We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful restarurant”
Review of Cape Mac Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Mac Lodge
Melbourn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful restarurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We dined many times in Froggies restaurant during our four month stay in Cape Maclear and thouroughly enjoyed it each time. Pre dinner drinks can be taken in the lush garden watching the sunset over the lake, and the food is excellent. The steaks were the best dishes we ate in Malawi!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahMelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Cape Mac Lodge turned out to be a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you need. The mosquito nets are the best and easiest to use of any I have seen. The bar and bartender are good and the food served in Froggies is the best I have had in many trips to Africa. The owners and staff did everything they could to help make our stay enjoyable. The location is beautiful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.
I love Cape Maclear and have been several times, when I return I will definately stay at Cape Mac Lodge.

Room Tip: rooms are spacious and have tea/coffee, aircon, great showers, safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanHull_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This is a comfortable place to stay, the four poster style mosquito nets were in good condition and both bar and room staff very helpful, food from Froggies restraunt also good.

At present there is a problem with the neighbours and they are playing loud African Reggae music from 0600 to 2300 to pressure the Cape Mac Lodge into payment. This is significant disturbance and creates a rather antagonistic relationship with the villagers. I would recommend checking that the problem has been settled before staying here.

The beach boys in Cape MacLear are rather tiresome on the beach when simply trying to relax, but there is plenty to do and the place is quite safe with violence virtually unknown

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxinsoxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed a couple of times at Cape Mac Lodge, and is fantastic in setting in middle of Chembe village, just great food by Kondwane the excellent chef, airconditioned comfortable rooms, and great clean swimming pool and jacuzzi. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the stunning view over the lake.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We know Malawi well enough not to expect too much from facilities. This was no exception as the rooms were cramped and lacked basic items such as chairs; whereas the toilet was spaceous and well equiped. There was no anti-mosquito precautions other than bed nets although the owner was keen to stress high risk of Malaria. Coils, spray and or electric deterents would have seemed essential in this area - I got my only bites here!!
Froggys was a marked contrast with good reasonably priced food from a varied menu.
Possibly a good choice for teens to 20s or tough water-sports people but distinctly spartan for over 50s.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleanlivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed in Cape Mac Lodge for a week last October and loved every single minute of it. The lodge itself is in a wonderful location within Cape Maclear and is secluded from the hustle and bustle of village life (althought village life is also to be recommended, but in small doses!).
The rooms are amongst the best I have stayed in in Malawi, (and we are both regular visitors to the country so have stayed in many), they are large rooms, well maintained, and with either a wonderful view of the lake, or the hotel pool. I loved the walk in mosquito nets, having battled with so many others in the past. Each room also has a safe, and tea/coffe making facility.
The staff at Cape Mac Lodge were incredibly friendly and helpful -especially Kenneth, and the chef Khondowne. I am a vegetarian, so can be quite picky about my food, but Chef consulted me every night on what I would like to eat, nothing was too much trouble for him. The food was delicious, and I'm told by by better half that the fish was excellent.
The lodge is run by a French lady, Josiane, who is happy to accomodate any requests, where physically possible. She seems to rule with a firm hand, but it is obvious to any guests that the staff have a great respect for her.
In all, this was a wonderful trip, and we are already planning a return to the lodge later this year.

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireMairead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Nice location, decent looking rooms and friendly staff (on the most part) however lets itself down hugely. The area accommodates a huge amount of malaria carrying anopheles mosquitoes and the Cape Mac Lodge mosquito nets fail to provide any cover at all: huge rips caused by careless staff and the fact that the nets still don't meet the floor or walls meant that there are often more mosquitoes in the nets than outside. The result was a bad case of plasmodium falciparum (lethal) malaria: for a family resort this is inexcusable. In the same 3 day stay at the lodge, we were both given E. coli from the meat served at 'Froggies' restaurant, the combination resulting in a 5 day stay in Malwian hospital. No more needs to be said.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brownhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
0.2 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
15.4 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Mac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Mac Lodge

Property: Cape Mac Lodge
Address: Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Cape Mac Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Mac Hotel Cape Maclear
Cape Mac Lodge Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing