We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven seniors on safari”
Review of Danforth Yachting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Danforth Yachting
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Seven seniors on safari”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a beautiful place to relax after a busy hot 40C safari. Howard & Michelle are so wlecoming that you instantly feel at home. The rooms are bliss with their air conditioning so it is easy to sleep at night. There is plenty of activity on the water or you can laze the day away in the shade with a book, drink and the odd dip in the pool. The food is wonderful and the staff friendly & helpfull. We left with regret to come back to England in November with great memories to keep us going through the winter. A perfect end to a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
55
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fringilla, Zambia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

A small group if us flew in and were met at the strip at Monkey Bay Harbour! What a wonderful spot we arrived at after a short trip by car! Had 2 lovely days on the lake snorkeling, diving, sailing, skiing and catching up with some serious relaxation! What a weekend! Will be back for sure! Big thanks to Michelle and the very friendly and helpful team for taking good care of us all on our short stay! Lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julz247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I were due to spend two days at Danforth, at the start of our three week tour of parts of Malawi and Zambia. Sadly, SAA delays meant we only got two nights and one full day here. Even so, it was worth the 4 hour drive to and from Lilongwe!

So often you arrive at a "resort" promising sailing, diving, water skiing, etc. only to find that the equipment is broken or not available, so it was a relief to find that Danforth lived up to its billing. Howard and Michelle promise cat and dinghy sailing, yacht cruising, water skiing, snorkelling and scuba diving - and deliver them! In one day, (during which I, being clumsy, managed to break a toe!) we weren't able to do everything, but the cat and dinghy sailing was fun (and quite breezy in the morning), the late morning fresh water scuba diving and snorkeling among the cichlids off an island a mile offshore was special, and we wish we had had longer there.

The rooms were clean, fresh and bright, and (with the a/c on) cool at night. The food was very good, and plentiful. The communal areas, of the bar/diving centre, dining room and "lounge" (where tea and coffee are served), are cool and comfortable and open and very pleasant to sit in and chat with other guests.

Unlike other places we stayed on the lake shore (and elsewhere), Danforth is well maintained, freshly painted, clean and really very well done. Long may it continue; if it does, I hope we'll return...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Danforth for one night at the end of a lovely week in Malawi. I agree with all the previous reviewers - beautiful location, gorgeous setting, most up-market accommodation in Cape Maclear.

Rooms were very clean, and beds very comfortable with good quality linens. Staff helpful and very friendly, especially the Manager, chef and owner.

One of the real upsides of this place is that it is "up-current" from the village so swimming is relatively safe as the water is pretty much free of Belharzia, although there is also a very nice pool if you are not prepared to take the chance in the lake.

A couple of downsides would be that it was too pricey for essentially a nicely done up motel, having said that it has the market cornered for upscale accommodation in Cape Maclear so I guess they charge what the market will bear. The other downside is that we found the food a bit patchy - some lovely (lunch and breakfast) but some slightly odd combinations served at dinner. We were expecting great things given the french chef, and all was good to ok, but not great. We also found sleep quality a bit patchy as there was a noisy group in the hotel that kept us awake while they were at the bar, when they left to go bar hoping in the village and when they came back after bar hoping.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice but perhaps pack the ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Slightly odd place in some ways. It's quite small, occupying a beautiful lake-front location at Cape McClear, but it's the only luxury place planted down in the middle of a lot of very poor countryside. The lodge is owned by Howard, who's real passion in life is his catamaran, moored just a few yards offshore. He's around a lot, but leaves the lodge management to Babette, and her husband Jerome (who is an excellent chef). Overall our stay there was very enjoyable, but it's a mixed bag of things. On the negative side - the 3-hour+ transfer from Lilongwe is NOT enjoyable, or even very interesting, meals are at very fixed times (including being summoned by a gong), there are a lot of notices/ rules, the property is VERY small, there is something of a (not discussed) security problem (bars on windows, CCTV etc), and the pool is rather small. On the positive side - the rooms & en-suites are clean & comfortable (if a little tired in the decor department), they have mosquito nets & a turn-down service, the food is superb, the laundry service is fast and efficient, there are lots of water-sports activities to do (some are free, some chargeable), it is very quiet, restful & relaxing, and the catamaran Mafusa is a great experience for an evening sun-down cruise ($40pp). Howard, the owner, is a bit of a silverback - it's his domain and he lets you know it. It's obvious that the yacht and yachting are his real passion, not running the lodge. However, overall we very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: As far as we could see, all the rooms were exactly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Probably the best place to stay in Cape Maclear. Away from the noisy backpackers areas, you'll find a great spot to rest and enjoy the lake. Staff is just great and they make sure the service quality is high. The food is exquisite and rooms are spacious and very clean. Actually there is nothing to criticize, but....we still thought the room rate was too high (~$380 p/n). Of course a lot is included such as the use of non-motorized water sports to explore the lake, breakfast, lunch and dinner, and laundry as well. Surprisingly, drinks are then not included for that amount (not even soda). As mentioned, the rooms are fine, but not the most modern or nicely decorated ever. All in all, we were satisfied with our stay, but still feel we overpaid a little.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Danforth on the recommendation of a travel agent in Blantyre. The location is lovely, the room was charming and the food was very nice. There was however a slight air of contrived orderliness that felt regimental and attentivenes that is just a little too full on for my taste. It is obvious that Howard and Michelle run a very tight ship and i am sure that for many this is fine but for me, the attention was just a tad oppressive which made it difficult to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcody58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Maclear hotels
4.4 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danforth Yachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danforth Yachting

Property: Danforth Yachting
Address: Cape Maclear Road | Stand CM10, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danforth Yachting, situated on the beach at Cape Maclear bordering the Lake Malawi National Park, offers superb lakeside accommodation. Danforth is both a luxury lodge and a Malawi yacht charter company. The Lodge has eight spacious, en-suite rooms, tastefully decorated in cool, nautical colours and all opening onto a large patio. All rooms have spectacular lake views. Swimming pool, watersports, scuba diving and sailing. Double, twin and family en-suite, air conditioned rooms. Great hosting. Excellent meals. Full board. Bar with DSTV. The live-aboard catamaran yacht Mufasa, a 10 berth luxury yacht, is available for crewed yacht charters to the far corners of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Danforth Yachting Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing