We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to escape Maclear”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domwe Island Adventure Camp
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to escape Maclear”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We went with Kayaks to the island and really enjoyed our stay there. The island is a wonderful place to escape Cape Mac although it is really close (we needed about 40 minutes with the Kayaks). The staff is very helpful and they try their best to make your stay as comfortable and unforgettable as possible. When you bring your own food, it is no problem at all to use the smapp kitchen and just prepare your own snacks.
I find the prices for Malawian rates very much too high, but that makes it probably so exclusive. We paid camping with our own tents 25Dollar per night - with bringing our own food.

Room Tip: We brought our own tent, but you can also rent a tent from the island (I think it is a 4 man tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torvaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice service beautiful place typical relaxation and a great place for a honeymoon.. such crystal clear blue water. so amazing wish we cud have extended our holiday. the staff and chef makes unique utensils. we stayed in the fully furnished safari tent it was so clean felt like a 5* hotel room it even came wit towels. I am from malawi and i was amazed sucg beauty existed n i only started seeing it now.

grant n gillian

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILL109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnhout
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent a couple of nights in a fitted tent, and this camp is by far one of the nicest places I have ever been. The scenery is truly fenomenal, everything is eco-friendly, and the staff are among the warmest people I have met in Malawi.

We were lucky enough to share the island with only one other couple, making the back-to-nature experience unforgettable.

Although we gladly spent our money on this location (and we don't regret it), we do feel that it was overpriced.

Basically, you already pay a huge amount of money just to stay there for one night, but that money doesn't include anything else other than the fitted tent.
You pay extra for the boat to get there (and even more if you use the kayak), you pay way too much for a drink, you pay extra for snorkelling, you pay too much for a kayak, etc, etc. And although the place is self-catering (so bring your own food), you need to pay 35 (?) dollars if you want the chef to prepare the food that you already bought yourself (!!!). Of course we did not use this option, that's just ridicilous. All of this adds up to a sum of money that is actually too much in comparison to what you actually get...

I'm glad we did it, but I wouldn't do it again unless prices become more reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willemE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We kayaked all the way to this camping spot from the main land.Upon arrival all you see is the magnificent beach and vegetation. The stylish camping tents are well hidden within the marvel of this exotic island. It is so private that u can easily think you are the only guest there; It is sooo easy to get lost in time. Activities include snorkelling, kayaking and hiking/mountain clumbing. We spotted a civet cat and some bush pigs and a lot of bird species. Come braai on the beach at night or indulged in their set menu which include some Malawian delicacies. Beatiful Peaceful and everything a dream holiday is made of.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayGee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only spent 1 night on the island but we loved it and would have liked to have stayed longer. Two of us kayaked over while two of us took the boat with our luggage and supplies which was convenient because you can't fit much into the kayaks. The island has a private beach and you can bring your own camping supplies or stay in one of their furnished tents, which we did and thought it was worth it. You can go snorkeling or hike up the hill to the top or just lounge around in one of the hammocks and read a book. We very much enjoyed going as a small group. I'm not much of a camper but this place was great.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The place is self-catering and we didn't have very many supplies with us, so one of the staff members paddled out to a local fisherman and brought back some fish for us. In the evening, the staff called us over to see the bush pigs rummaging around for food. We even got to see a civet cat.

For food, make sure you bring enough! I'd recommend stopping by a supermarket before getting to Cape MaClear as there isn't much in the way of supplies. There are a few small shops where you can buy eggs, bread, beans, chips, tomatoes and some bananas. They even sell cooking oil in small clear bags. They have a kitchen and salt and pepper on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loaded our backpacks onto the kayaks and paddled to Domwe island for 3 magical nights. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a fish braai on the beach. We camped on a wooden deck overlooking the lake. Walk to the top of the hill for a beautiful view. You must take all your own food with but you can buy fresh fish from passing boats and there is a bar. Snorkeling is excellent.

Room Tip: You need to bring your own tent or stay in one of the safari tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed on Domwe Island for 4 days in June, what a great time we had. We kayaked and swam in the warm clear water. One day we climbed to the top of the hill behind the camp, from here you can see for miles across the blue lake water to the distand mountains of the rift valley.

The camp is great, comfortable beds, quite surrounds and attentive staff. A wonderfull no fuss place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domwe Island Adventure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domwe Island Adventure Camp

Property: Domwe Island Adventure Camp
Address: Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park 48, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unleash your inner islander! Island paradise as it is meant to be - deserted and wild with ancient forest and crystal-clear waters teeming with tropical fish. Kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving and exploring on foot fill the days; while a cold drink and quality hammock-time in the sunset-facing camp add a dash of style to the nights. Self-catered and self-guided, a visit to Domwe Island is ideal for active people who prefer doing their own thing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domwe Island Adventure Camp Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing