We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Thumbi View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thumbi View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Chris and Noleen are a wonderful couple, Noleen and Chris, that have taken over the property and made it a wonderful cozy place. Very good rates and helpful staff. The place still under refurbishment but the scenery makes for an absolutely wonderful travel. Will definitely go back again, enjoyable stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorothyMokale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 157 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

While I didn't stay here, I did stop by on several occasions to eat and hang out with Noleen and Chris. Each time was great and was treated like family. One night it was sundowners and another it was a wonderful braai. Would recommend this to others visiting Cape Maclear!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Evan1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi Evan, thank you for joining us and good luck with your trip and your climb. We hope that if you return to Cape Maclear you will come say hello or stay here! Chris and Noleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We are a couple from Norway who stayed at Thumbi View Lodge. The lodge is newly opened and has a lot of work before it is completely finished. However, that does not mean that the stay here will not be wonderful. The rooms are neatly furnished with bathrooms, fans and mosquito nets. We stayed in a room with a beautiful view to the beach and we woke up to the sound of waves. Noleen with her crew are the most service minded people we have met and will do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable. They have great food too! Bicycles can be rented and they have many great tips on activities to do. We felt very welcomed and at home here, a lodge with soul and great potential. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi there. We really enjoyed your visit and hope you guys decided to open a lodge before you hit 40!! Good luck with the wedding and we hope you see you back very soon! Chris and Noleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Thumbi View was recommended to us by the locals during our minibustrip to cape maclear as the a great and cheap place to stay. The quality exceeded our expectations!

The new owners are super friendly and helpful, everything is renovated with excellent en suite bathrooms. Noleen makes delicious food! The view is magnificent, especially the sunset.
Great location to check out the town, make a kayak trip, go snorkelling or diving.
It really is the perfect place to stay in Cape Maclear (Chembe) (we stayed for 5 days).

Jasper & Iris

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having stayed in various backpackers around Zambia and Malawi, we were very much of the mindset of let's just book whatever is cheapest and if that's a 16-bed dorm then so be it. We were told that this was the cheapest place in Cape Maclear and it really is.
With that in mind, we didn't expect to get ENSUITE! Admittedly, this lodge has just been reopened after a long time and so I'm not sure how long it will remain at these prices but if you can get yourself to Cape Maclear sharpish, you're in for a treat!
We were so well looked after (i.e. free burgers when Noleen found out how destitute we were) and Chris and Noleen have big plans for the place so I'm very excited to see what happens to this place in the future.

On another note, make sure you take PLENTY of money to Monkey Bay/Cape Maclear, we were a bit unprepared and had to budget ourselves, luckily everything was super cheap but we could have done with extra cocktails!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13ErinM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we where two couples from south afrika who had a wonderfull stay at Noleen and Cris they went out of there way to make our stay something not to forget we went on a boat trip to Thumbi island which they recommended. This is a e lodge that you can aford the food the best
keep up the good and hard work you two are putting in to the lodge send my regards to the
old man (Piet) will see you soon love Jenny and Jan Potgieter

Room Tip: nice beds hot water cold beer and drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We finished our backpacking trip with 4 days at Thumbi View Lodge. For a cheaper price than other hostels in the area, we had a double ensuite room in such a beautiful location. There are sunbeds you can use outside and snorkelling equipment to borrow. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and made us feel so welcome. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
4.2 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
87 reviews
23.6 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.4 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
37 reviews
15.5 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 30 in Mangochi
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thumbi View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thumbi View Lodge

Address: Village Road, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park 0157, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range: $18 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on over for the holiday of a life time! You have an on site scuba school, or snorkel surrounded by over 1000 species of brightly coloured cichlids. Rent a kayaks, go sailing on our 18 Foot Catamaran, go Thumbi island and have a BBQ and see Fish eagles up close. Then come back to the lodge, order a sun downer and sit in the pool whilst watching the sun set over the magnificent lake, nature's show of colours as you have never seen. Transfers to and from the lodge available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thumbi View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thumbi View Lodge Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing