We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on Cape Maclear!!”
Review of Mgoza Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mgoza Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family and I came up to Cape Maclear from Blantyre for the Easter holiday. My parents had visited the lake before, but it was my first time. We had heard the food at Mgoza Lodge was supposed to be good and we were not disappointed!
The Location is excellent with fantastic views across the lake and the dining area large and spacious. The owner was very welcoming and knowledgeable and all the staff were extremely friendly.
The food was not only excellent but great value. The menu is not largest on the beach front, but they clearly know what they do well! The fish was fantastic!! We would highly recommend the grilled Kampango, The fillets were huge, fresh and had great flavour. I had the goat burger which was one of the best burgers I have had here at Cape Maclear.
My parents also had a chance to take a look at the accommodation while we were there. Due to the large, clean, airy rooms, they have actually booked to stay at Mgoza Lodge when they come back with friends from the UK in a couple of months.
Thanks to everyone at the lodge for a great evening. We look forward to seeing you again:)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank jp_harvey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Actually he wasn't grumpy at all,we had a fine drink and chats and he's full of good information. The bedrooms are all different but big and funky..ours had the biggest double bed by far either one of us has ever slept in ,and comfortable too.And a very cool kind of sunken bath with a view. The place has a wonderful garden right over the beach and a restaurant with equally fine views of the lake selling fine food and reasonably-priced drinks. Comfy cane chairs and hammocks dotted about the garden. You get sick (but not on the great food here) Al's missus is a doc! Top place to chill absolutely for a week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingJim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were here for only one night, and enjoyed our stay.

The rooms and beds are really good, actually, they were the best we had in one month of travelling through Malawi and Zambia (and the mosquito nets were actually without holes).

Overall, everything was just fine. We didn't stay long enough for a more in-depth review.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willemE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've been visiting Cape Maclear regularly for the last five years, have stayed in all but the very exclusive lodges and can comfortably say Mgoza is the best of the lot!

The rooms are very reasonably priced, clean and have real character. The food is amongst the best in Cape Maclear and the frozen fruit smoothies are, to be frank, the best I've ever had.

They have recently built a small swimming pool which is a great addition as you can take a dip without the worry of bilharzia and it's under the cover of trees so for baldies like myself you're well protected from the sun!

The garden in front of the rooms has great views of the cape and provides a great place for relaxation.

Alan the owner is very welcoming and is happy to either sit down and have a chat with you or leave you to your own devices should you wish.

Perhaps the nicest thing about Mgoza is the atmosphere. It's a very relaxed place and is a great place to spend your days at Cape Mac unwinding and being lazy.

It's also located closely to other bars/lodges should you want to go and see some other places. If you want to party at Gecko's into the early hours it's close enough to be easy walking distance and far enough away to get a good nights sleep.

Overall, if I were you are looking for somewhere that's reasonably priced, relaxed, welcoming,has good food, great views, friendly people, a sociable atmosphere and is conveniently located (not convinced yet? You must be looking for one of those posh places further up the bay) this is the place for you!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank RJE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful location and the rooms are lovely with the biggest beds ever seen. Great coffee and delicious food at reasonable price. Very knowledgeable staff. You can't beat a coffee and a fruit pancake overlooking the lake. Relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

Room Tip: One of the rooms (no 4 I think) has a bath - absolute luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September, on a break from Blantyre. Very friendly place, with good staff. Food was fine, rooms was comfortable and they have full mosquito nets, which is a treat. They do a good job of ensuring that you aren't pestered by people selling things until you want to be, and can arrange a variety of activities in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went here several times, great rooms with good kingsize beds + vans and nets; directly at the lake. Lovely breakfast and good coffee to start the day. friendly staff, great owners! Kayak renting available as well as boat cruises. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroenTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
4.1 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
87 reviews
23.6 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.4 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 30 in Mangochi
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mgoza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mgoza Lodge

Address: Chembe Village Road, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range: $97 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mgoza Lodge is a small lodge located on the beach at Cape Maclear, the rooms are all en-suite and facing the lake. There is a large area shaded by trees in front of the rooms for you to relax and enjoy the views of the islands and the sunset.We also have a Bar and restaurant, serving a great variety of dishes from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mgoza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgoza Lodge Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing