We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodge for water sports activities on lake malawi”
Review of Danforth Yachting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Danforth Yachting
Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you want to enjoy water sports on lake malawi, this is the place. Not only does Danforth carry an extensive range of high quality equipment, the team is ready to help you enjoy it regardless of your level. PADI scuba diving, sailing, speed boat, and the lovely Mufasa. My dive, any early morning hike and a lakeshore paddle were all arranged seamlessly. New mountain bikes are in and the generous sized plunge pool in a perfect size for cooling off.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank LoisJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have stayed twice at Danforth Yachting and the quality of the accommodation, activities and general hospitality remains the best you can find along Lake Malawi. We look forward to our next visit later this year the continue with our PADI training!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcameroncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at Danforth. Felt like a home away from home. We were welcomed with smiles and shown to our rooms which were spacious and comfortable. Equipped with all the necessary amenities. The views of the lake are breathtaking, especially at sundown and its a small lodging setup so you meet great people, but are able to spend some time being reclusive if you want to. I'd advise you to do the many activities on offer from Danforth (We loved our snorkeling adventure and seeing all the fish eagles lined in a row). Would have loved to take a diving course but we didnt have time. Oh and the food is amazing. All in all a perfect place to experience the spellbinding beauty of Lake Malawi!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nthabiseng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

After safaring for a week, we needed to finalize our trip at a nice and calm place. This was perfect! The owners Michelle and Howard were fantastic hostess from the minute we walked in! The bedrooms were excellent (we had a master suite for us and another one with two single beds for the kids)great mattresses and fresh linens. The kitchen crew was fantastic! We give them a ten for every meal served! Everything was impeccable til the end. Michelle made sure we even had packed lunches for the trip back to lilongwe. We can't say enough. 5 star hotel in the middle of Malawi! Kids had much fun at the pool and trampoline! And they absolutely loved snorkeling in Tree anchor bay , Lake Makawi.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILENADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I recently had a holiday at Danforth Yachting (Cape Mclear). It was absolutely fabulous and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful location. It is managed by the owners who are both excellent hosts and go out of their way to ensure that you are happy and comfortable.

The accomadation is very comfortable, the food is excellent and the staff are very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Unfortunately we only spent 1 night here, along with Louise Hahn, but we LOVED it! From the second we were welcomed by Michelle & Howard, we felt at ease & very relaxed. Our room was lovely & airy, clean, comfortable & the grounds are beautifully maintained. The view out to the lake is like nothing we'd ever seen before. Louise took us to Beaver Point where we snorkelled in the clear, warm waters of Lake Malawi. The colourful fish & clear blue skies made this an unforgettable experience. The soft white sand, the softly swaying palm trees made this an idyllic location. We really felt like we were in paradise.
Our meals were excellent & nothing was ever too much trouble. We went out to a nearby island on the lake & snorkelled some more & fed fish eagles. It was absolute heaven.
We had cocktails as we watched the sun setting, & Howard told us funny stories at the bar.
We will most definitely recommend this place to everyone & hope to return soon, but this time for LONGER!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicamunro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A wonderful location and a well managed lodge. The food is excellent (compliments to the chef!), the rooms clean and well-supplied, and the owners make you feel at home. We went snorkeling (great for the kids) and swimming and enjoyed it very much. The sunset cruise on the catamaran Mufasa was great and is highly recommended. Not to be missed if you are visiting Malawi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELG1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
4.4 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
26 reviews
17.9 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danforth Yachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danforth Yachting

Address: Cape Maclear Road | Stand CM10, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danforth Yachting, situated on the beach at Cape Maclear bordering the Lake Malawi National Park, offers superb lakeside accommodation. Danforth is both a luxury lodge and a Malawi yacht charter company. The Lodge has eight spacious, en-suite rooms, tastefully decorated in cool, nautical colours and all opening onto a large patio. All rooms have spectacular lake views. Swimming pool, watersports, scuba diving and sailing. Double, twin and family en-suite, air conditioned rooms. Great hosting. Excellent meals. Full board. Bar with DSTV. The live-aboard catamaran yacht Mufasa, a 10 berth luxury yacht, is available for crewed yacht charters to the far corners of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Danforth Yachting Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing