We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little York Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 York B&B and Inns
Middleton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a B&B”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This B&B is an old farmhouse, remodelled and up to date, sitting close to the attractions of the beaches of PEI and Charlottetown.
Afternoon tea is available, as are optional dinners. However, the breakfast is worth the whole visit - first class cooking with a pleasant host.
The rooms are well appointed, with luxurious bedding, gowns for the guests, and amenities such as a TV and WiFi.

All in all a pleasant experience, and a highly recommended stop over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woolno4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleYorkBandB, Owner at Little York Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning Woolno4816!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your kind words!

We are proud of our old house and the work that we have done to make it as comfortable and cozy as possible. We enjoy sharing it with as many people as we can. Being so close to Charlottetown in one direction and the beaches in the other, was one of the many reasons we chose York. We hope to host you again sometime...Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a one night stay in a beatiful part of the island at a very comfortable and inviting B&B.
The breakfast was lovely, warm, and colorful. I'm writing this almost a year past the stay but still remember the fresh berries presented with the morning crepes.
We so liked it we've recently been talking about using ths same place again, situated very close to the Centennial Trail which is excellent for biking.
Mike and Jeff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleYorkBandB, Owner at Little York Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good Morning NSBiker!

Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to write a review.. With the trail just being 1 KM from the B&B we have many walkers, joggers and cyclist staying with us. We love breakfast here at the B&B and try to make something different every day while you are here. We do hope you find time to return, it would be our pleasure to host you again...Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Little York B&B as part of a long East Coast road trip last summer. I recently came across a write-up we made of the trip. This review is long overdue! The Little York B&B was our first venture into staying at a bed and breakfast; Robert set the bar extremely high!

Our room was very clean and spacious. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom was also quite large and clean.

The dining area was bright and sunny. Although there were several tables, we shared with another couple. Breakfast was delicious. Robert went out of his way to accommodate my partner who does not eat eggs. We had fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, freshly baked scones, sausage, potatoes, and apple pancakes with homemade cinnamon butter.

We were invited to help ourselves to tea and cookies in the afternoon. The fridge at the top of the stairs was helpful for storing snacks.

We had our own car; parking was not a problem.

The length of our stay (2 nights) was not nearly long enough. We were really sad to leave.

It was definitely a highlight of our trip and we cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Boys' Room. The bed was extremely comfortable (we came back mid-day to nap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleYorkBandB, Owner at Little York Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Good day and Happy New Year!!

Thank you so much for the kind words...as always it is our pleasure to have hosted you at Little York Bed & Breakfast! Our B&B was a family farm for many years...since the mid 1800s and we are sure that over the years many friends and family have visited and stayed at our home and that is why we have opened our home for all to share our B&B.
It was our pleasure!
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent three nights at Little York B&B and would go back in a heartbeat. It was out first trip to PEI and we wanted convenience to touring around as well as access to good food and craft beer. Convenience-wise it was just a couple miles outside of Charlottetown and as such had major routes nearby (we focused on seeing just eastern PEI so the location worked well for us). Because we were 10 minutes outside the town, but still in a very rural/residential area, we found it easy to navigate to restaurants - and there are some very excellent ones in the area.
As far as Little York B&B itself, we could not have asked for a nicer experience. Nowhere else have I encountered returning to our room in the evening only to find our shades already drawn for us. It is that kind of place, where there is personal attention done without fanfare. Breakfasts included fresh fruit scones that were delicious along with main courses that varied each morning, but not in terms of quality.
Our room on the second floor had a walk in closet that allowed us to get our luggage out of the way. The bed was well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom had only a shower, which was perfect for us. The knob in the shower was loose the first morning which made it hard to adjust the water temperature. My wife mentioned it at breakfast and the next time we turned it on, it was fixed.
My wife and I like staying at B&Bs when we travel. As such we have encountered a variety of conditions and service. The Little York B&B is one that rates near the top of our list because of all the factors above. Just a very, very pleasant place to help you enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the "Parents Room" which is at the front of the house. The B&B is on a two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredVA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleYorkBandB, Owner at Little York Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. It was our pleasure to host you here at Little York Bed & Breakfast! We have said many times that this house has been a home since the mid 1800s, the families that have lived here over the years have shared many meals, conversations, and laughter and that is what we hope to do as well....to make you feel at "home"...to rest and relax and enjoy all that our Island has to offer...so again...Thank you, it was our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent two nights at Little York in July 2012 and could not have had a more positive experience. From the warm welcome to the clean, spacious and comfortable rooms, it was a true delight. The food is amazing - prepare to gain a couple of pounds from breakfast alone! Having tea and pastries available all day is also a nice touch, as is the guest fridge. Bathrooms are large and well appointed in every way. Enjoying a quiet morning in the outside seating areas is a perfect way to start any day. Highly recommended, and we'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Both the Parents' and Boys' rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asgeir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleYorkBandB, Owner at Little York Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear ASgeir S, Thank you for the great comments! We fell in love with this house the minute we saw it. It was a large family home since it was built in the mid 1800s...even the first owner's last name was Large...so we are happy to share it with as many people as possible...thank you for choosing Little York Bed & Breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this bed and breakfast at the end of August, our only night on PEI. It is just outside Charlottetown, so very easy access, yet in a nice rural setting. The rooms are very clean and very nicely decorated. There is a sideboard in the dining area where you can make tea at any time. There is also a small fridge at the top of the stairs outside the rooms which I always find good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extremely good with wonderful scones and fresh fruit. I don't usually like to eat french toast but I tried it and it was delicious. It was a short visit but a very good one. The only thing that we thought to mention was that the bathroom in the Parent's Room was quite tiny. We are not large people and we did ok, but if you were larger, it might be too small. Maybe the other rooms have larger bathrooms, This would not stop us from visiting this great bed and breakfast again on this beautiful island!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Little York Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Elizabeth061, Thank you very much for the comments. It was our pleasure to host you here at Little York Bed & Breakfast. We do apologize for the the long delay in responding to your comments. We wanted to wait until our renovations were complete and the season started off very busy. This past spring we went under a major renovation and put in two new bathrooms; one in the Parent's Room - now more then double the size, it now has with double sinks, this four piece en-suite bath now has room for two people to move around. Also, we put a much larger bathroom in the Daughter's Room complete with a large bath tub! So now all of our guest rooms have large comfortable en-suite bathrooms!, again "Thank You" for your comments...we did listen!

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This B&B is a real find in a province of many wonderful bed and breakfast accommodations. The rooms are spacious, exceptionally clean with a country charm. The sitting areas on the main floor are comfortable and contain lots of interesting antique furniture. Robert really makes an effort to make you feel at home and provides a variety of home made snacks (such as scones and cookies) during your stay. The outside grounds are picture perfect and provide a real 'island feel'. We would be remiss were we not to mention Robert's amazing and complete breakfasts that are created using as many natural island ingredients as possible. This is our getaway B&B when we want to enjoy a week or a weekend in picturesque PEI.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Little York Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Irish_Harry, Thank You so much for your comments, it was our pleasure to host you here at Little York Bed & Breakfast. We love our home and we love sharing it with our guests/friends. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay(s)!

We look forward to your return....Cheers!

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
6.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
413 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
16.5 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little York Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little York Bed & Breakfast

Property: Little York Bed & Breakfast
Address: 775 Route 25 | P.O. Box 122, York, Prince Edward Island C0A 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little York Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing