We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil backpackers ideal for camping”
Review of Indaba Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indaba Lodge
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We originally stayed at Fat Monkeys for 1 night but after walking down the beach we came across Indaba and instantly collected our tent. We ended up staying here for 4 nights and loved it. The staff are really friendly and the food was well priced and of good quality. The camping was pretty much on the lake but with plenty of shade as the gardens are well landscaped. For the World cup final they cooked a BBQ and the locals came to watch. We would definitely come back again it is one of our favourites in Africa for Backpackers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frydayuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just came back from a two week holiday in Cape Maclear, Malawi. We stayed at Indaba Lodge, a very cosy backpackerslodge with a nice beach area at the lake. The staff was very friendly and helpful even protective sometimes. We enjoyed the shaded area and the bottle bar, a good swim in the lake and very good meals. The menu shows a lot of nice dishes which are well prepared. We specifically liked the Indaba Woodland Salad!
So if you ever travel to Cape Maclear, ..... Indaba Lodge, where every sunset is more beautiful than the one you saw the day before!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hetje1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the little campsite of indaba lodge for a week. The campsite overlooks the beautiful lake. There is a restaurant with tatched roof and a little beachbar. There is a nice athmosphere, friendly staff and football matches showed on tv attract both Locals and travelers. We enjoyed our stay at Indaba a lot!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank evelinekruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Lagotrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfox131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Maclear hotels
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indaba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indaba Lodge

Address: Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range: $16 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small friendly backpackers lodge with restaurant and bar right in the heart of Cape Maclear. Beachfront location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indaba Lodge Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing