We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Hotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stella apartments were lovely. The staff were friendly especially Joy and the Scottish guy behind the bar not sure what his name is. Joy was a hoot and we got on from day one especially when she called my husband a Macka afer we told her where we were from. (Newcastle).
A couple of things which we werent happy about was the electrics in the apartment they were alot to be desired we found that they werent entirely safe, our daughter got a slight electric shock when she was drying her hair with an English adaptor this could have turned out worse than it was. I informed Joy and the maintenance man checked them out and we were told it was our adaptors as they were English ones...when we had actually replaced them with Greek ones. So to be honest the adaptors had nothing to do with it, in my opinion its definately the electrics in that particular apartment that need seeing to. So the whole of the holiday we were only able to use one plug which was in the living area which was a bit of a dredge trying to do your hair going back and forth to the bedroom mirror back to your hairdryer/straighteners in the living room.
I also found that the Sunbed area wasn't spotlessly clean, the cleaning staff did mop the floors every morning but your feet were filthy as soon as you stepped on the ground. Its the first time ever that we've went abroad to Greece and the ground has not been hosed down as well as mopped. We also found that the ground was so slippy when it was wet which caused several children and adults to slip and fall, including myself, apart from that it was a nice sitting, sunbathing area.
The apartments were clean to a degree and again i didn't complain to Stella or Joy, but our room wasn't cleaned to what i would have expected, i deliberately left the bathroom shelf and mirror to see if it would eventually be cleaned but unfortuntely it wasn't it stayed the same for the 2 weeks we were there, the floor also wasn't cleaned that often either again there were tell tale signs it was only cleaned roughly twice the whole time.
Apart from a few minor moans i have made the Stella itself was a nice relaxed place and i would probably go back there again and i would also recommend it to my friends, I hope that my comments will be looked at and the things i have pointed out will be sorted out for future guests.
Pefkos itself is a lovely relaxed resort, the restaurants we went to were fabulous. Our favourite ones were, Enigma, Terpsis, Coliseum and Elia restaurant/Hotel which is past Enigma about a quarter of the way up the hill, it is clearly sign posted and that is well worth the visit.
Also Pane di Capo underneath Enigma the cocktail bar is really relaxing, music is good and the staff are warm and friendly.
We hired a car for three days, the book that is in your room states that it is 60 euros for 3 days as well as having notices up around the complex, however when we asked Stella about it she said it had gone up to 80 euros for 3 days as its mid season, however no notices advises you of this so be careful when hiring the car from them. (Lindos car hire below the Stella). We found however they were still the cheapest in the resort.
If you do get bored around the pool and fancy a trip out 7 springs is a lovely day out, as well as Hiraki Beach and Rhodes town all well worth the trip.
The bakery on the hill underneath Tsambikos restaurant is by far the best and nicest bakery in Pefkos it is immaculate and the pastries and sweets are absolutely fantastic well worth the visit.
So at the end of this review you will notice good and not so good points but i will say that i would definately visit Pefkos again and i would stay at the Stella again especially if Joy is still there and also if my comments are taken on board.
Thanks to all the lovely people who work in the Stella and the people we met while on our holiday and giving us such an enjoyable time.

Ps Stella get some nice comfy mattresses. xxx

Lisa and Dave Walker (Macka) x

Room Tip: we loved room 507 fabulous views and up in the top corner....lovely and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheWalkers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    171
    60
    18
    5
See reviews for
143
231
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

my husband and i have stayed here a few times ,last time was 7 yrs ago .there was 8 of us.weather was brill,But by god how the price of things had gone up.I love pefkos and if i coiuld ever afford it i would move here,but until the price of things come down dont no when that would be.We had some fab food and one or two not so good.I used to love to eat at the Enigma but what went wrong this time god only knows.there are fab staff at the stella deedee he was a gentleman,joy behind the bar well what a laugh and last of all renata a fab german lady who made us laugh every day ,we miss you very much.i would give this holiday 9 out of 10 .hope to c u all one day soon .xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: we stayed in room 214 grt view no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogsrule2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have just returned from the Stella Hotel Rhodes. The hotel is excellent value but they do have high charges for the air conditioning units we were shocked by the 50 euro charge for one unit which did not work that well (minimum temp of 18c to high actual room temp was much higher). Pool was busy and hotel was only half full. Breakfast was usual continental style, if you had the english bacon and sausage offered it came deep fried not very healthy. It would be wiser to go out for breakfast. Other than that the public areas and rooms are kept clean maid service every day. Staff very friendly, We would return at some point probably for a second holiday rather than our main visit. Hotel is situated within easy walk of some excellent resturants and bars, local taxi rank right outside the hotel very useful for trips to Lindos.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views although ground floor units do have a much larger patio / balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

my first time in greece and stayed at the stella, all i can say is that i love this place. we have booked again for greece next year as my sister is getting married, i would of stayed at the stella again but my sister wanted us all together for her wedding. The staff at stella are fantastic even when u roll in at 1.30am and have a night cap with the lovely women behind the bar.
We stayed in a studio, that was cleaned on a regular basis, the kitchen area was more than adequate for us.
The breakfasts served were also great value for money (not swimming in grease like some places)
Excellent location !
The pool is also fantastic, it has a childrens pool with sunbeds around it and also a play area right next to it.
Overall a fantastic holiday will certainly be staying at the stella again !!!!!!!!!!!!
We also really enjoyed the lovely 'fuse 2' bar what a fantastic couple that own that bar !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanna12371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Stella Hotel for two weeks (just got back a week ago) and I can not find anything but good to say about it. We had an apartment with a separate bedroom, lounge/dining room, kitchenette with hob microwave and fridge, kettle and toaster, bathroom with a bath with shower over and hairdryer and although we did not have a sea facing view we could see the sea from the side between the buildings and we overlooked the flowers and the trees at the rear, we had a huge balcony, quite private and a sun trap from 16:30. Our room was regularly cleaned and linen changed by the ever smiling Maria :). I must agree with other reviews the beds are a bit hard but you do get used to them, I put a blanket under my sheet and that made it easier.

The pool area is great although no depth is displayed, it ran from about 2-3 feet deep to about 7 feet deep at the end near the bar . There is also a small park and pool for children with sun loungers so parents can get some sun while keeping watch, there are plenty of sun loungers so no need to rush down early and a pool table. Joy and David look after everyone during the day and evening and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Stella hotel guests receive a 5% discount card for the local supermarket, Pefkos Central Restaurant and free transfer to their restaurant in Lindos with complimentary wine, although some of their prices were a little higher than others anyway. A beer at the hotel was 4 euro, although at happy hour (2 hours actually) and night cap 2 hours, all is cheaper including wine and cocktails. A larger beer at Jasmin's across the road was 3 euro 30, this was our usual drop off after a long walk, Jasmin's or the one by the beach, Jasmin's also serve some fantastic ice cream, crepe and waffle dishes yummy.

Pefkos is lovely not too big but plenty there to enjoy, a visit to Lindos and the acropolis is a must, you can get the bus, from outside Pefkos by Night, for 1 euro 60 each or a taxi from outside Stella Hotel, for 8 euro but definitely go there for a visit and maybe a bite of lunch looking out over the bay.

There are plenty of places to eat and there were a lot of meal deals around, 3 courses for 7 euro 90, Romeli II, zorbas or Mary and Gina (6 euro 90 and cheaper wine), we found Romeli II the best for service and food, Zorbas seemed a little lacking by comparison and Mary and Gina the food was good but the poor head waiter was frazzled due to poor assistant waiters who kept forgetting things or getting orders to the wrong tables etc. So if you can get there on a quiet evening or earlier evening then it's worth a visit, I hope they sort out their staffing soon because when they do it will be great all round and great value too.

Now if you don't try anywhere else while you are there you MUST try Flavias it was by far the best place we ate and after trying others we kept going back. Flavias moved from Lardos last year and have clearly had no problem establishing themselves in Pefkos as they were always busy. Nothing gets past the head chef without inspection, he casts his eye over everything before it is allowed out to the guests. Flavia and the front of house staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them, visit once and you will be remembered the next time, front and back of house, they greet and wave you off like old friends. So now I should mention the food............ what more can I say other than it was excellent, I have not eaten better anywhere, which is why we returned again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank revolc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Another excellent stay at the Stella fab location right in centre quiet rooms, pool area lovely, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms lovely stayed in a studio very well equipped, good sized studio clean and tidy. Would stay again my family loved the place we had so much fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sboult3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedhampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Stella hotel good value for money & is a great base for a holiday in Rhodes. The apartments were big enough for our family of 4, very clean & well kept, with maid service 6 days a week - maybe we were lucky but the maid always reached us after 10.30 so no being hassled to get up! Pool was lovely & warm & being early in the season there were plenty of sunbeds although in high season I'd imagine it to be a bit of a bun fight. Additional costs in the hotel were for a safety deposit box 20 Euros + 10 Euro refundable deposit & 50 Euros a week for aircon. We found the staff extremely helpful & pleasant. The beach in Pefkos is about 10 mins from the Stella, it's 8 Euros for 2 beds & a parasol, the beach is narrow (only 3-4 rows of beds) which is good with kids as you can keep your eye on them from the comfort of your lounger. The beach is shingle in places but the water is perfectly clear & wonderful for snorkelling and its warmish too (about 26 degs in early June). We also did a glass bottom boat trip to Lindos from Pefkos, which I would highly recommend. It leaves Pefkos at 10am & leaves Lindos at 4pm & takes an hour each way with a swim stop on the way back, round trip is 18 Euros per adult & half price for kids, get there as early as poss though as its first come first served & it gets busy. Yannos the Captain was fantastic & you really can see the marine life in the sea as you travel. In Lindos we took the donkey to the Acropolis which was 14 Euros for 2 donkeys, as the temperatures saured into the 30's it was worth the money! Acropolis is 6 Euros per adult & kids go free - baking hot in there tho. Be aware that there are no toilets in the Acropolis, they are beneath the cafe outside the entrance - also be aware of the rip off merchant in the cafe! There are no prices displayed (only an A4 sized list on the wall behind the counter!) it cost us 18 Euros for 3 slush puppies & a fresh orange juice! From Pefkos we also went to the Faliraki Waterpark on the free bus. This leaves at 9.15 from outside Pefkos by night bar & drops you back about 5.50. Waterpark itself is great, it cost us 70 Euros to get in & food is reasonably priced although people were taking intheir own food & drink too. Be at the bus stop early for the free bus back as when we went it was full by 4.55 and he then left & unsure if another followed. We had a really great week in Rhodes, weather was fantastic (occasionally hitting 40 degs) the restaurants in Pefkos were excellent & very reasonable - catering for all budgets & tastes, there are 3 course set menus for under 8 Euros per person or really great cuisine for 20-25 Euros for 3 really good courses. Because we didn't hire a car we only saw a small amount of this lovely island but what we did see I can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sunqueenBedhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.3 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summer Memories Apartments
0.4 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Hotel

Property: Stella Hotel
Address: Pefkos Main Road, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#11 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Hotel is in the center of the Pefkos resort. The hotel is a complex of 6 separate blocks and most rooms enjoy seaview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Stella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing