pleasure to look after your family and friends and the wedding day itself you all looked fabulous and happy.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks at the Island Blue which I can't fault. Fantastic location but within a short walk to the town centre and the beach. Spent 2 great weeks chilling out. Stayed on a b&b basis. Plenty to choose from the buffet breakfast at the restaurant which also offers lunchtime snacks and good evening meals. Great 'Greek Night' which was a lot of fun! Accommodation clean and more than adequate. Probably the friendliest staff I've experienced. Something for everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your great comments whicn are very muhc appreciated.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
13.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
844 reviews
25.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#1 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: $87 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing