We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pefkos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amfitriti Hotel and Studios
Ranked #2 of 7 Pefkos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have always been told that you get what you pay for and this place was value for money. I have read the previous reviews and I believe most are a fair discription, except one which was rated at one. They must have been unlucky because this place is definately rated a three if not more.

Six of us were dropped off by the Thompson coach on a main street corner at 00:45 in the morning. The street was too narrow for the coach to take us and so the hotel owner had to collect us in his clapped out Toyota Verso Corolla. To be honest, it only took five minutes for him to collect us and yet the hotel is only a five minute walk from the drop off point.

We were quickly checked in and given our room, 204. First impression was that the room was clean and tidy, had a seperate shower and had a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea, all in all very nice. It was what we had requested. The room was basic with a refrigerator, dressing table, chair and king size double bed. Air conditioning was an extra 9 euros a day (we did not have it).

The bar was still open and we had arranged with the people that we had just met to have a quick drink at the bar. The bar by the pool was where you also ate your breakfast (Bed and breakfast people). It was comfy, small and clean and had most alcoholic drinks. A large beer and a smirnoff ice was six euros. Two large TV screens played video music or football, as we later found out. So far so good. Went back to our room to sleep and oh my god, that big bed had a mattress that was soooooo very HARD, just like a garden bench. No possible bouncing on that thing. Lucky for some. I felt sorry for the honey moon couple who we had just met. Apparantly, having spoken to other people from other hotels in the area, their mattresses were the same.

Breakfast is continental style and the same every day. Yoghurt, Peaches, three types of cereal, brown and white bread, two types of sliced meat and sliced cheese. There is orange juice, tea and coffee. Oh, there is a toaster. It was adequate.

There is plenty of choice for lunches and the food is not expensive.

Looking at the complex, there is a small paddling pool and a mediocre main pool, but plenty of sunbeds. True, there is a small private air strip ten metres from the pool. At least three times a day, you do get a cloud of dust blowing over the complex when the light plane takes off down the griitted runway (It needs tarmac). Did not bother us because we were down on the sandy beach most days, which is only a five minute walk away. Downside is that it costs 4 euros per sunbed per day on the beach. Walk half way down the beach where it is sandy in the sea, the top end is full off huge smooth boulders under the waves which take you by suprise.

There are plenty of taverners/restaurants. One taverner advirtised a three course meal and free 500ml of house wine for 7.90 euros. We tried it because we could not believe it. It was BRILLIANT. Lots of choices including steak.

There are plenty of places to visit: Lindos and athenas temple, butterfly valley, Rhodes old town and lots of ruins. We hired a car for two days at 25 euros per day. The roads are not very busy but the road markings are in need of repair.

Throughout our stay, the room was kept clean and only on sundays, the sheets and towels are not changed.

The staff are very friendly and polite, including the owner. One review tends to say otherwise. You need to be polite and introduce your selfs and talk to people, otherwise what else do you expect. You make the holiday.

As for the toilets. The ones in your room you can use normally, the ones by the pool you have to put the toilet paper in a bin. This is no hardship, as this is a common practise amongst the greek Islands.

I agree that having a room over the pool is not always a good thing, because it does tend to be noisey until 2 am. You can close the patio doors which does drown out the noise, but then the room becomes an oven. Also the staff tend to clean around the pool and prepare breakfast at 6.30 in the morning and they are noisey.

As for your departure. You have to vacate your room by 1200 unless you pay 25 euros (share the cost with a friend) and then you can keep the room till 1800. Yes you are again waiting on the corner for the coach for a good 45 minutes. However, there is a taverner by the pick up point. Just leave your luggage in a pile and have a last drink. No problem.

Would we stay here again? Yes we would.

Pros: Clean
Friendly staff and owner
Near to the beach
Good distance from the noise and night life of Pefkos (5 minute walk).
Ideally situated.
Good food and drink.

Cons: Noise from other residents at night.
Noise from staff in the morning prepoerations.
Dust from the airplane
Hard bed.

Room Tip: Upper rooms to the East and West side are quieter. Go bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Genuineinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We like holidays for the - beach, restaurants and clean accommodation.

Pros - We had a brilliant room with a sea view and balcony. Very Private.

The bathroom - We had a proper shower in a cubicle - compared to other apartments in Greece which usually have a shower head you just hold!!

Spotless rooms - maids did a fantastic job! Rooms cleaned every day apart from Sunday. Clean bedding and towels.

We had one drink at the hotel bar - good prices. My other half went to watch the football there when I was getting ready and always very friendly and turned the channel over for my partner. We ate lunch there on one occasion - good food!!

Perfect accommodation for us - beach very close and clean friendly accommodation. We have stayed at the Matina before (this year Matina was quite expensive). We would return to these apartments.

Cons -

hard beds (however if you have a few cocktails that sends you to sleep nicely!)

Music from pool bar played quite late.

When walking around the hotel there were some smaller rooms on the very lower floor which looked very small and we felt very lucky to have been given our lovely room with sea view ( I think our room was 106/105?!).

As there is a mini run way in front of the hotel ( excellent sea views) - when we stayed around the pool before going on the boat trip when the light aircraft took off it covered everyone around the pool in dust!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShopoholicDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Firstly let me start by saying we didnt actually book to stay here, but our friends did and we spent a lot of time here. The complex is just the right size, friendly and personal. We looked all around the hotel and in our friends pool facing room, all lovely.

The food and drinks at the bar were lovely as was the pool. The runway for the little plane is right in front of the hotel and is really entertaining to watch it take off and land, its very quiet and would not disturb you. Lovely little place we will be staying at next year if we return to Pefkos

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LyndaJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at the Amfitriti Hotel & this was our first holiday in Greece. The hotel was in a great location, close to the beach, shops & restaurants. Our room was clean & had a pool & sea view, but was very noisy until late at night, we could hear loud music & people talking loudly until 2am most evenings. We didn't pay for air conditioning as it was €9 a night so we kept our balcony door open but then had to close it because of the noise ( should be free when this close to the noisy areas)
The shower head maintenance was poor where it did not work properly. Many of the call points on the fire alarm system were broken so how it would of worked in the event of a fire ?
The young girls at the bar were lovely & friendly, service was great,as was the food. The maids kept our room very clean & were always happy & smiley x. Pool was very clean & we always and a sun bed. The only big flaw in this hotel was the arrangement for being dropped off & picked up, as the coach cannot drive right to the hotel because of narrow roads. We were taken by car to a pick up point by the hotel at 7.15pm, left outside a restaurant, to wait for our Thompson coach, 2 hours later, at 9.15, the coach arrived ! This is not an acceptable arrangement & Thompson & the hotel definitly have to make changes as this spoilt our last evening along with the other guests that were left with us. Meet lots of lovely people & had a great time in Pefkos. The photos on their website show that there is a Greek night & pool table but are not actually there.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a fab week at Amfitriti. We were self catering and had everything we needed for breakfast and snacks. We ate out every night and didn't have a bad meal. Our studio was roomy and spotless, cleaned everyday except Sunday by the lovely Maria, bins were emptied every day and towels changed every other day. It was our first time here and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and found them very friendly. Met some great people around the pool who have left us with great memories. "CAN I HAVE THE BALL PLEASE"
Fab and would definitely return, however our 1st love is Crete so we shall see.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Groovychick57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am sure you have read the fantastic reviews for this hotel and want to book it , wait and read this.
I booked this hotel because of it's reviews and one review was bad, so I thought there is always one, perhaps you are thinking the same. PLEASE READ ON.
It says someone will pick you up on arrival and take you to the hotel, this did not happen the rep forgot to inform them and we were dropped on a corner in Greece at 4.45am and left there.
By chance the coach driver passed us AFTER dropping everyone else off and called the hotel to pick us up On arrival I was deeply dissapointed with our room, as I opened the patio doors I thought maybe the view would be great, how wrong we were , we had no balcony just a wall around and no view just another wall. PLEASE read on it gets much worse.
The bed linen was filthy the towels had holes in them no shower curtain, so if you shower the toilet roll gets wet.
The pillows had yellow stain all over them and the mattress had very large urine stains all over.
When I complained, the very rude staff told me WHAT DID I EXPECT the pillows were 3 years old and as for the mattress our rep turned it over only to find the same on the other side. I asked for a room change so I could sleep in a clean bed and was told there were none available. I called our travel company and they told me nothing was available but could go to Cyprus at a cost to me of £1.700 I was appalled .
I was not trying to get an upgrade JUST A CLEAN ROOM.
The brochure also says there is a Greet night , no there is not , it also says a pool table , no there is not BUT there is a flight path for a light aircraft owned by the local restaurant right next to the pool they left that info out, although very interesting watching it take off it also is lovely having to clean all the dust off yourself after when you have sun oil on.
We returned with severe ear infections which the doctors told us was from a dirty pool and have emailed a complaint to our travel company .
So far after 3 weeks not even an apolagy from them.
As for all the people that go back year after year they booked bed and breakfast so they get a better room if you book self catering you don't.

Room Tip: book bed and breakfast not self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We chose these apartments from the reviews, but it didn't live up to our expectations. Although it was in a lovely quiet area and the pool was great, the staff (apart from the cleaners) could not have been more miserable. Agree with the previous review - very cliquey and staff not interested in you at all, in fact you felt at times they were rude. We were there for two weeks and not once did they say good morning, hello or even smile! Shame really, as for this reason we would not go back. Apartments were fine(ish) but that depended on which apartment you were in - some areas have been 'turned into' rooms which are extremely small and I don't think should be charged at the same rate as the older, bigger rooms.

Room Tip: You do not want 307, 308, 317 or 318 - tiny !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amphitriti
Hotel Amphitriti
#10 of 34 in Pefkos
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
789 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
943 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.0 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#12 of 34 in Pefkos
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfitriti Hotel and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfitriti Hotel and Studios

Address: Paralia Pefki, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pefkos
Hotel Class:3 star — Amfitriti Hotel and Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Amfitriti Hotel And Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing