We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I can't really describe how happy I was at the Island Blue. We had been to the neighbouring Pefki Islands Resort 8 times before and loved it, but decided to move on to the Island Blue this time (both are part of the same accommodation and are managed excellently).

From arrival to departure nothing could have been better. All of the rooms have a lovely outlook over the superb swimming pools. The grounds are spotless and beatutifully maintained. Maid service was brilliant. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, lots of changes and variation during the holiday and everything cooked to perfection. Service was superb.

The hotel has a Greek Night. Ordinarily I would avoid things like this (aged 55 and a half) but decided to try it and it was EXCELLENT! I had assumed that the 'Greek entertainers' would be a professional troupe going from hotel to hotel, however the bazouki player was the maintenance man of the hotel and the lead dancer was the pool barman. This made it a really good and friendly night as they both recognised and remembered us from previous visits.

So we have re-booked for next year already.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concorde2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue hotel. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again here in Pefkos and am glad that you decided to try our Island Blue Hotel.
I thank you for your great comments and will be sure to pass them onto the staff - especially our all singing and dancing stars, George and Kosta!
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 789 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

We went to Island Blue with UK travel agent Thomson in the first week of October. What can we say about this hotel that hasn’t already been said? Still, it’s nice to know the latest, so here goes.

It’s well worth its rating as a 4-star and we had excellent value. The price went down dramatically from the previous week but even at peak prices it would still compare favourably with any other of its type in this location. Because of its excellent guest feedback it will be a Thomson Platinum hotel next year which may increase the prices.

Our transfer was much shorter than the Thomson brochure suggested – just one hour instead of an hour and a half but that was because we only had to stop at one other hotel. A nice bonus though. We arrived at 10 pm and were told the restaurant was open until 11.30 if we wanted to eat, and the bars until the last guest leaves!

All the staff we met throughout the week were friendly and helpful - and seemed to enjoy their work even though they must have been exhausted at the end of the season! All the staff we talked to spoke very good English.

Island Blue is part of a complex of three hotels and all guests can use the others’ facilities such as pools and bars. This gave a good choice of five pools – all have slightly different atmospheres from very quiet (the one next to the restaurant) to pretty lively. We liked the one nearest the Island Blue apartments which is a reasonable size. All except the one near the restaurant had music playing most of the day.

Location: The hotels are quite near the beach – only about 5 minutes’ walk but there are some shallow steps down to the beach which would make if difficult for anyone with mobility problems. The beach itself is sandy and clean but very, very narrow – only about one sun-lounger’s width at this point although it widens out to about 20 feet at the other end. The sun loungers and sun shades are €4 a day each, but we were told that often they don’t collect the money. The hotel doesn’t supply beach towels.

Pefkos town is also a short walk from the hotels – less than 10 minutes – and has a huge number of restaurants and bars to suit just about anyone. A bit of a cartel on prices, most seemed to charge the same for the same dish.We recommend Nostalgia and Enigma. There are also two restaurants with good choices of three courses for just under €8 – we thought the left hand one was much the better of the two.

Rooms are lovely and spacious, with air conditioning at no extra charge (unlike the other two hotels in the complex) and the twin beds were comfortable if a bit on the firm side. There was a fridge and kettle, cups and glasses but tea, coffee and milk is not provided so take your own teabags and coffee, or buy at the supermarket just down the road. Sheets were changed once during the week. There’s a TV and a safe in the room but there’s an additional charge for the safe. The bathroom is large, with a lovely powerful shower and no shortage of hot water at any time. There’s a fairly powerful hair dryer in the bathroom, near enough to the mirror. We were on the ground floor so had a pool-facing patio with a table and chairs. Upper floors all have a pool-facing balcony.

Food: Breakfasts were excellent – a huge variety of options including cereals, toast, seven kinds of jam/marmalade (yes, I counted them!), yogurt, fruit juices cakes, ham, cheese and fruit plus all the requirements of a full English breakfast – sausages, bacon, eggs etc. It’s completely self-service and you can sit anywhere. We didn’t eat dinner there, so don’t know what that would be like, although the choice looked good and cost compared well with that of other restaurants in the town. We used the snack bar at the pool a couple of times – it serves quite a decent variety of hot and cold food such as omelettes, salads, pasta, pizza and sandwiches.

Other odds and ends: There’s an entertainments team but we didn’t take part in any of the activities so can’t comment on those. Island Blue has a small library above reception if you run out of books. There’s a Greek night which is supposed to be excellent (we didn’t try that). There’s some low-key entertainment eg band/singers in the bar some nights – quality varies.

We hired a car for three days through Thomson/Budget for €104and went to Rhodes old town (fabulous and not to be missed), Lindos (also lovely but if you’ve got a car it’s best to go late-ish in the day when all the tourist coaches have gone) and the west coast.

Overall, we had a great holiday (aided by perfect weather) and if we wanted to stay in a hotel in Rhodes again we would be very likely to choose Island Blue. We would definitely recommend it very highly. Minor improvements could be providing beach towels, making the safes in the rooms free of charge and supplying teabags and coffee.

Room Tip: All rooms are pool facing, ground floors have patios, upper floors have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaneandIan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in early October of this year.

When we arrived we were greeted very friendly staff at reception who helped us with our bags to our room. The room was huge and we had a good view over the pool out to sea. It had all the usual facilities you would expect.

The hotel is part of a bigger complex which comprises two other hotels. You can use the facilities at the other hotels but we stayed at the Island Blue most of the time. The swimming pool is large and there were plenty of sun beds, although some people still seemed to insist on marking the sun beds with towels and I don't even think they were German.

The only criticism of the pool is that it was freezing cold; if you are planning some form of polar swim the pool could be handy for training. Once the sensation in your body has faded you get used to the cool waters and frostbite isn't too bad, and it's not as if you need five fingers on each hand anyway.

The bars at the hotel and by the pool were fine and seemed similarly priced to others in the town. We didn't try the restaurant so I can’t really comment on that.

Overall I think the hotel is fantastic value for money and you get a lot. I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going to Pefkos.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the pool out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtticusFinch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay here with us at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Pefkos. All your comments are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had stayed in Pefkos before and had vowed to return but wished to find better accommodation than we had previously. Having read the favourable reports of Island Blue on Trip Advisor we booked there for the last week in Sep and first in Oct. The holiday was one of the best we have experienced - due mainly to the exceptional venue provided by Island Blue.
All the accolades in previous reports are true. From the moment we arrived all staff were wonderful. The Rooms are fabulous - large with all amenities and the luxurious bathroom and walk-in shower. Breakfasts provided a vast choice of delicious food and the resort pools are first class. There were a few large, comfortable sunbeds at the Elia Pool but regrettably, those at the main pool were narrow and uncomfortable. This is our only minor criticism in an otherwise exceptional Hotel Resort. Our thanks to all at Island Blue for a truely memorable holiday.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Guests
Many thanks for your fantatsic review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday and appreciate all of your comments.
We very much look forward to being ablke to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great holiday.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Arrived for 11 nights from the 24th September and despite a delay in leaving Gatwick we arrived in good spirits at 10.30 pm. Check in was painless and we were whisked off on the golf buggies to our rooms ( took about 60 seconds ! ) Our room ( 145 ) was superb , Very clean light and airey. Lovely bathroom too. Went straight to the Elia for a drink and was offered a meal despite it now being about 11.30 !! We declined as too say we were tired was a understatment !!.

Room :

Can't fault it really, Aircon worked well , Was kept clean . If i was being picky i would say the walls were a bit thin and if you have a familly next door or above you will here them very easily.

Breakfast:

Again very nice , Buffet style with a good choice . We were B&B and never left feeling hungry, Some may say it was " samey " but just how much variety do you want for breakfast ? Cooked ( bacon, beans, sausages etc ) Cereal , Toast , Fruit and continental stuff , More than enough for us.

Pool:

Excellent , Nice music playing not too loud , Very clean and pleasent. Pool bar was excellent as were the staff running it.

Overall very pleased with our choice of hotel and would have no problem going back.

Pekos:

Loads of places to eat , Never had a bad meal. As per previous reviews we can recommend, Dama Dama , Great food and superb staff ( eat there 3 times ). Elia , Greek night was good as was the meal we had on the Saturday night. Enigma , Nostalga , Philosphia all vey nice. Niklos is also worth a visit again good food and good staff ( eat there twice ).

Beach:

Never went to the main beach down the steps but went to the smaller and quiter beach on the left hand side. About a dozen sunbeds , very quiet and more sheltered from the wind that seems to rise as the day gets on.

Really enjoyed our time there and would not change a thing.

Room Tip: All are good from what we heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We've just returned from a week at Island Blue and would recommend others to stay there. It's part of a complex of apartments and hotels, but Island Blue is the top end. The rooms were designed as apartments, so come with a fully fitted kitchen with appliances, crockery and cutlery. We were lucky enough to have a 4 person room for 2 of us. This gave us 2 bathrooms (brilliant!) with a spare bedroom with extra wardrobe space. Rooms have contemporary decor and are so spacious. All Island Blue room balconies overlook the swimming pool, just one of the 4 pools on the complex. All facilities on the complex can be used by all guests so you just find the snack bar and pool to suit your tastes. There were sun beds always available, but pool towels weren't provided which would have been a useful extra. Reception staff, holiday rep, restaurant staff and cleaners were all excellent. Breakfast buffet was good as were evening meals at the Elia Restaurant. Overall, a really good hotel with a good location which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The best holiday we`ve had in a long time, a lovely hotel,super rooms, excellent pools and terraces, good breakfasts even better evening food and great staff, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHALER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Dear Guests
Thank your for taking the time to write your great review of your stay here with us at Island Blue Hotel - your comments are very much appreciated. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
13.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
844 reviews
25.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range: $86 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing