We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone”
Review of Danforth Yachting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Danforth Yachting
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is one of those great little places that has something for everyone. Nestled on the shore it is perfect for swimming, snorkeling, diving and water skiing. For the less adventurous, it is the attention to detail and the personal touches that really set it apart. There are plenty of lounge chairs to relax in, magazines to read, all day tea and coffee, biscuits in the morning, cake in the afternoon and fantastic meals generally. This is a great place for kids. An in-ground trampoline and pool mean you can watch the kids without leaving your banana lounge - always a bonus. Staff are friendly, accommodating and happy to help out with babysitting when needed, sometimes with assistance from one of the other guests you will be sure to get to know over breakfast or cocktails - it is that kind of place. And whilst not to be encouraged, if you do happen to dislocate a shoulder for example, it is good to know that there is a great little clinic just up the road that will sort you out faster than your average ER.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Danforth Yachting
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 148 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

When we arrived after 3 1/2 hours drive through the wonderful landscape between Llilongwe and Cape MacLear, we didn't expect such a beautiful place. Situated directly at the beach of the Lake Malawi - at the one end of the little village - we loved every minute of our stay at this very special lodging.
It's the perfect place to unwind and relax. Our hosts, Michelle and Howard, were charming and friendly and we were quickly accommodated and welcomed to this wonderful lodge.
We stayed in one of the spacious rooms (Port-room), with a large king bed, seating area, aircondition, fan, safe, hairdryer, tea- and coffee-facilities and ensuite bathroom, which has even the same size of the room - with shower and bath tub.
All the rooms have views to the lake with a seating area on the veranda in front of the rooms and direct access to the beautiful garden and beach. Breakfast and Dinner were superb, Jan and his team prepared delicious meals for us.
The focus of the lodge is definitely on watersport-activities. And our focus was on scuba-diving and snorkeling. This was great. The temperature of the water was roundabout 27 degrees. The underwater-sighting was perfect, the underwater-world impressive with a lot of rock-formations, colourful fishes and on the way to the diving-spots with a lot of sightings of fish eagles and kingfishers around the small islands. Matthew, the dive instructor, did a great job. The whole staff of this watersport center at the lodge (and this applies to all lodge-members of the staff, especially Pippa and Shelby) was helpful and accomplished, nothing was too much.
The sunset-cruise on the yacht "Mufasa" was definitely a highlight of our stay - this is an activity which should not to be missed. We did it twice.
Over all, it was a great experience we shall remember for a long time. And we can highly recommend Danforth Lodge and Yachting as a great place for relaxing and a lot of watersport-activities directly at the doorstep of the lodge and - which makes it in addtition perfect for us: with a very personal touch and wonderful people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Danforth for a long weekend and to celebrate a fairly significant birthday (of mine) and had a superb time. My only regret is that we only stayed for 3 nights. The lodge itself is fantastic, the rooms are lovely, the food divine, there is an excellent selection of wine and the staff are amazing. What I loved most about the place is there is so much to do, morning swims from the island, sailing, scuba diving, water skiing, walks and bike rides. Or you can just relax out in the sun and read. This place has it all. We got some great waterskiing instruction and I managed to get up on one ski with a never before teaching method-thanks Howard! We also had a superb party for my birthday, I thought I was safe requesting karaoke in the middle of Malawi, but the team at Danforth even managed to make that happen.So if you like your holidays with the option of a bit of adventure and activities you'll love this place. I did.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We had three lovely days at Danforth. The Lodge is set in the most beautiful location and there is an array of water sports on offer, the food is very good and plentiful. Howard, Michelle and their staff run a very " tight ship" but also manage to create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere quite a feat! We hope to be back

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myholidayhints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After our safari in Zambia we spent 6 nights at Danforth Yachting, mid-October. It is a great place to kick back and relax. We spent our time visiting the nearby village, discover scuba diving, snorkeling, canoeing, catamaran sailing, a sunset cruise on Mufasa and playing the local game Bao (Jan taught us well!).
The owners Howard and Michelle and host Pippa & Jan were more than friendly and catered to our every wishes. Jan runs an excellent kitchen, serving wonderful b'fast, lunch and dinner and cakes in the afternoon. The food is fresh and it is a miracle to see some of the ingredients being served at such a remote area.
The rooms are basic, but very nice, with the welcome luxury of silent, well-functioning(!) air conditioning.
For our last night we had an extremely late flight back to Nairobi (02h30am) and Howard allowed us to spend the full day at the lodge. The driver picked us up for a transfer to Lilongwe at 3.30pm. In Lilongwe Howard had arranged a dinner at a beautiful hotel/restaurant where he had also ensured that we could use a room to shower and refresh. This was such a welcome gesture and ensured that we had the most wonderful vacation all the way to the end (instead of spending hours at the airport). Would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My forth visit to Danforth Yachting and it's like staying with friends without having to help with the washing up :-) In seriousness, I would find it very difficult to come to the Lake and not stay with Howard & Michelle, even if it only was for 2 nights again this time. If it's your first visit I would recommend at least 3 nights so you have time to try out all the water-sports and still get a chance to chill out on the daybed above the bar, or in the garden, or in the beautiful and air-conditioned room...
For me the Mufasa Sunset Cruise is unmissable: Howard's sundowners G&Ts are legendary and the sunsets are spectacular!
If you're into swimming, one of the less obvious things to do is a swim back from Thumbi Island which I finally did on this visit and loved.
Do as much or as little as you fancy - all the staff are lovely, helpful and go out of their way to make your stay special.
The meals are freshly prepared, beautifully presented and most importantly delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaM_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Danforth lodge is an excellent spot with beautiful views over lake Malawi

Your stay can be relaxing or as strenuous as you wish as Howard the owner is happy to provide lots of activities.

In six days when spent two days on a yacht visting very unique and remote spots including a village right on the mozambique border that I guess hadn't changed much in 500 years.

My son learnt to waterski really quickly with Howard. We also went kayaking, Dart sailing and on a snorkelling trip

All activities are very cheap or free

The food is excellent, the rooms really nice. The owners Michelle and Howard are very hospitable and the hostess Pippa is lovely as is Jan the chef.

The local staff are all super particularly the sailors and I particularly liked the instruction and humour of Victor. The on yacht chef Dixon was also a real laugh

One little thing is there is some Bilharzia in the area but one tablet when you return will fix it if you happen to pick it up which is unlikely

I guess this is the best place in Malawi and very very well done.

Room Tip: Talk to the local staff they are very nice and interesting if you can get over their initial shyness...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
4.4 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chembe Eagles Nest
Chembe Eagles Nest
#1 of 1 in Chembe
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danforth Yachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danforth Yachting

Address: Cape Maclear Road | Stand CM10, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danforth Yachting, situated on the beach at Cape Maclear bordering the Lake Malawi National Park, offers superb lakeside accommodation. Danforth is both a luxury lodge and a Malawi yacht charter company. The Lodge has eight spacious, en-suite rooms, tastefully decorated in cool, nautical colours and all opening onto a large patio. All rooms have spectacular lake views. Swimming pool, watersports, scuba diving and sailing. Double, twin and family en-suite, air conditioned rooms. Great hosting. Excellent meals. Full board. Bar with DSTV. The live-aboard catamaran yacht Mufasa, a 10 berth luxury yacht, is available for crewed yacht charters to the far corners of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Danforth Yachting Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing