We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norman Carr Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Where do you start when a place touches your heart like this amazing slice of paradise? We connected with Taffy and Jenny based on great TA reviews and quickly figured out why they received them.

At this point in time our family of four had been on the road for 22 months and Malawi was our 30th country.

We were in Lilongwe without a car and Taffy offered to pick us up on one of his trips to pick up supplies and instantly we knew we had made the right choice. His wit, charm and never ending excitement about life is contagious.

Upon arrival we met his amazing wife Jenny who couldn't wait to share the special place they created on the shores of what has to be one of the most magical lakes on the planet.

The decor is chic but exceptionally comfortable, the food is simple but delicous and never ending, the setting is beyond compare, the staff are warm and welcoming and the hosts never stop giving.

We stayed in the family cottage which isn't on the water, but with so many great comfortable spots to enjoy lake views it didn't matter a bit (not to mention the great outdoor shower).

The other amazing bonus is every day they go out in the morning to feed the majestic fish eagles and take you to a great snorkle spot and in the evening out again for sundowner swims in the crystal clear bathwater as part of your rate.

We certainly didn't see all the other places you could stay on Lake Malawi, but I promise you that you could spend a lot less and not have anywhere near the experience.

We booked for 3 days, stayed 8, and wished we were still there.

If travels take you anywhere near this place you must spend some time!!!!

Thank you Taffy and Jenny for being such a special part of our trip around the world.

GDA&E

Room Tip: Just Go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Bohemians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Taffy and Jenny are the perfect hosts. They are situated in a great location, they provide super accommodation, attentive service and the food is excellent.
We enjoyed 3 lovely days there and wanted for nothing.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPS_From_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Jenny and Taffy provide a very special experience for their guests and have achieved a careful ambience of friendliness without being over-the-top. The rooms are a delight and the included boat trips were great fun. The food was simple and well-prepared and our hosts went the extra mile to provide every visitor with a stay to remember. One of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: It is of no consequence if you have a room without a lake view as they are all of a very high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colstongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A belated thank you for making so welcome. We enjoyed your hospitality, you create a lovely relaxed lodge and a haven for your guests, it's a home away from home! Who cares about the rain when you've got good company.
The rooms are tastefully unique and comfortable, and affordable too, great value and lovely to stop and unwind.........a walk along the beach, or a read or a game of scrabble!

We loved the evening drinks on the pier, and sea eagle boat trips and the relaxed candlelit dinners. Best steak supper was at Norman Carr! Also enjoyed the round of Golf at the nearby Club, such a beautiful course Malawi style, greens lush and empty, caddies galore and lots of water obstacle challenges.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lost somewhere south of Monkey Bay but a place of rest and beauty. Small with just eight rooms but second to none, hosts even better than that. Amazing views across the lake with local village behind to enjoy, well I did. Looking for quiet beauty, various easy going activities, good food and staff, you will find it here. No pool, just the lake of stars. Jim from England.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamesholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

To call this a hotel or cottage is to the place a disservice.It more like joining a house party.
The setting is like a Caribbean island.The accommodation is upmarket beach cottage style and the food is of limited choice but done well.
Congratulations!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Belatedly (we stayed in June) could I add our agreement to the 5* posts on Norman Carr Cottage. It is a superb escape from the real world - beautiful, stylish and relaxing, and you are wonderfully looked after by the nicest people and staff (why would anyone want a full menu this far out in the bush?!) The convivial evening sunset booze cruise was much appreciated (for the company, not the booze!), as were the morning boat trips - totally unexpected and absolutely magical - to feed the fish eagles a short way down the coast and to snorkel to see chiclids. We also had some great unaccompanied walks nearby.

Unlike most other lodges they were also very happy to pick us up on the main road - much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
9.1 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
90 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
73 reviews
13.2 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 17 in Cape Maclear
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Makokola Retreat
The Makokola Retreat
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
123 reviews
13.1 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 17 in Cape Maclear
143 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norman Carr Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman Carr Cottage

Address: Southern Lake Shore, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Hotel Class:3 star — Norman Carr Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norman Carr Cottage is situated on the southern lake shore of Lake Malawi, in the beautiful sheltered bay of Namakoma just 15km from Monkey Bay. A gentle and restful place where we promise you a memorable Malawian experience. You will be left with fond memories of this charming African country where time stands still, the pace is gentle and the scenery is stunning. Malawi has much to offer, sun drenched beaches, turquoise waters, abundant brightly coloured cichlid fishes, great for snorkeling and diving. Discover the magic of the open air aquariums which the southern lake shore is renowned for. We offer daily trips to various dive sites and remote islands for snorkeling and to experience the joy in the flight of the fish eagles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norman Carr Cottage Hotel Cape Maclear
Norman Carr Cottage Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing