We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant holiday with amazing staff and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Evi Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pefkos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evi Studios
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday with amazing staff and location”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited Evi studios in July this year and had the perfect 2 week break. The hotel was easy to find and close to shops and the strip of bars and restaurants. The bar was great with snacks, great food and cocktails. The staff made our stay relaxing and they were all really helpful and friendly. Taz the owner couldn't do enough and all the guests seemed to think the same! The apartments were a good size with all necessities. The apartments in block C where we stayed were really close to the beach, which was quiet and relaxing, however quite rocky! The restaurants and bars in Pefkos were all decent prices and there was plenty of choice. With Thomson we went on 4 excursions which dropped you off right outside Evi Studios. The BBQ and Quiz nights and Med Bar were really good fun and we even won the quiz! getting a bottle of champagne and honey rum. Service here was fantastic! We hope to return in the near future :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 37Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    56
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
101
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Evi studios and apartments are in a perfect location - right above the best beach in Pefkos; just on the edge of ‘the strip’ of shops, restaurants and bars ......but just far enough away to escape most of the nightlife noise of the resort. Accommodation is spread over 3 separate blocks. Block A - next to the ’Med’ bar and pool - seems to be the studios. Newer blocks - B & C - down the path towards the beach, are in a much quieter location - seem to house the apartments. However, the ground floor apartments in those blocks have narrow balconies, with low walls and no privacy at all. The brochure photo of the pool gives the illusion of a spacious pool area, but it’s quite claustrophobic, with loungers tightly packed in and tables around the bar area.

We got off to a bad start on our arrival from the Manchester flight at 1.30am. Very noisy party in full swing in the bar. Taz apologised, saying it was a one-off and normally the music was turned down by midnight. We were given room 208 in Block A. We asked if we could have a room somewhere quieter but this wasn’t possible. Air con and safes are charged for on a weekly (rather than daily) basis, so rather than wait until morning and losing what remained of our first night trying to sleep in a hot & stuffy room, we requested them straight away .... parting with €128 for air con and €45 before we’d even opened our cases. (At 3am though we did have to ask again for activation of the air con!)

Kitchen was stocked with a decent selection of utensils and crockery etc, sufficient for basic self catering (breakfasts/light lunches). A bonus was a sandwich toaster and a kettle. However, we had to request a frying pan (as we like to do eggs/bacon for breakfast). We were told none of the rooms have a frying pan, but the bar does an excellent cooked breakfast ......very crafty! Eventually, after 2 days, Taz did provide us with a very nice frying pan, but added that we were missing out by not having breakfast at the bar!

Our studio was a decent size, attractively furnished with comfortable beds. Also the balcony was fabulous, with a sea view, cushioned chairs and a clothes drier provided - very spacious too. Sadly, no such compliments could extend to the very tiny shower room. The proverbial ‘swinging of cats’ was definitely not an option. The door hit the toilet when opened only about 45 degrees, and could easily take your toenails off if you weren’t extremely careful.

The jewel in the crown for Evi is its proximity to Plakia Beach. Go down the private path and steps onto the beach and walk 100m to the start of the lovely sandy beach, with very comfortable (cushioned) sun loungers. Also, at the back of this beach, the cantina - with its shaded seating area, and sandy floor - has the monopoly on provision of food and drinks (and also beds and parasols at €8 per set). Pity they can’t provide that very lucrative service with more of a smile. By 7pm the old guy makes it clear you’re no longer welcome on the beach - we just ignored him!

Eating out: Strongly recommend Coralli restaurant - turn left out of Evi/Med and walk along the road about 200metres. The welcome is warm and friendly and the food is amazing - traditional Greek food with a modern twist. The desserts look good and taste even better. Very good value for money, but you need to go with an appetite. Turn right out of Evi/Med and walk 200m to where the strip really begins and look out for Spitaki - a very traditional Greek taverna, where you eat in a lovely shaded garden. The food is delicious and the service extremely friendly. Both of these places are proud of what they offer and are family run. Further up the strip there are a few places that do an €8.90 deal, offering a huge and varied selection of starters, mains and desserts. We gave Zorbas a try - with low expectations - and were pleasantly surprised. The quality of the food, and the portion sizes were amazing. Definitely one to try - just feels a bit weird sitting down below the pavement level in a sort of mock amphitheatre - on the corner of the road down to the main beach. Elsewhere the selection of eating places is OK but some are leaning too much towards ‘Master Chef’ presentation of food, eg Hellas, Terpsis and Nostalgia. When I order Kleftiko, I expect lamb on the bone, perhaps wrapped in paper or served in a pot. When it arrived as a slither of lamb, accompanied by pea puree, served on an oblong slate I realised just how commercialised an island Rhodes really is. To be fair though, we did have good, reasonably priced meals in all 3 of those restaurants but we prefer more traditional Greek food.

Leaving day at Evi. Bear in mind that if you arrive late, then you also leave late. There’s a dreadful lack of provision for late leavers. No courtesy room to use. Your only option is to use the shower next to the toilet behind the bar......but be warned, it’s sauna-like in there, so we were dripping with perspiration as we tried to dry off from the shower. Also there’s no lock on the door, so you need to have a partner to stand guard. Obviously you can ask to keep your room - if it’s available - but for the very steep charge of €35 for only 5 hours.

Conclusion: Good location but you really feel like the Evi owners are after as much money as they can possibly get out of you. Best places to eat out at night: Coralli, Spitaki and Zeus.

Room Tip: Studios near the bar (Block A) have lovely sea views but can experience some noise from the bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FyldeCoasterCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just returned from one of the best holidays we've ever had. Not only is Pefkos a really beautiful place to stay, the Evi studios and staff absolutely make the place. We went as a family (although our 'children' are 16 and 20!) and we all had a fantastic time - it suited all of us with time to relax and have fun together. The food, cocktails,BBQ and Karaoke and recently started quiz nights were all great, such good fun.We even won the quiz in the second week and then stayed up late drinking our winnings ( local honey rum - delicious!) Taz, Yannis, Heather, Eddie and Tom couldn't do enough for us - lovely people who took time to make sure our holiday really was the best.
The pool is lovely, the rooms very clean and the location is perfect. Everything is very handy - local shops, supermarket,bus stops. We hired a car in the second week and saw some more of the island but were more than happy to return in the evenings to our lovely Med Bar and Evi studios.
We did not want to leave and both myself and my daughter shed a few tears as we left - lots of hugs and kisses from the staff as we went.

We will be back!!

Room Tip: We wanted a quieter room so if you do too then would suggest a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a first trip to Pefkos, Rhodes, I didn't know what to expect. On arrival, at around 10.30pm we where greeted by the owner of the Evi Studios/ Med Bar. This was a lovely gesture as you normally have to go to a reception desk and be told where to go.

Taz the owner took us to our Studio and gave us a tour of the room, told us how to use things and not to hesitate coming and asking for help with anything. The room was lovely and clean, and equipped with just what you need when self catering.

The pool area had a very good level of hygiene, every day regardless of how busy it got.

The rest of the team at the studios/ bar, where a delight and made the holiday, joining in with entertainment and getting to know people.

The food at the bar was also exceptional, very tasty!

I have no children of my own, but it was a fantastic place for children too, the staff seemed to have lots of patience for the few children staying there.

On leaving the hotel, all the staff came and said goodbye to all of us, which gave it that personal touch, and just made the stay there that little bit better!

I will definitely be returning to this hotel on my next visit to Pefkos!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicki_Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

just returned from a week at evi, great place, great staff.
nothing is to much trouble for Taz and his staff, they are great people who really made our holiday.
the accomadation was spot on, very clean and tidy, the cleaners were very attentive and very polite. the food at the med bar was lovely and well within budget, we spent days lazing around the pool in beautifull clean surroundings, our daughter loved it.
well done Taz and your team - this place is a gem, i am sure we will return year after year.
they evan played the foo fighters
fantastic, relaxing, clean,freindly, value for money, great time
thanks

Room Tip: room 206 is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

came back 10 july 2013 we have been to pefkos before but this was our first time at evi. we really enjoyed our stay. our room was in the block nearest the beach and was very good .we went to the beach every day which was very nice lovely clear water. taz and his staff yiannis eddie heather and tom are very friendly and funny.the barbecue and kareoke night is a great laugh and highly recommended.the med bar is great for a drink and food and to meet people.evi is very handy for the bars and restaurants in pefkos.thanks again to everyone for a great holilday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Second time to pefkos but this time we stayed at the Evi having stopped by last year for a drink and meal. We were not disappointed Taz and his team are brilliant giving you the personal touch and nothing is too much trouble. A well relaxed enjoyable holiday and I would recommend anyone to stay here. A big thanks to Evi and will definitely be going back here.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rooms nearer the beach a lot bigger but who stays in their room a lot on holiday?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pefkos hotels
0.2 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Lindia Thalassa Resort
Lindia Thalassa Resort
#3 of 34 in Pefkos
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pefki Islands Resort
Pefki Islands Resort
#2 of 34 in Pefkos
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Finas Hotel Apartments
Finas Hotel Apartments
#7 of 34 in Pefkos
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Blue Hotel
Island Blue Hotel
#1 of 34 in Pefkos
730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel
Stella Hotel
#11 of 34 in Pefkos
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evi Studios

Property: Evi Studios
Address: Lardos Road, Pefkos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#8 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
pool, activities, multiple units, food served daily (not private rentals) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evi Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing